Thread: Bass Flies?

Bass Flies?

Hi again everyone,

As many of you know, I have been looking for the right fly rod and reel for trout down here in Melbourne... I have a Custom 6wt Fly Rod now and a Redington SVII 5/6 Fly Reel on its way (Spooled with Sinking Line).

Now, I have been told this will be fine to use on Bass at Cania Dam when I come up there for a month to fish "Cania, Mondy and Awoonga" over Jul-Aug. Is this the case?

Also, I have NO FLIES and from what I see from the half dozen shops iv been to, they dont sell bass flies and I know for a fact im not good at making them. What do I do?

If anyone could let me know afew answers and solutions that would be great!
    Cheers, Bandit

Tracker Avalanche V18 DC - 175 EFI Mercury OptiMax
    Quintrex 475 TopEnder - 60 EFI Yamaha 4 Stroke

Re: Bass Flies?

Bass Vampires etc would be good. Jump on the MO tackle website. They have a good range of flies to choose from for chasin bass etc.
    I'm sure all the keener fly fishos may be more helpful.
    Colo

you could also check out some of the tackle stores up that way when you get there, they should hold a range of flies suitable for there local waters, if not MO tackle to do online orders as colo77 sugested, another option as your in the melbourne area is to check out the specialized fly fishing stores, and or either of the complete anglers around melbourne and suburbs. Or you could contact the guys up at the Goulburn Fly Fishing center at Thornton on the Goulburn river.

WRT your new rod and reel, the 7 weight should be fine, but i wouldn't limit your self to just the sinking line, if you can get a spare spool for the reel do so and get a floating line for it. as you may find you want to throw a few surface flies from time to time too. ie poppers, sliders and darlbergs etc