Thread: quintrex hornet trophy stolen

Re: quintrex hornet trophy stolen

Quote Originally Posted by tinman42 View Post
    till now. I have a long piece of chain at home and it will be wrapped around trailer, wheels and fence post tonight.

Bob
    Police said to use hardened stainless steal chain, cant be cut with bolt cutters, expensive but worth it.
    Ethan

sorry to hear this, hope they catch them!

Just wondering about the hardened stainless steel chain. the bolt cutters will still cut the padlock though?

my thought has been to take one wheel off and chock it. hopefully the thief's don't carry a spare wheel around.

wheel clamps here http://www.trailer-wheel-clamp.com.au/

Mate i feel for you and know your pain.
    I had my 4.85 seajay taken from my place in Kedron in 2007, same thing shitty cold night in August blowing 40knts......

Bloody bags of sh!t!!!

They are using storms for sound cover??... Anyone see them you know what to do.

I will put most of my money on this... They will take it interstate, change stickers and rego and possibly paint... And go and sell it.

I know it sucks... just remember, Karmas a b!tch!
    Cheers, Bandit

Tracker Avalanche V18 DC - 175 EFI Mercury OptiMax
    Quintrex 475 TopEnder - 60 EFI Yamaha 4 Stroke

Abloy padlocks, if I remember correctly are not able to be cut with bolt cutters, but are bloody expensive and specialist key cutters are reqd to make duplicates

See http://www.abloy.com.au/

I read somewhere that a can of freeze then a decent blow with a hammer will shatter the innards of most locks but do not know about abloy locks

When I worked with Telstra we used Abloy door and padlocks at remote sites for their security

Use them as Live burleigh!!

Sound like they've worked out a system with storms as cover.

Hope the insurance comes to the party for you.

When I got my boat, I purchased a trailer lock to keep the insurane bods happy and was told to make certain the safety chains are also secured or all they need to do is use attach the chains to a towbar and drive of.

I also had a mate weld up the bolts on the hitch, tongue and towbar. This paid off the first time I launched the boat as when I came back, it was obvious that someone had tried to remove the trailer from my ute.

If I have to, having to cut off the bolts and replace them is worth the extra peace of mind.

That is crap news about your boat mate! Hope the administrative process from here onwards goes smoothly for you!

Quote Originally Posted by groverwa View Post
    See http://www.abloy.com.au/

I read somewhere that a can of freeze then a decent blow with a hammer will shatter the innards of most locks but do not know about abloy locks

If you read on Page 11 of the Abloy catalog it tells you the various grades (1 - 6) for the locks and what they are required to withstand for that grading... ie a Grade 6 padlock must be able to withstand an impact 5 times at a temp of -40c...
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Serenity!

thats terrible mate hope u find the boat or at least compensated for it..
    Cheers, John

*fishing is my life*

send me a PM if ya wanna catch up and do some fishing i live at hope island

police found car and boat in tow on main roads cameras but couldnt read rego of white commodore station wagon, turned off high left or right before anzac ave exit.....police officer said 20 boats on north side in last 6months have ben stolen....Must be pretty organised racket to off load that many boats.

I Feel your pain mate, using storms & rain as cover for theft of boats is very common.

The bastards removed my merc from the back of my boat during a storm about 5 years ago and they got a couple from a boat yard on the same night.

P.s - I had an abloy lock on the boat that night & it was still there at least.

Mick.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Call me paranoid, I have satisfied my insurers' requirements with stage 1 and stage 2 on my rig, and recently added stage 3 security to my boat and trailer. I know the pain of being broken into and have lost irreplaceable family memories over the years ( broken into 4 times) and have had enough!! If I can catch the B$#@$@s!! only one time I'd feel much better, but never seem to be able to. I would be devastated if I lost my new rig, but after going to these extreems, they can have it!

Stage 1

Stage 2 ( a cable running through the mag and padlocked to the inside of the trailer)

Stage 3

Trailer Alarm which I found works really well. Rerversed the car up to the boat on the weekend to hitch her up and went a bit too far without having turned the alarm off 1st. 103db of screeching alarm .........

Geez I hope you find your boat mate!

Quote Originally Posted by ethan1 View Post
    Police said to use hardened stainless steal chain, cant be cut with bolt cutters, expensive but worth it.
    Ethan
    I realize that chain and padlocks are only going to keep the honest thieves out.
    If they want it bad enough there is not much I can do apart from maybe slow them down.
    Where do you draw the line? Chains padlocks, wheel clamps, welded tow tongue bolts, tow tongue clamps, where does it end?
    Hope you get some good news Ethan.
    These %#@&*'s deserve more than the slap on the wrist the law will give them when and when if catch them!

Just for anyone wondering,

Alot of these guys who are really out to get boats bad, sell them interstate... and if there is a big proffit they can even change stickers and paint jobs.

Its just sucks that they have no care and are just looking for the $$$... just wait untill the new owner finds out the boats "hot".
    Cheers, Bandit

Tracker Avalanche V18 DC - 175 EFI Mercury OptiMax
    Quintrex 475 TopEnder - 60 EFI Yamaha 4 Stroke

My local paper "The Redland Times" had an article last Friday about the increase in theft of boats. Obviously an easy target....