Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: 'Hooking up a Storm' @ Tinaroo 10-17 Oct

Re: 'Hooking up a Storm' @ Tinaroo 10-17 Oct

Kim - book and pictures are in draft. No bogas in pic unfortunately.

Steve - those storms certainly will work at Mondy. Remember that very first spot you fished in paul's boat just past B Bay where Vin and I met you guys. Wind blown bank with fairly constant depth (8ft). That's the sort of area that they will work best. Shallow points and flats too. I have no doubt that they work as I had 90% of my action at Tinaroo on them. In saying this, you have to use them in the right places as there are better lures to use in the timber at Mondy.

Chris - Curly tail looks good. Better if they suspended like the storms. Joe has cut a few tails off other SP's (including curly tails) and adapted them to the suspending storms they work well too. He didn't try peanut butter though .

Ben - that 55cm sooty is on your camera. It's the fish that Joe is holding up near the rapids.

Up date from Paul - fishing is really tough. Blowing strong sthly. They have only boated 2 fish (80 and 90) and that was when they were on the JM charter. They have dropped a few - still early days. It's looking good for you Barb.

[quote=black_sheep;917094]

Chris - Curly tail looks good. Better if they suspended like the storms. Joe has cut a few tails off other SP's (including curly tails) and adapted them to the suspending storms they work well too. He didn't try peanut butter though .

quote]

They actually sink quite slowly ..... specially with the hook snipped off the top ( Even with a 2/O Owner swinging off it)

Here is something I tinkered with ...... Drill a little hole in the body & give it a very small squirt of expansion foam ........ makes them suspend after adjusting split rings.

Hey ...... I like the idea of grafting tails > I'd like to see a much bigger paddle tail on those suspenders

Expansion foam - That's a great idea Chris. I will have to get a couple of packs of the curly tails. Not sure if Joe knows about them??

Once you upgrade the paddletails, they sink very slowly too.

Grafting attempt of Joe's is perfect - Vin has done it too on flatty SP's. Just melt the plastic a bit, stick and hold - simple as.

Just saw your other post - boy you have been tinkering! Thanks for sharing mate.

Quote Originally Posted by black_sheep View Post
    Expansion foam - That's a great idea Chris. I will have to get a couple of packs of the curly tails. Not sure if Joe knows about them??

Once you upgrade the paddletails, they sink very slowly too.

Grafting attempt of Joe's is perfect - Vin has done it too on flatty SP's. Just melt the plastic a bit, stick and hold - simple as.

Just saw your other post - boy you have been tinkering! Thanks for sharing mate.

Thanks Navi

The expansion foam is a cracker ....... just dont over do it !!!
    Here is a little one for you ........ Remember those lures that sink like a stone when you upgrade to owners & double splits - - - - - squirt squirt ....... better than Viagra
    Yeh love to tinker with the barra gear ....... just lookin for an edge

Thanks for the tips mate - that little edge usually makes all the difference.

Anything to help me get one up on the boys and Vin

Those pic's are coming soon Nav... just on my way up home in a few hours.

That WW - when I first saw it I knew it would produce fish. When I first swum it, I was pretty excited. Perfect shape and size for when the fish are a little dormid and looking for something smaller, and the action is effortless through the water. Gives out plenty of sensitivity through the water which it was made to do. Didn't work to good at that Rapids that arvo did it hehe... those Decoy's are atrocious at picking up snags or leaves etc. Owner has been fitted.\

A few tips with those Storms. Yeah Joe knows about the Wildeyes... he has caught fish on them like I have. I don't particuarly like them, for the main fact that they don't look as realistic through the water. Nav - that fish that stole the treble etc off yours must have been hinged hooked. Joe might have showed/told you of a fish I caught in the Severin that was hinged hooked, not only did it straighten an Owner but it tore the whole tail and half the plastic off. What was left on the Plastic was its head, internal rattle body with fleck and a Treble. I have also had two other fish that have done the same thing, but not as bad - all hinged hooked. If you are going to buy a few more in future, look out for the ones with the stiff tails in some packs... most work, but you get some faulty ones. The ones I have brought in Cairns have all been excellent, but I have had a few bad tails - I think it could be temperature related. Best way to solve that is when you got spare time e.g. Teli, drinking Beer, whatever... pick those ones with the crappy tails and hold them by the head and flick the tail like crazy... they come good after awile.
    When you use them heaps you will start to get better at thumbing the spool on touchdown... when I first started using them I was blowing holes in the water the size of VW's. Joe has perfected it, I have nearly got it but with low Rod casting angles and zero belly in the line when casting you can get the impact to sound like a Bony Bream being driven to the surface (fish that is not the Lure). You are definetely right when you say they have their own time and more importantly place (they work a treat wherever Joe showed you) but when a Barra's food source is so dam friggin rich like it is up here, they work anywhere. I have caught fish in every different part of the Dam with them... rocky Barron, weedy Severin, timbered Taylor Bay, muddy DPI. They are so versatile too its scary.

Hope this helps mate. I can't see why more people arn't using them at Mondy.

T
    TT

Stick with that WW mate – I don’t doubt that it works especially when they feeding on smaller baits or just a bit finicky. Mate, you certainly have one diverse dam up there with plenty of options to tackle fish - lucky buggers.

I have no doubt that the fish that I lost was definitely hinge hooked. Doesn’t matter what hooks you upgrade to, if they hinge hooked, they could bend a crowbar .

I will try the flicking thing with the tail. Others have mentioned cutting out a wedge in the tail wrist and reattaching with heat. Makes them a bit more flexible, therefore the tail swims better.

Theo – Shhhhhhhhhhh about the storms .

I still haven’t seen my scone so I’ll check those pics out when you get a chance to post them.

Thanks Theo and talk soon mate.