Thread: Sol and 50mg on Impoundment Barra?

Sol and 50mg on Impoundment Barra?

I have both a Daiwa Sol and a Chronarch 50mg that we use mainly for Sooties, spooled with 10lb braid and wondering how both of these reels go with say 30lb braid being used on impoundment barra?

If they would go OK.......does anyone know a price for a spare spool for each model and best place to buy.

I understand that they have a smallish spool diameter but apart from this would there be any reason not to use on barra.

I would prefer to change spools if possible and get the most use out of both reels rather than buying more reels.

Any experience with the above reels on barra would be appreciated.

Regards Cameron.

Re: Sol and 50mg on Impoundment Barra?

Mate i have a shimano cruixs which is a low profile bait caster . It says it has about 4.5 kg of drag on it. I have caught impoundment barra up to 112cm which weighed about 50 pound big fat girl.. If i was to toataly lock the drag up I reckon the rod would just explode. The rod is a ian miller barra rod. I Dont use any lighter than 30 pound braid . Compare the reels on their web sites.

Yeh my mates have taken barra on sol's over the metre mark but they're really not ment for it, you don't get much line on the spool when running 30lb braid and they don't cast the big lures very well or balance out with heavier line class rods. It probably isn't very good for them either probably turn the gears into mush after a few good fish. I'm running 15lb on mine and it seems ok for the likes of big bass, jacks and barra up to the 70ish mark. you can order spare spools but i'd think they'd be over 100 bucks. Money better spent saving up for a dedicated barra reel.

they should be both fine with barra i use chronarchs on them and landed them up to 1130mm without any probs at all ,

Thanks Jeremy for the advice.

Just looking at the size of the Sol and the 50mg versus the dedicated barra reels was what I was worried about. All that energy from a big barra must go somewhere. Had a suspicion that spare spools wouldn't be cheap.

Regards Cameron.

Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    they should be both fine with barra i use chronarchs on them and landed them up to 1130mm without any probs at all ,
    What sized chronarch are you using? The 100 series is perfect for barra, the 50mg is a specialist lightweight hardbody reel.

I'd have no worries mate, pretty sure that the taylor boys were using 50mg's in the sticks at mondy. I could be wrong though. But that's what the 10yr warranty's for. I agree with Jeremy though you'll pay for the spare spools

hi scott,
    did you do any good at mondy on q/b w/end after we left(sorry cam) i had andy with me the red head at the kitchen..
    chewy....

ps i think the spools will be over 100 dollars so maybe better put into another reel?
    chewy..

Quote Originally Posted by Poseidon View Post
    Thanks Jeremy for the advice.

Just looking at the size of the Sol and the 50mg versus the dedicated barra reels was what I was worried about. All that energy from a big barra must go somewhere. Had a suspicion that spare spools wouldn't be cheap.

Regards Cameron.
    Cameron, I bought a spare spool along with & for a Chronarch when they were 1st released in the early 90's. The reel was almost $400 then can't remember exactly BUT the spool I remember was $80 roughly 16 -18 yrs ago.

Still have both & going strong after lot of work.

Yer the reels will be fine, as said before the taylor boys use the chronarch for there barra

I have had both models and used them with no worries on impoundment barra. The sol even coped an erskine upgrade with heaps of drag, fitted with 30lb penn pursuit braid managed around 100m of line (plenty for most impoundment situations). I priced a spool for my sol around $90-100 i think, at that time it was the only one in Aus and get sent to Barra Jacks in Rocky accidently, so u may want to contact them for a price. Otherwise i will cost about the same to get a jap spool sent over. I will agree that other models such as the HSTA and zillion are better suited to casting barra sized lures and balance on rods. IMO anyway but thats not to say they wont perform great and i would worry about the sol breaking at all! They are one seriously tough little reel!

Rockfish

They are both great little reels however the advice on the price for spare spools might lean me towards a new reel.....when was fathers day.

Regards Cameron.

Get in contact with Dunphys and ask for a price....I just got a spare wiffle spool for my 100 size Chronarch for $49. Perhaps the 50 size is more pricey because its more of a specialist reel. Dunno !!!

I have been using a sol 2500 for about 6 months now to cast lighter weighted soft plastics not hard bodies and have found no problems yet, but it has only landed about 50 or so barra around a metre so it hasn't really done much hard work yet. so far so good. good luck scott.