Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: 2009 Agnes / 1770 M & G report

Re: 2009 Agnes / 1770 M & G report

top stuff Darren and crew

I can see why Alan was shattered after reeling up that horse of a red thing only to throw it back

monster cod there too

cheers Murf

I wanted to keep a little quiet as I had a couple of victorian guests up - but it was good to catch up with the ausfish blokes at Agnes. I mean, its a little hard to hide Flamin Riptide and sneak around unnoticed although I have no idea why?

We had an excellent few days. The longnose turned out to be an xos spangley - in the excitement of the moment its shear size threw me - I called it for a spangley coming out of the water, but when we held it up its snout looked so long! Never mind. The footballer trout that my nephew caught was a snodger at 78 cms and 5plus kgs. Caught my PB trout at a similar size and a heap of stonker Maori and RTE.

My victorian friends got well and truly redded on a number of occasions. We boated 3 reds, only one legal.

The Reds totally blew them away - I loaded Steve up with a live 10" variety hussar could have gone into the box but thought what the heck! Well Steve is now up into a huge fish - had him beat, but pulled the hussar out of his guts and the live bait hook failed to connect! Damn! Would have been a very big fish to swallow that bait whole.

On the plus side we took nineteen different species of fish which totally impressed our victorian friends - they got just enough of a tase to book in again for next year.

We got out every day, sunday to the following friday midnight - did one overnighter at Fitzroy and all up had a ball - didn't catch our bag or near it, but what we did catch was absolute quality. We held our end up so our southern friends didn't feel shamed out! Well no too much anyway! They now realise that catching big reds is a totally different thing to King George Whiting in Port Phillip bay!

All in all, for our first trip to Seventy, I'm Very happy. Breaking in new ground is always full of challenges, and to hold our end up, i'm very satisfied - it will be a long time before we better some of the fish we took.

I'm sure I'll be back - ummm Jackie...ummm what are we doing next weekend?

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Rhys,

Good to here the vic’s had a great time, hope they stuck around to clean your boat and get that bloody awful smell out of it. Good the see spot X produced on Thursday, and thanks for the fishing tips.
    All up, it was a magic trip and that boat of yours rides so well. Got me thinking my next boat might have to be a plate job !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Quote Originally Posted by tropicrows View Post
    All up, it was a magic trip and that boat of yours rides so well. Got me thinking my next boat might have to be a plate job !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Having chatted about the way we struggled to keep up (but we DID keep up) with the Riptide in the 685 with a couple of knowledgeable folks, it has been made clear to me that a set of trim tabs would have had us leaving that alloy clunker in our wake.

Don't be in too much of a hurry to can the 'glass, Bruce!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr__Bean View Post
    G'Day all,

Thanks again to all involved in the running of this year's M&G, and don't forget to support the sponsors of our shirts where we can!

- Darren
    I must give a shameless plug to Newcastle Embroidery Specialists as they put in a great effort supplying the shirts and being extremely helpful for all the ins and outs that fisher folk can throw at them Kim in the office there is fantastic

cheers Murf

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    Having chatted about the way we struggled to keep up (but we DID keep up) with the Riptide in the 685 with a couple of knowledgeable folks, it has been made clear to me that a set of trim tabs would have had us leaving that alloy clunker in our wake.

mmmmmm very interesting. you crack me up Timi.

Now, go ask Kev if his 685 needs trim tabs....

IMO............ every boat over 6mtrs ( mono hull ) needs or should have the facility of trim tabs.

murf can attest to Rebait needing tabs and I do have them, but it appears there may be an airlock which negated me using them to their ability. However, if the crew balance the boat, she rides very very much like a glass ass.

What I need is a very accurate and probably digital trim tab gauge. ATM I have no gauge at all and rely on ' feel ' to determine position. I once went out in a 680 Haines that had auto leveling trim tabs...... unbelieveable... very very swish and had a swift response.

Bubi had Black_Rat for balance, I hear ?????

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post

Bubi had Black_Rat for balance, I hear ?????

hahaha I just cottoned on to why they were doing it tough keeping up with the Flaming Riptide, Black_Rat was sitting on the wrong side getting drenched with every wave haha

cheers Murf

Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah! must've been a hit mate - me thinketh you protesteth too much...
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Flaming Riptide sure did it easy, looked a great ride on the water, but Rhys mate, we where downwind?

I know its a fishing boat but that kill tank needs some love.
    Tangles KFC

very nice fellars wish i was there ....

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    The 2009 Agnes Water / 1770 Ausfish Meet &Greet Round – Up

To NEWBY for getting the weather almost right.
    Righto lets start here. This was the best year for weather EVER mate and lets not forget that I did actually recommend EARLY September or late August. Antone watching for the last few weeks would see that those dates would have been spot on. I need not say any more but will accept your thanks gracefully Phil

Below is some tid bits that may need further explanation from those concerned.

1. The CARNELYPA roll on the bar ???......NEWBY ?
    Hmmm...Not happy Jan. 12tonne of Bertram takes a 35 degree turn towards the rocks in just over a meter of water. Only superior skill an boat handling got us out of a swim and a new boat.

2. Apollo jerking the heads off fish ???????????? Steve ?
    I can answer this one too... When the weather turned to shit, we decided to head back to Musgrave from Lamont and started the long slow 8kn troll. Just west of Boult we got a strike. Steve (Apollo) grabbed the Tiagara and gave an almighty yank. This is while the boat was still doing 8kn. First strike lost....I still reckon there is a Tuna out there without a head...

24. Who is the new iodine King. ?................. JD ?
    Sorry Blaze, ya lost ya record here mate....JD smashed your previous and added a new mass catch to the books...Grinner is also a speciality of JD's

27. Who drinks “ girlie “ drinks ……….Lucky_Phill ?
    Mellissa wants her "peached ice tea Sky Vodka" back mate

29. New record… no land based spews……….. cool ! You guys either werent trying hard enough or di not have to eat Mikes uncooked chook wings this year

30. New record… water based spews………..tropicrows ? You ate Mikes chook didnt ya?

32. New Grinner king ……………………..Apollo ?Nah JD wins again

Guys, thank so much for another great week on the water. I had a great time with some great company. The fishing was a bit ordinary and worked out that My catch was worth about $170 a kilo.... 1700ltrs of diesel @ $2500 divided by 15kg of trout and red throat. Hop eit tastes good

I will never AND I REPEAT, NEVER CROSS THE AGNES BAR AGAIN.
    It gets worse every year and is only a matter of time before something serious goes wrong there. It aint gonna be Carnelpya that comes to grief I promise you. Next year, I have promised my 2 boys that they can come on the M&G so will probably only have room for 1 more. That person will have to make their way out and back to Carnelpya. P.S. Thanks to Phil for bringing RT and JD out to Fitzroy for me. I repeat, I WILL NEVER CROSS THAT BAR WITH MY BOAT AGAIN. It is easy to say use the tides but even then, 1 wave and boom, its over. There used to be a channel there and I cannot see why the council will not do something about it. Yachties are now passing Agnes because of that and no anchorages.
    Anyway, thats my whinge and besides the bar, it was a great trip. Rob, Steve, Mark and Jarrad, thanks again for your company and making me look so bloody good as a fisherperson. (note the political correctnessof "fisherpeople" I am back in work mode now)
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

2. Apollo jerking the heads off fish ???????????? Steve ?
    I can answer this one too... When the weather turned to shit, we decided to head back to Musgrave from Lamont and started the long slow 8kn troll. Just west of Boult we got a strike. Steve (Apollo) grabbed the Tiagara and gave an almighty yank. This is while the boat was still doing 8kn. First strike lost....I still reckon there is a Tuna out there without a head...

Newby

Given where we were, I was trying to clear weed from the hooks

Anyhow, if you had some decent rusty hooks on the lure it would have been sweet

Thanks for the ride.

Fellas,

the only reason its smelly is it is always full of fish bleeding out, that's why its called a kill tank. Some kill tanks don't even get used and are in pristine condition - so a bit of smell is evidence of its constant use! Now, time for a cup of cement for some of ya's!

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Good reports guys & some great pics too. Will be up there in two weeks & can't wait.

...it has been made clear to me that a set of trim tabs would have had us leaving that alloy clunker in our wake.

Timi, tabs on the 685 make it a completely different boat - chalk & cheese & then some!! In fact far greater than I expected. You can really counter the bow lift from that big full length keel plank. I am very happy with my MK's as they provide phenomenal tsm lift, in fact overall they are the best I have owned/used (Gibson , Bennett, Lectrotab & Lenco's) - but that's just my opinion .

Phill, Kev has them on his current V8 300 685 & on his last 685 with twin 115's - he just can't admit his boats are better with them .
    Brendon

newby....ive never had a problem with the bar there yet ...(touch wood)

what was wrong with it ?

sean