Thread: Fish Identification & Knots Books

Fish Identification & Knots Books

I have been looking around for a fish encyclopedia or something similar which covers Australian species of fish (salt & fresh) so I can educate myself on what's out there in this great country of ours

Also is there a book of fishing knots that is considered the holy grail of knots?

Richard.

Re: Fish Identification & Knots Books

G'Day Mate,

Grants Guide to Fishes would be considered the holy grail of (Aust) fish encyclopedias I suspect. Happy reading!

Goat
    Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt, fish or ride.

Get a copy of Geof Wilsons Knot book

As Horse stated Geoff Wilson's book on Knots and Rigs and it also comes with a DVD

mate for the knots i just use the animated knots in the hints and tips section
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/knots/
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

http://www.animatedknots.com/index.p...og.jpg&Website=

this is probably same as the one on here
    standing on a bridge
    watching water rushing under-
    neath it must have been much harder
    when there was no bridge just water

there are heaps out there

grants is a comprehensive book at arround $100 direct from the man himself..... but bot all that helpfull on habits and techniques.

AFN have a fish ID and techniques book.....cant remember name its in the boat.

steve starlins fishermans handbook is good

steve starlings encyclopedia of australian fishing is good......second hand only

martin bowermans fshing australia is worthwhile... second hand

AFN steve cooper fishing techniques is good and still in print.

anything by Vic McCristal

there are heaps of good books out there.

there are some duds too.....some have names similar to the great ones... so be carefull.

check title and author.

OH check your local libruray too.

the old books are gold..........check ebay...... but know aht you are buying.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.