Thread: $2500 for combo or 2 units?

$2500 for combo or 2 units?

Members,

I am looking at upgrading the electronics package in the Sig. I am wondering whether to purchase a good combo unit like the Raymarine A70D, or go for 2 units like the Furuno FCV620 and a Northstar 550i.

Is there another option available in combos?

Any advise is appreciated.

Re: $2500 for combo or 2 units?

I have just been down that road and ended up getting an FCV620 and Garmin GPSMAP 3006C. Came out a couple hundred more than your budget, but I was originally looking at combo units for $1500. Couldn't think of a good reason to get one, and figured a better sounder was more valid. Haven't had the chance to use them yet, but the boat will be getting picked up this week.

G'day Brett,

I'm not one for combo's either. Reckon you'd get two exceptional units for your money.

I've seen the FCV585 Furuno still around for $1500ish, and I reckon you'd do very well with a Garmin Colour GPS unit I have a 172C, I'm not sure on what the equivalent unit is today. You'd be in with an excellent package for around your budget.

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    G'day Brett,

I'm not one for combo's either. Reckon you'd get two exceptional units for your money.

I've seen the FCV585 Furuno still around for $1500ish, and I reckon you'd do very well with a Garmin Colour GPS unit I have a 172C, I'm not sure on what the equivalent unit is today. You'd be in with an excellent package for around your budget.

I am sure you mean the FCV 620 not the FCV 585 for 1500ish.

And I don't think the 620 is 1500ish either, thought I saw it advertised around the 1700 + transducer which is around 300.

Quote Originally Posted by Bowser View Post
    And I don't think the 620 is 1500ish either, thought I saw it advertised around the 1700 + transducer which is around 300.
    The best price I found (without sourcing overseas) is $1600 with transom mount transducer included from a dealer in Brisbane.

The piece of mind knowing I have warranty is worth the extra $500 IMO.

Ive said this before.

Get 2 combo units......for that money spent you can get quality too.

Use 1 as a sounder
    Use 1 as a GPS chartplotter

If one unit shits itself you still have the other as a GPS to get you home or still as a sounder too to go fishing...then GPS to get you home. Makes sense to me!!

cheers Steve

if money no object go two combo

having one combo to split one screen gps/sound then split sound screen to zoom also could be painful

i would go for garmin gps and biggest sounder you can afford i love my raymarine digital sounder, have had garmin , furuno, just prefer raymarine
    i reckon gps only needs to show where you are, anything to run into and highway feature is useful and speed
    but the sounder the better the reading on it the more fish i catch

ped

i agree as said above.buy 2 combos if you can afford it..have 2 northstar 660 combos and they are great units..
    cheers rosco

yep 2 combo units is the go IMHO..

I run a Raymarine C70 as a sounder and plotter and have the Furuno 1650 as a backup for both functions... othing like piece of mind when your 200-300kms from home..

or your budget you could get 2 good units... having said that I would not get a navman/northstar as they seem to have too many issues.... (yes I have had mine shyte its self in the old boat and heaps of people here in Darwin have too)

we went through this a while ago since our hummingbird 979 decided to shit itself when we got to moreton since we didnt have a split combo we had to head all the way back we just got a northstar cheap gps and a 620 furuno works good although we did get a new 979 from himmingbird for free so know we got back up on both..
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

Some of the sugestions above are a bit over your budget, although I like the idea of having 2 combos. For me I would import 2 quality units. This would minimise the probability of needing a warranty and give you the best units for your dollar. Looking at b-o-n-z-e-r imports who specialises in Australian imports you can get the furuno 620 for $1100 + $240 for the P66 transducer and the A50 raymarine plotter for $1290 total =$2630. Or you could go lower than that if you go with a cheaper plotter such as northstar 567 $1000 or Garmin 525 $1100. Smaller combos are also a possibility on this budget. The prices on this site include all costs and are landed at your door. Another site I have used myself is fishonmarine, you have to do the conversions on this one though.