Thread: Where to go fishing around Brisbane over the holidays?

Where to go fishing around Brisbane over the holidays?

G'day Ausfishers! I haven't been on here in a while.

Wanting to take Mr Chicken out for a fish either today or next week - got any recommendations for where the fish are actually biting?

Otherwise, I think I might just take him down to The Spit jetty.

How is everyone? How's everyone's fishing going? Been catching many?

Oh - and I hope you and yours have a safe and joyous festive season!
    Pobbs > 28. Strictly recreational fisher.
    Mr Chicken > 3 in Janaury! Likes to reel the line in, fish on the end or not.

Re: Where to go fishing around Brisbane over the holidays?

Well for a bit of fun you could throw a pilly on a gang and head down to newstead park brekky creek to catch a Bullie

It seems the Bullies are about, I don't target them myself , but could be a bit of fun.

Gday Pobbs & WB !

Merry Xmas to you & the chook as well !

If you're not putting a boat in, then the Spit might be as good as any, although someone ( dunno who ) mentioned the Broadwater was ok just last week.
    Not sure where, maybe one of the tackle shops'll know.
    Don.
    "Magpie Navy." VHF 73.

It was a Woman who drove me to Drink......
    ....and I never gave her money for the Petrol......

I'd be heading to bribie around say buckleys hole and chuck some worm out.
    Have a VEEERY to non existent slow wind back in you should pick a a few whiting even if their under size.

If not its alway a good spot for a swim for Mr chicken.

neil

buy a couple of bait jigs
    put a loaf of bread and some cat food in a bucket
    Find a jetty

Burly up some bait with the bread and catfood mix

have fun catching fish one after the other on the jig

It keeps kids amused for ages and if you get time put out a line with a live bait on it just incase something interesting swims past.

If you can take a spare bucket and rope so you can let the fish swim about in some salt water for a while after catching them.

Pobble, have you thought about a trip to one of the Barra parks.

One up sunny coast and one out back of Logan.

Good day out and you WILL catch a fish.

Cheers phill

There's a bridge at Port of Brisbane on Port DR, it produces good bream and some small squire.

Here is a picture of it

Ahhh thanks fellas!

I've certainly think of the barra farms! I'll google them.

Port of Brisbane might be alright, can you fish off there?

And oooooh a trip up to Bribie might be on the money.
    Pobbs > 28. Strictly recreational fisher.
    Mr Chicken > 3 in Janaury! Likes to reel the line in, fish on the end or not.

Quote Originally Posted by Pobblebonk View Post
    Ahhh thanks fellas!

I've certainly think of the barra farms! I'll google them.

Port of Brisbane might be alright, can you fish off there?

And oooooh a trip up to Bribie might be on the money.
    lol they all sound very enticing dont they? just wondering about the water quality of the port of brisbane at the moment.

i got onto a couple nice lizards (45/50cm) at nudgee beach last weekend using gulp shrimps
    boat minder- only $40 a day

Yeah I forgot Nudgee Beach is good for flathead, there's a bunch of mangroves near the water (beach area), at high tide flick your plastic about 3 metres infront of them and retrieve it very slowly. I dropped a 50cm flathead there not long ago.
    The Barra park is at Bli Bli.

Tom