Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Loomis Rods

Re: Loomis Rods

Well, never having owned or used a loomis, I won't comment on that side of it.

However I do seem to think you are paying for the name as much as the quality. I wouldn't normally go into bat for retailers, as I also buy from overseas to save on money...as Mark Fisher has already pointed out.

On the other hand a retailer stocking rod blanks is definately catering to a niche market, the turn over isn't high.

Now days we are lucky to have more choice at more moderate prices, Hastings comes to mind here, there are many other examples as well.

Something else I've discovered about loomis, they were (or maybe still are) involved in the manufacture of rifles.. so the name doesn't just extend to fishing rods.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Roz ,Thats not all !!! I use and build loomis rods and any blank that suits my needs.It;s the action i look for. Loomis win because of there expeditire thats all.
    Blanks i use are loomis, hastings ,cts, composite delovements,and some great pacific composite ,sabre, {Mc Ginn], just look for the action that suits you.
    Graham

So are you saying that if they did not have an expediter program you would not use the product as much?, they are not the only ones that have it either by the way. Does the expediter only apply to product bought in Australia(ie through ej todd)or will they warranty/expedite from o/s /ebay etc purchases.
    Congrats Stuart, no you don't win a CAR but good try.
    IAN
    Last edited by coelacanth; 04-05-2008 at 07:40 PM. Reason: hadn't finished

andrew, are egrell's cheaper? the s10 would be what, $450?? I thought you could buy a comparable loomis cheaper...please dont get me wrong, i dont own an s10 and all i have heard is how wonderfu they are....but i am surprised they are cheaper.

I am heading to the states in 2 days, and i was thinking of buying a loomis of the price was right for chasing macks and tunas......

Quote Originally Posted by lampuki View Post
    andrew, are egrell's cheaper? the s10 would be what, $450?? I thought you could buy a comparable loomis cheaper...please dont get me wrong, i dont own an s10 and all i have heard is how wonderfu they are....but i am surprised they are cheaper.

I am heading to the states in 2 days, and i was thinking of buying a loomis of the price was right for chasing macks and tunas......
    have a look at the top of the range Falcon Rods, Kistler Rods & Airrus Rods while you are at it & compare with the Loomis, as value for money....
    Last edited by DR; 05-05-2008 at 10:53 AM.

I think people that base their purchase on a warranty scam, sorry scheme have missed the point. Every product sold in Australia at least must carry a 12 month warranty. This expeditor warranty is crap right from the word go. If you break your rod after 2 weeks of use then you still have to pay your additional $140. What happens to the 12 month warranty on the rod in the first place. Are many telling me that every break is the fault of the customer?

Stu

loonis rods cost no around $ 50 to make that's finished but you are paying for the marketing $$$ eg one jap lure that costs around $ 20 cost the inporter about $3 landed here as our dollar is strong at the moment he sells it to the shop and the shop puts on about $6 and you pay $20 that have it is . and dont think that all jap lures are made in japan some are just packed there. as far as rod blanks alot are out of asia not usa or where they want you to think they are made . i know this as i have seen it over there.

Here, Here.
    I agree 100% with you stu.
    Just starting out rod building and have bought everything i need offshore, worth the wait to get it to Aus.
    Saving up to 75% on most items.
    Cheers Garryh.

in Port Philip Bay.

Interesting thread .... specially to someone that is a fan of Loomis rods ( I own 6). When I say rods .... Its really the blank. Without a doubt Loomis have the most comprehensive range of blanks in regard to tapers , action & blank materials ( very high quality). ..... Loomis design rod blanks for so many different styles of fishing which all show unique characteristics .
    So as far as a factory rolled rod goes ....... The choice is huge , which makes it very easy to pick up a rod that will feel right in your own hands ... plus will suit your needs! ...... No other manufacturer offers that ( specially offering the same rod .... but in different build materials.... hence price)
    Unfortunately ..... The local distributor is making an absolute killing & so we see some nice rods that end up with a hefty price tag ...... to the point of where you would look at custom made rods as a better option.... Having said that , If I import a couple of rods in GL3 /IMX or Blends ..... I can land them for a similar price to a Shimano T curve or even a GLX for well less than some of the well known custom made rods using similar components! Yeah Ok ..... they don't have the aesthetics but they are extremely functional.

In the end ..... I own / have owned some pretty nice custom & factory rods + have built my own rods over the years on Samurai , Hastings , composite developments , Calstar , Sabre & Pacific composite blanks ....... & I wouldn't say that any of the baitcast or spin blanks were better than an IMX or GLX Loomis blank ......... IMHO

Nagg
    Last edited by NAGG; 08-06-2008 at 12:56 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by coelacanth View Post
    So are you saying that if they did not have an expediter program you would not use the product as much?, they are not the only ones that have it either by the way. Does the expediter only apply to product bought in Australia(ie through ej todd)or will they warranty/expedite from o/s /ebay etc purchases.
    Congrats Stuart, no you don't win a CAR but good try.
    IAN

I am in the process of trying to sell a loomis crankbait spin rod series rod on this site and was wondering why i havn't had any serious looks ,i can understand why now i have read this thread why would anyone by a second hand rod here when you can import a similar thing from the states for the same price as i have mine up for which is obviously now second hand . I phoned TODDS about this rod on friday and they tell me that they were built here in australia for our market only as loomis dont make these for spin in the u.s only for overheads ,they also told me that it is covered buy the expeditor warrenty ,this is from the horses mouth so to speak . I also am dissposing of this to have a custom rod built by a mate of mine here in brissy made of quality components all imported from the states at a price that is rediculiously cheap . I better go and change my price again to something that relates to what it can be bought for thanks for the insight it is an interesting subject ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

for the average fisho..and that would include most on here also...please tell me by how much having a loomis or egrell or any other high priced rod will enhance your catch rate. For most people it won't make any difference at all as most of us have trouble even finding where the fish are let alone catching them.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    for the average fisho..and that would include most on here also...please tell me by how much having a loomis or egrell or any other high priced rod will enhance your catch rate. For most people it won't make any difference at all as most of us have trouble even finding where the fish are let alone catching them.
    G'day PinHead

Mate ...Firstly .......Finding fish & hooking fish has nothing to do with the tackle one uses

I think I know what you are trying to say though ..... & from my prospective the rod one uses probably does not have MUCH of an influence on catch rates! ...... But I still have reservations in saying that
    I have seen mates loose fish because of the rod they were using! ..... The rod could not handle the task at hand ( bream in the oyster racks ..... you need a long rod that will cast small lures/SPs ...... yet have enough power to pull a fish away from cover In this scenario I've seen fish that weren't stopped or my mate couldn't make the distance to fish effectively...... & he was using a rod that is so called designed for this purpose ...... RACK RAIDER
    Barra fishing is another classic case ..... fish lost because the rod never had the power to turn a rampaging fish ...... Yes a lot of cheaper rods will & have landed big barra ....... But fish-ability is probably not there! A good casting barra rod needs not only to have the power , but also have the strength in the tip section to cast very heavy lures ..... yet be light enough to cast 1000+ times a day ..... to avoid the fatigue factor Now in this case a quality rod can improve your catch rates ..... because you can put in a 1000 cast day ..... & follow it up the next day ( more casts give you more of a chance of catching a fish) ........ Now this is something I learnt first hand after my very first barra trip ...... & I quickly upgraded the rods for the next trip ........ & followed it up with more purchases as my knowledge of the fish & tactics improved!
    So I guess ...... specialist techniques require specialist tackle .... regardless if you are a gun angler or not ...... sure you can use cheaper gear & get away with it ..... but that's it! "you get away with it" Keep in mind that most high priced / quality rods are designed & built for specific applications or techniques.
    If you are just soaking a bait in the bay ...... you wouldn't bother with a high priced rod
    I just wish I had a $ for every time someone has picked up one of my rods & said "WOW ... that feels nice! .... you can actually feel what the lure is doing" ..... + not to mention after landing a fish on it! ......... Several mates have made serious upgrades on their choice of rods once they have experienced using kit with a bit of quality !
    ......... I know every now & then I pick up my old Ugly stick ...... & quickly put it back ....... its a broomstick compared to my newer rods

Nagg

PS ..... one final thing In most cases IMO , the rod is the most important piece of the tackle puzzle ..... not the reel

Pinhead... A few months ago I was explaining this very thing to the darling sweetheart... I'm not sure she was convinced... but you may be able to tweek the reasons...let me know how you go....
    Firstly..if she's a believer that "Size does matter".... we start with... 'All the really big fish have bigger eyes..hence they can see further... they look up through the water where they can see the rod the bloke is holding and if it's not "big enough"... simply will not bite on that rod..... not letting the one raised eyebrow or the "you're a tosser" stare deter me...I continued on.....If you want me to simply catch more fish... not neccessarily "bigger" fish...then if I was using one of those new ultra light feather weight, designed by NASA, trialled by aeronaultical engineers... used as hail detecters on weather balloons type rods.... these rods are small enough that even guppies in a tea cup will want to jump on for the ride.....with a feeling that I was about to step into very "deep water"..gauging by the 2 raised eyebrows and the "I wish I could step on ur neck to stop you talking stare"......I plundered on....finishing with the old favourite....brand names....and shoes.... "It's really not much different to buying shoes my love".... you know... we all need "sitting" shoes... "walking" shoes... "dinner" shoes... and just plain old... "I will look sh%t hot in those" shoes......" I never even mentioned the "but look they're on special..they're so cheap" shoes.... by now I was on a roll.... thinking I was winning the argument...when she suddenly stood up and walked..."bare foot" I might add, to the live in shoe cupboard....I unwittingly followed still informing her of the many benefits to owning not only one rod/pair of shoes... she turned...smiled..reached out and stuck a stilletto heel from her "take me to bed" shoes...in my left ear....and started beating my right ear with the cuban heel of her " I'm a cowgirl.... save a horse...ride a cowboy"..boots....
    I think she was telling me to throw out any old rods I won't be using any time soon... and just keep the good ones....
    Damn... I really miss those stilletto's and riding boots...but apparently she wont be needing them anymore....

Thanks Nagg and Mr Wet. Very informative and funny !!!

Matt, this thread was not aimed at you, but simply a burning question I needed answering !!!

cheers Phill

I didn't think it was phill i was just answering the expediter question and having read the thread i have gained a whole new understanding of there worth thanks ..matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......