Thread: 10.5KG Cobia on an old ALvey Snapper Reel

10.5KG Cobia on an old ALvey Snapper Reel

One hell of a fight and no bloody drag
    Fillet and Release Squad

Re: 10.5KG Cobia on an old ALvey Snapper Reel

Great fish, sounds like a good fight
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Awesome work with an Alvey! I've seen someone struggling to land a 5kg Cobe on an Alvey so ripper stuff there mate!

Yeah, it was definitely a good fight, shoulders were sore for 2 days but was worth every bit..
    Fillet and Release Squad

How did he taste?

Pretty good, couple of mates eat them all the time, so I ended up giving them some of the fillet. Still have heaps in the freezer from other trips Macks, Trout etc
    Fillet and Release Squad

Quote Originally Posted by tailorboi99 View Post
    How did he taste?
    like cobia!!

Easy work for an Alvey. The non drag reels just make it a hell of a lot more fun landing good fish.

Awesome fish mate
    and cuaght with an alvey!
    pat on the back
    BreamBuster33

Quote Originally Posted by straddie View Post
    Easy work for an Alvey. The non drag reels just make it a hell of a lot more fun landing good fish.

Yep gives me a healthy respect for what my old man used to fish with. Awesome fun and a definite test of wills.
    Fillet and Release Squad

Great catch mate, Well done.

Cheers, Mick.

Yeah nice cobe Levinge.Even though the alvey would hbe been fun it makes you appreciate how good the gear really is now eh?
    Brendan