Thread: 20 barra in my new dam

20 barra in my new dam

Hi everyone I bought a property 25 minutes out of townsville it has a dam on it .finding out that the dam was riddled with tilapia i asked around how to get rid of them . to my great surprise i recieved an answer that i didn't mind hearing. simple stock the dam with barra so I bought 20 ranging in size from 25-30cm.they are now happily swimming around and hopefully eating all those tilapia. i can't figure out how to download pictures but here are the google earth coordinates
    19 15 06.35s
    146 34 08.22 e
    dam is aprox 60m x 40m
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Re: 20 barra in my new dam

Woohoo!!! - probably doesn't seem as big a dilemna now I bet!

Gotta love that solution

Those hungry critters will hopefully sort them out quick smart for you

trying to post piccies again[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 21310

Attachment 21311

Attachment 21312

these were taken before the wet started

Nice looking bit of water seeing it was before the wet season start

Hey Stuie,

Does this mean we'll be having catch and release barra M&G's at your joint now? lol.

How far out, from those pics I would be guessing Bluewater?

Scott might just have to do that in a year or so they reckon the barra will be 60cm or so by then. not Bluewater but close Black River

Oh good, just a short drive for me then.....I'm just across the river in Jensen.

mate give it 2 summers and chuck some 110mm weedless squidgy fish on top of those lillies and wind them back on the surface and ull be pulling 50+cm fish out of there its amazing how fast those little suckers grow.
    last march i released 120 barra 8-15cm long and now me and my mate pull 40cm fish out on little poppers.

this is the average growth rate of a barra.

Year. Length range (mm)

1. 310-330
    2. 430-500
    3. 529-610
    4. 610-690
    5. 730-770
    6. 810+

So do the math, also depends on water quality and range of food to, As how big they get.

Cammo
    Last edited by Cammy; 22-02-2008 at 10:05 PM.
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Cammy thanks for that my babies must be nearly one year old . old mate from the barra farm took a look at the dam and said there was plenty of food for the barra. then when they are a bit bigger they can start eating all those tilapia

Stuie,

Nothin better than having Barra in your back yard. Half your luck.

Quote Originally Posted by STUIE63 View Post
    Cammy thanks for that my babies must be nearly one year old . old mate from the barra farm took a look at the dam and said there was plenty of food for the barra. then when they are a bit bigger they can start eating all those tilapia

no worries mate, i rekon they will grow even faster with all the live food.

Cammo
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons