Thread: Question on braid to mono knots

Question on braid to mono knots

Hi All,
    I do most of my fishing offshore and generally fish with braid and mono leader joined with a swivel. I'm wanting to use some rigs with a wind on leader and therefore interested in what are the best knots for joining braid and mono. I normally use between 30 and 50 lbs in both mono and braid

thanks in advance

Re: Question on braid to mono knots

G'day Craig,

I use an improved albright, utilising the loop in the bimini in the braid and winding the albright around the bradi to put the mono on the outside of the knot - a bit more abrasion resistent (well that's what I tell myself) and the mono protects the braid in the knot

rhys

Thanks Rhys - I'll give that a go,
    are you going to the rainbow comp?

cheers - Craig

Nah mate, too much on for the next period of time, I'll be limited to the odd mid weeker

cheers Rhys- enjoy, tried the knot, you're correct. looks like the mono gives good protection

good as gold mate!!!

I stumbled across this knot on the web and I reckon it is a pearler. I use it on 50 pound braid to 80 pound 10x and the line breaks before the knot pulls. Easy to tie as well.

http://www.worldseafishing.com/tackl...d_to_mono.html

well mine just undid itself yesterday,cast out a gulp -must admit the longest ever and ended up with a massive birdsnest of braid on the reel and the $4 rig and leader landing somewhere near the horizon,so not sure the albright is the right not for mono to braid,and whats an improved albright-i always do 10 turns

Sounds like a good time for me to promote my Knot Tying and Jighead Making Meet and Greet.
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=133013

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.