Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Electric Anchor winch

Electric Anchor winch

Hi,

Im relatively new to the boating scene, bought meself a Stabicraft 589 about a month ago and am enjoying it so much. I find that I go out a lot by myself, I dont really mind that, but I really hate winding in the anchor and setting it out.

Last week, I went near the rip on an outgoing tide, anchored away and despite going sideways, forwards etc I couldnt pull the anchor up. The rtide was quite strong, and I guess the anchor ploughed its way deeply into the sand.

Being alone, it was impoosible to pull the anchor up, so I had to cut the rope, loosing 5 metres of chain and a cheap anchor. I have an expensive Sarca now, and I dont want to loose that.

So, I priced around and came up with a number of winches, but cant belive the price! I mean, I drive 4wd's and I paid $1500 for a beefy 10000lb winch, but the boat ones are bloody expensive.

So heres the dillema,

CHEAP vs EXPENSIVE

Everyone I have spoken to says get a Stress free winch, but the price comes in at near $3000 :eek

If I go a cheapie, say $800 I can get 3-4 for the price of one, and I belive a 2year warranty.

Help, what should I do?
    Any feedback greatly appreciated.

Re: Electric Anchor winch

Mate, I have an electric winch on my 685, and I reckon I have not used it for quite a few months. Indeed, frankly, it annoys the crap out of me because it is slow, when in deep water. I think there must be many better things to spend that money on!

I now use a reef pick most of the time on floats - no time now to fill in the details on how that works, but there are ways to use your anchor without risking having to cut it off. I'm sure you'll get plenty of good advice, or I'll dish some out tomorrow!

Cheers,

Tim
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

ignore and read the next one

How do you delete these extra posts?
    What could go wrong.......................