Page 9 of 113 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314151617181959109 ... LastLast

Thread: the Borumba bash 5th 6th 7th march 2010.

Re: Borumba bash 13th,14th,15th march 09.

I think Ill wait till the last minute to see if I want to make a fool of myself......Brian Im not sure if there are too many wand wavers....u could be struggling to get any sort of comment
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    C ya up there Whitto, but there will be no poofy long wand in my tub mate

OK boys, Ive hung out the target, whos firing the first shot...........
    now, there's nothing wrong with waving your wand around mate

C ya up there Whitto, but there will be no poofy long wand in my tub mate

OK boys, Ive hung out the target, whos firing the first shot...........

so are you going to have a cast off the shore Brian

Actually there is something appealing about a Toga on fly ........... I'm up for the challenge (mad enough0

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    now, there's nothing wrong with waving your wand around mate
    Well there's a mental picture I'd rather do without
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

so where are we all staying at ........... & how do you get there ?

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post

so are you going to have a cast off the shore Brian

Actually there is something appealing about a Toga on fly ........... I'm up for the challenge (mad enough0

To be honest, Im scared where it might take me if I picked up the long stick. The whole barra thing for me started with a cast of a mates bait caster on the footpath just to see if I could, and look where thats ended up...............
    Fair enough ...... I had the same happen with golf (as you described) - It became a 15 year obsession that was difficult to shake ...... till I wised up

Hey guys, think some1 asked about flies for toga. John rowe??? i think used to tie some sort of dhlberg divers..i tied some up b4 i went to cania and they worker a treat. basically a deer hair surface fly with a ribbit fur tail... rabbit.. no frog s at borumba i hope. thats probably what ill start with and a couple other nameless chew specials that havent seen the light of day for a while

If I can get up there I'm there with bells on. Just not sure how long I can go. I'll bring a long wand as well Brian, so don't feel like a leper. Flyfisho (Chris) should have all the guff for toga on fly at Borumba.......I need to get some casting lessons off Chris as well at some stage. 10wt might be a little overkill for toga though

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

no wand for me just one to make sure bub is born before that date

Quote Originally Posted by chewy01 View Post
    Hey guys, think some1 asked about flies for toga. John rowe??? i think used to tie some sort of dhlberg divers..i tied some up b4 i went to cania and they worker a treat. basically a deer hair surface fly with a ribbit fur tail... rabbit.. no frog s at borumba i hope. thats probably what ill start with and a couple other nameless chew specials that havent seen the light of day for a while
    Uncle Johno, featured in a few brownies coast watches and dam hot fishing DVD's yep he's one of the old school fly men, he's back in Tassie now with my old man doing it tuff living basically on the lakes,

The fly he tied was called the scruffy, and the madum X two of the best I will have a few with me and you are welcom to take one for replication, I don't tie much these days but I might wip a few up for those interrested

Thanks m8,
    the ones i tied should be called the ruffy they worked realy well on the bass at lenthalls till they all went over the wall i havent tied any contraptions for 18 months... probably a good thing

Uncle Johno, featured in a few brownies coast watches and dam hot fishing DVD's yep he's one of the old school fly men, he's back in Tassie now with my old man doing it tuff living basically on the lakes,

The fly he tied was called the scruffy, and the madum X two of the best I will have a few with me and you are welcom to take one for replication, I don't tie much these days but I might wip a few up for those interrested
    from 1 wand waver to another- I'll gladly take you up on the offer
    As they say in the classics - you can never have enough fluff
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION

Ok here's a roll call so far....
    DEANO68
    BR65
    TONYM
    NIPSTA
    THESAV
    CULBARA
    WHITTO
    EOTBMG
    CHEWY
    NAGG,MW
    APOLLO
    ROO,THE MISUS
    CATCH N COD
    TROPICALTROUT

and some will have a few crews with them aswell

Any more ???

You can probably count me in, still don't know wether i'm going to take a boat and crew up through. If I'm not do any of you southerners want to be shown around the dam?