Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jacks changing their colours

Jacks changing their colours

These 2 fish came out of the same estuary in the same season, I know they can look different but I am guessing the very dark fish had been in the creek for a long time and the lighter fish may have come in from sea more recently. Thoughts? Pete.

Re: Jacks changing their colours

Hi Pete, I got nothin Mate, but I'll start the ball rolling 4 ya. I reckon U'll find the dark one has come out of a rock crevice or something, the silver has been roaming over sand perhaps. See I got nothin. MJ can change colour quickly. They'll change between getting them out of the water and release from silver to red. Talk to someone who's got them in a fish tank I believe they light up when a feed is on the way. I think u'll find they red up with the equivalent of an adrenalin rush, so they tend to be to at the redder end of the scale when U catch em.

Gday Pete, im no expert but maybe the darker one is getting ready to think about heading out to the reef . The jacks that i got up in NQ on the reef are a real coppery bronze colour and they are awesome to look at . Tasty too.

I think its partly to do with their territory they nest in and partly to do with thier attitude. Often times not just with jacks but many species you can notice changes in colour from before it is netted to once it is in the boat then a change again when you are swimming it for release. They might be just shades they change but it is noticeable if you look for it. I put that down to thier panic levels being in a deadly environment out of the water and starting to suffocate.

I would also suggest that the lighter one is more "pelagic" in that it probably does not have a favorite snag to nest in and roams the open water a lot more. I have caught several jacks up north that have been 500m or more away from any forms of snags out hunting the tidal flats, nearly all of those have been lighter shades.