Thread: kamikaze fly gear

Cool kamikaze fly gear

gday fellas i am looking at getting into fly fishing and have to get some gear, i saw a kamikaze set on ebay and started at $1.00 and sold for $50.00 it has size 7/0 rod size 7/0 reel wit two extra aluminium spools and a carry bag. i was wondering how good kamikaze geer is and if $50.00 is good value.

Re: kamikaze fly gear

Don't waste your money. Kamakaze is cheap junk made in china with basically no QC. Read the blokes feedback especially the negs which should give you an idea regarding this sub standard rubbish.

Breamboss01
    Don't waste your money!
    1. Buy good quality line depending on what your fishing for!
    2. Buy the correct weight of rod depending on what you are going to fish for.
    3. The reel is not that important it just holds line, your not fighting with it!
    CCFISHER

rubbish gear the rod would probably be glass and an uter pig to cast

It's got that name for a reason.

Quote Originally Posted by Viny View Post
    rubbish gear the rod would probably be glass and an uter pig to cast
    I would have to disagree , I was given a #9 from Kamikaze to try out and although the reel seat and guides were not much chop the action on the rod was very easy to cast, I fished a #9 bonefish intermediate over a #9 rod and could easily punch out 100 feet. I must admit it was a surprise to me but in comparison to other lower end rods the kamikaze was one of the best that I have been given .
    I just took a TFO Axiom to Christmas Island as a back up rod and I would have to say I would have rathered the kamikaze if it wasn't a two piece , a much nicer rod.

Federation of Fly Fishers
    International Certified Casting Instructor
    Sunshine Coast Fly Fishers
    www.saltwaterflyfishers.org

Good day,
    As Don Gilmore (gun Tassie fly fisho/author. dec.) once told me as a young bloke quote. When it comes down to fly rods buy the best you can afford.Stay clear of cheaper rods as they will not have the power to punch into a strong headwind with any accuracy. Important consideration here in Tassies highlands.
    Reidy

Thats fair enough Reidy and I agree to an extent. I own a split from #4 through to # 15 weight rods all GLX Loomis except the 15 , however the cheap gear mustn't be discounted as all crap .I have cast expensive rods (plus $1000) that don't suit my casting and I have cast some cheap rods that are the same . Being one of only a handful internationally recognised casting instructors (like Peter Hayes , Peter Morse, Nial Logan, Gavin Platz) I believe that a lot of cheap rods can and will do the trick for people starting out . 99% of students I see blame their casting on cheap rods and bad gear , when in fact its tuition from bad teachers and self taught heros that is a lot of the problem . Lefty Kreh can nearly cast a whole fly line with the first half of a fly rod , and in doing so proving that technique will always be more beneficial to a beginner than spending every thing you have on your first rod only to be disappointed and frustrated and eventually blaming your Rod.
    One of my students (Basskid a forum member) can easily punch out 80- 90 feet in a fishing situation with a cheap rod, but again distance isn't everything although it is an excellent way of working on correct timing and hauling. Most fishing situations call for correct placement, finesse and the ability to cast in all situations and environments.
    Get the cheap rod you can always progress from there , you may not even like it.

Fly rods like any other are also used for landing fish, not just casting.

Have you caught fish on this junk yet?

No I haven't and your probably right , chances are that it will probably blow up on anything decent. Fish fighting is defiantly something to consider , I have taken it out on the boat but I would only ever cast it as a backup . Still not to say a beginner couldn't go pin a flathead on it , for a $50 combo you could use it once and give it away if fly fishing is not for you. My point is when learning you don't need to fork out hundreds . If you were really concerned I wouldn't buy of the net I would go into a REPUTABLE shop that specialises in Fly gear not just a shop that stocks it in the back corner with staff that have had one or two casts in their life. Good shops will usually have a qualified casting instructor on staff like Fishhead and Tie N Fly that will let you cast a rod before you buy it, probably the better option.

Quote Originally Posted by flyfisho View Post
    No I haven't and your probably right , chances are that it will probably blow up on anything decent. Fish fighting is defiantly something to consider , I have taken it out on the boat but I would only ever cast it as a backup . Still not to say a beginner couldn't go pin a flathead on it , for a $50 combo you could use it once and give it away if fly fishing is not for you. My point is when learning you don't need to fork out hundreds . If you were really concerned I wouldn't buy of the net I would go into a REPUTABLE shop that specialises in Fly gear not just a shop that stocks it in the back corner with staff that have had one or two casts in their life. Good shops will usually have a qualified casting instructor on staff like Fishhead and Tie N Fly that will let you cast a rod before you buy it, probably the better option.
    YES, YES & YES! Good point & I really cannot understand WHY anyone buys any fishing gear without trying it 1st.

eg: why would you buy any reel for a rod already purchased {no matter whether fly BC or TL} without matching it to a rod or vice-versa? It's beyond me.

So many today buy on looks. It was/still is, bad enough when anglers purchase lures etc on looks but RODS & REELS are a different ball game.

I'm not a fly angler so to speak but have learned much from Lefty & a few others.

Fishing whichever mode/style you choose is after all still "fishing"

Quote Originally Posted by 2manylures View Post
    YES, YES & YES! Good point & I really cannot understand WHY anyone buys any fishing gear without trying it 1st.

eg: why would you buy any reel for a rod already purchased {no matter whether fly BC or TL} without matching it to a rod or vice-versa? It's beyond me.

So many today buy on looks. It was/still is, bad enough when anglers purchase lures etc on looks but RODS & REELS are a different ball game.

I'm not a fly angler so to speak but have learned much from Lefty & a few others.

Fishing whichever mode/style you choose is after all still "fishing"
    arrr the old lure designed to catch fishermen and not fish syndrome rears its head again.
    Reidy

iv got a kami in the 8/10 wt and i love it, iv had it now for 6 months and its still catching me fish. the guides and real seat are not that flash as flyfisho said but it dose the job for me and i only paid $15 for it. i use it to catch small trevs and queenfish and bream on mine. id just get one dude as it will get ya out of trubble till ya can get a good rod. just stay away from the blue water one's and the saratoga ones, they are just nasty. but the kami will do as a cheap basher.
    tight lines guys
    figjam :wink:

o yer with the power of the rod, its got plenty for genral estuary work. iv landed some stonker bull rays on mine, so you will be fine for bream, flattys and trevs up to about 3kg, but the rays were heaps bigger than that.
    figjam :wink:

Nuggsta, the Saratoga rods are totally crap eh. I'm just a novice & a very part time fly fisho that needs alot of refinement of technique.

I bought an 8/9 wt saratoga rod on line & I am struggling with it. But probably is mostly technique?? Helps if you use it more than once every 6-9 months.

Anyone else got an opinion on these rods. my reel is loaded with WFF8 blue water line. Does this mean double trouble.

I did a shared 1 day course in CQ with Nial Logan from in2fly about 4-5 years back so I don't think my technique is totally crap. Maybe I have taught myself some bad habits since?? Nah, I don't think I'm that bad. I used a quality setup at the course of Nials & it was a dream to use.

I have never owned a decent setup, a 6wt shakespeare outfit & the current 1 mentioned above.

Thoughts??

Colo