Thread: Barra Impoundment- what gear do you require?

Barra Impoundment- what gear do you require?

Fishing the barra impoundments, we read a lot of information about what is available to catch the elusive barramundi.

But, what gear do we actually require? This is intended to help the newie or someone just wanting to try barra fishing.

Main requirement is Boat and Motor, Canoe or Kayak. Type recommendations?.

Rod and Reel. Basic outfit that would do job, Threadline or Baitcaster?

Fishing Line - Mono, Braid.

Leaders- Type

Trebles, Hooks- Upgrade etc

Lures- Hardbodies, Plastics.

Landing Nets

Lip grips.

Fish finder

GPS

Realise this doesn't cover it all but just want a start for those new to Ausfish.

The type of information should be based on basic requirement. Not 20ft boat and 200hp outboard, with $1,000 rods and reels.(Wish list not need list)

I.E. 12' Tinnie 9.9 hp outboard, etc. (Not flash but will do the job in most impoundments, subject to weather conditions).

What is your basic recommendation for someone starting out.
    Know that this is available with a bit of search, but just trying to get it together.
    Lots of enquires over the years and just want to compress a bit of info to help them out.

Edit one: Additional fishing items

Camera, Brag Mat for measuring fish
    Appropriate clothing, sunglasses,hat and sunscreen.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Re: Barra Impoundment- what gear do you require?

Hey Trev
    Minimum you need a boat that floats and wont take hours to get to the system. I have a 30 hp Hooonda and thats the slowest i want to go. It does about 35 km's per hour, so at a minimum that would be it for me. My 4.35 Sea Jay is decked out pretty well, as i said if it floats its a bonus!!!! MOst people at a minimum have spining reels, so one loaded with 30-50 lb braid is sufficient, and a 10-15 kilo rod is sufficient. I use wind on leaders, but a minimum a 60 or 80 pound mono leader will do. There is no discussion with rings or trebles, OWNER st-66 trebles and OWNER rings to suit the standard size of the ones you are replacing. Nearlly any lure available will catch a Barra, plastics or Hard bodies. The usual suspects are generally good.....B52, Bombers, Killalures, Barra Classics- still havent caught one on them though. Plastics are Storm Suspenders, or slick rigs, hollow bodies, frogs the list is endless. I use a Invizo enviro net which is the big barra sized one which is heuge.. Good for the protection of slime on the barras scales. Dont use lip grips. I use the base model Lowrance x 51 and it tells the depth and water temp...minimum to say the least. I have a hand held GPS map 76. And its as accurate as the other ones that are on the big sounders... I would recommend a camera, to take pics before you release them, wet weather jacket, and decent hat and sunscreen...
    Good luck

Quote Originally Posted by eotbmg View Post
    Hey Trev
    Minimum you need a boat that floats and wont take hours to get to the system. I have a 30 hp Hooonda and thats the slowest i want to go. It does about 35 km's per hour, so at a minimum that would be it for me. My 4.35 Sea Jay is decked out pretty well, as i said if it floats its a bonus!!!! MOst people at a minimum have spining reels, so one loaded with 30-50 lb braid is sufficient, and a 10-15 kilo rod is sufficient. I use wind on leaders, but a minimum a 60 or 80 pound mono leader will do. There is no discussion with rings or trebles, OWNER st-66 trebles and OWNER rings to suit the standard size of the ones you are replacing. Nearlly any lure available will catch a Barra, plastics or Hard bodies. The usual suspects are generally good.....B52, Bombers, Killalures, Barra Classics- still havent caught one on them though. Plastics are Storm Suspenders, or slick rigs, hollow bodies, frogs the list is endless. I use a Invizo enviro net which is the big barra sized one which is heuge.. Good for the protection of slime on the barras scales. Dont use lip grips. I use the base model Lowrance x 51 and it tells the depth and water temp...minimum to say the least. I have a hand held GPS map 76. And its as accurate as the other ones that are on the big sounders... I would recommend a camera, to take pics before you release them, wet weather jacket, and decent hat and sunscreen...
    Good luck
    Ben,

Thanks that a good start and have added some of those extras to first post as Edit One. For all of us there is a lot to remember, for those learning its a big curve.
    But the planning and having the right gear when you arrive, helps improve everyone chance of catching that catch of a lifetime.

Memo to myself, new barra mat (the larger type). P.B. this year 119.5cm need bigger mat for it successor. Pick up new Lake Monduran Map from Foxies.

Trev

I have 2 mates that swear that the only reel you need in this world is an Alvey and braid is not necessary.

Neither have caught a Barra.

They recon all my expensive gear is a waste of money.

I am sure that someone out there has caught one. I would love to hear a report of what hapened.

Regards Gordon

Quote Originally Posted by GORDON BRYAN View Post
    I have 2 mates that swear that the only reel you need in this world is an Alvey and braid is not necessary.

Neither have caught a Barra.

They recon all my expensive gear is a waste of money.

I am sure that someone out there has caught one. I would love to hear a report of what hapened.

Regards Gordon
    Gordon,

Funny you should say that, fishing up at Awoonga with a group of mates a couple of years ago, old fellow (Yeah even older than me) came over and told us he was going to catch a metre barra the next day, then showed us the gear he intended to use.
    14FT Surf rod and old Alvey reel with 16lb mono (Was probably in the Ark) el cheapo lure and no leader. Boat was a 10ft tinne very old and 5hp outboard.
    Nice bloke to talk to and had never been barra fishing before.

After he went back to his site, the boys has a bit of a laugh at his gear.

Your right, next morning less than a 100metre from the boat ramp on this gear, he caught his metre barra and was back in camp with the evidence in just over an hour.

Moral. Never discount anyone or their ability (or luck) with what gear they use.

He was a very happy chappy.

Trev

Casting
    Any boat that gets you to a bit of bank that you like.

If no boat, and can't wangle a spot on one in the campground, then fish shore based near the ramps.

Use what you have, and some $5 lures from a chain store, esp. if you can use a boat to get to a nice spot with cover not too far away.

trolling
    again, use what you have, if in open water you'll go ok with 6500 abu, 3000 +- threadline and reasonable knots, leader and luck.

And no, that isn't what I do, nor is it what I use. But I have seen the photos that show this works well.

Likewise, use everyday gear, or use the go hard stuff including specialised hooks etc- I've done both, and again, because I don't really need to land the max number of fish, don't plan to get any more SST66N (is that the right #?) trebles.

What I use is half the fun, but I completely understand the minimalist approach, if only because my offshore trips are done with a minimalist skipper.

Rick K

its funny how you mention that.
    in mr mitchells "Awoonga" dvd he manges it.
    would have hurt his knuckles tho

This is an interesting thread & I can relate it back to what my mate is going through.
    When we started fishing for impoundment barra a few years back ....... Old mate took a minimalistic approach ( cheap baitcast rod , old ABU / Shimano baitcast reel & armed himself with stump jumper & smilin jack lures) - Never caught a scale in his first couple of trips - Lack of experience more than anything!
    Anyhow ..... 12 months ago he landed his first few barra - only small but his first regardless - no changes to his tackle
    Back in March he lands his first legal 70 cm fish (in the timber) & he starts to appreciate the power of these little street fighters ! Later in the trip he lands more & bigger barra ....... The cheap rod starts to break up & one of his reels seizes ...... Fish are lost through gear failure or just not having the guts to turn a rampaging mumma ....... I had to lend him one of my outfits to complete the trip
    On the most recent trip ..... he has upgraded a rod & now is asking me about another rod & reel ..... after landing & loosing some serious fish - The penny has dropped

So where is this leading to ..... I hear you ask

Like old mate ......... he is now spending more $$ to come up with tackle that even he feels is more appropriate ....... & he hates parting with cash . Clearly he would have been better off spending a bit more to start with .....

Sure you can catch barra on a range of gear ..... even handlines! But if you really want to pursue these magnificent impoundment barra on a regular basis ...... Buy gear that will handle the fish ( over many trips) + enhance the whole experience ..........

PS .... My choice for a quality budget outfit would be something like Shimano T Curve , Nitro or Pflueger Medalist rods (spin or baitcast) & Reels to look at Daiwa Advantage hsta , Hard rock fish, ABU Revo SX / STX/ Inshore ....... or Spin reels Daiwa Tierra , Shimano Stradic ........... but you would still be spending $400-$500 for a complete outfit

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    This is an interesting thread & I can relate it back to what my mate is going through.
    When we started fishing for impoundment barra a few years back ....... Old mate took a minimalistic approach ( cheap baitcast rod , old ABU / Shimano baitcast reel & armed himself with stump jumper & smilin jack lures) - Never caught a scale in his first couple of trips - Lack of experience more than anything!
    Anyhow ..... 12 months ago he landed his first few barra - only small but his first regardless - no changes to his tackle
    Back in March he lands his first legal 70 cm fish (in the timber) & he starts to appreciate the power of these little street fighters ! Later in the trip he lands more & bigger barra ....... The cheap rod starts to break up & one of his reels seizes ...... Fish are lost through gear failure or just not having the guts to turn a rampaging mumma ....... I had to lend him one of my outfits to complete the trip
    On the most recent trip ..... he has upgraded a rod & now is asking me about another rod & reel ..... after landing & loosing some serious fish - The penny has dropped

So where is this leading to ..... I hear you ask

Like old mate ......... he is now spending more $$ to come up with tackle that even he feels is more appropriate ....... & he hates parting with cash . Clearly he would have been better off spending a bit more to start with .....

Sure you can catch barra on a range of gear ..... even handlines! But if you really want to pursue these magnificent impoundment barra on a regular basis ...... Buy gear that will handle the fish ( over many trips) + enhance the whole experience ..........

PS .... My choice for a quality budget outfit would be something like Shimano T Curve , Nitro or Pflueger Medalist rods (spin or baitcast) & Reels to look at Daiwa Advantage hsta , Hard rock fish, ABU Revo SX / STX/ Inshore ....... or Spin reels Daiwa Tierra , Shimano Stradic ........... but you would still be spending $400-$500 for a complete outfit

yes chris even a budget outfit is still 4 or 5 hundred, you can get a reasonable quality rod for 100-120, but you still need to spend around 300 for a suitable reel,then braid another 30-50 bucks, had a good score on a new rod few weeks back, mate sellin stuff, penn pinpoint 12kg and revo sx, 50lb braid, said he wanted 200...hand streight in pocket used once, and that was me who used it at the muster....450 worth..ha.. he shoots he scores.. ripper..

Nice buy Deano, the revos are a good lttle reel.

Chris, you hit the nail on the head mate.
    Another thing to factor in is comfort level, when you are contiually useing the gear all day. Low end product that is difficult to manage (read cheapo baitcasters) soon becomes more of a hassle to fish with than it is worth, comfort level with the gear is then zero, and that equals loss of confidence, and loss of potential fish in the net.

Quote Originally Posted by DEANO68 View Post
    yes chris even a budget outfit is still 4 or 5 hundred, you can get a reasonable quality rod for 100-120, but you still need to spend around 300 for a suitable reel,then braid another 30-50 bucks, had a good score on a new rod few weeks back, mate sellin stuff, penn pinpoint 12kg and revo sx, 50lb braid, said he wanted 200...hand streight in pocket used once, and that was me who used it at the muster....450 worth..ha.. he shoots he scores.. ripper..
    Yeh those Pinpoints seem pretty decent for the coin ........ I do have to say , I find it pretty important to have a good rod ........ silcon carbide guides & good cork grips & reel seats ..... Seen several Raiders , Dropshots & Sic Sticks fall apart now

Thats a good buy Deano

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Nice buy Deano, the revos are a good lttle reel.

Chris, you hit the nail on the head mate.
    Another thing to factor in is comfort level, when you are contiually useing the gear all day. Low end product that is difficult to manage (read cheapo baitcasters) soon becomes more of a hassle to fish with than it is worth, comfort level with the gear is then zero, and that equals loss of confidence, and loss of potential fish in the net.
    Brian .... Spot on with the comfort ( hence my mention of low profile baitcasters) Balanced outfits make it easier - specially on 12 hour days
    I watch old mate , stuggling with his gear ...... & I shake my head - Its just false economy

NAGG, Brian and Deano have summed it up well.

Fools pay twice. Get decent gear to start with and it will last longer....who knows the cheap gear might explode (probably will) on a fish of a life time.....I wouldn't travel hundreds of KM spending big$$ on the way to let that happen. I have seen it happen...regularly. How many time I have seen blokes walk into foxies with a K Mart special detroyed is quite amazing.....they then spend the money and upgrade.

Around the $300+ mark is pretty safe for combo..plus braid, leader ST66's!!
    All worth it if your going to make the effort to chase these critters.
    Just my take on it.

cheers Steve

PS. then theres comfort = more casts
    More quality generally= longer/accurate casts=lure in zone and water longer=more chance of fish

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    PS. then theres comfort = more casts
    More quality generally= longer/accurate casts=lure in zone and water longer=more chance of fish

yep, thats about it.
    It then leads on to the multiple outfits in the boat thing, each one rigged with a differant presentation to suit whatever situation you may have in front of you. A typical day on the water can take in shallow points and edges in the morning, medium divers in the sticks dureing the day, snag bashing, deep trolling, a number of scenarios. Haveing a outfit ready at hand to pick up and use to suit whats in front of you is a time saver, and adds on to what Steve was saying about more time in the water equals.....

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Yeh those Pinpoints seem pretty decent for the coin ........ I do have to say , I find it pretty important to have a good rod ........ silcon carbide guides & good cork grips & reel seats ..... Seen several Raiders , Dropshots & Sic Sticks fall apart now

Thats a good buy Deano

poor bloke never used it , got it for our trip to awoonga last year, got crook and didnt come,,sat in his shed ever since, i was lookin at gettin a second baitcaster outfit before the muster, but didnt have the coin to get a decent one,and wasnt willing to get a cheepie,,so borrowed it..yea good buy..