Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to use a camp oven for a roast

How to use a camp oven for a roast

I’m new to camp oven cooking as I managed to burn a roast to the point where it almost vaporised. I bought a large cast iron camp oven and I used a recipe from a show I watched on the ABC using a leg of lamb and 2 cups of red wine. Anyway I put the whole lot in the pot and let it sit while I built the fire and then let it burn down for a while. I used a pile of those barbecue tablet brick things that burn hotter than hell itself. I placed the pot onto the fire and through a heap on top and let it go. I kept re stocking it with those bricks and more timber for around 4 hours, I never took the lid of to check how it was going, and it did smell great though.

The wife and I stood their in great anticipation while I lifted the lid only to reveal a solid block of charcoal, talk about feeling deflated. So the question is how the hell do I cook a roast on the fire using this oven and what type of timber do I use and for how long do I cook it. Can I check the roast by lifting the lid? I did hear once that you need good hard wood but I don’t know how much to place under the oven and how much on top. I’m a compleat new comer to this form of cooking/burning.

Stu

Re: How to use a camp oven for a roast

Hey Stu, mate I am sure u will get a heap of replies on this but from my limited knowledge on the subject the camp oven concept revolves around residual heat not direct heat. Obviously your first attempt created way to much heat.
    Firstly ditch the heat beads, u don't need direct flame, JUST coals. So let the fire burn down to coals then put the oven on, they r designed more a semi slow cooker.

Do some internet searches, I have friends that go to an annual Camp Oven cooking contest, I think it is held in Armidale where u even have to dress in the theme to the style of food u r cooking.

Good luck, Pete.

Hows it going mate