View Poll Results: My year (2007) fishing at Mud Island is ?

Voters
60. You may not vote on this poll
  • 'A' - Excellent

6 10.00%
  • 'B' - Good

18 30.00%
  • 'C' - just OK

20 33.33%
  • 'D' - Poor! fish harder for 2008

16 26.67%

Thread: Mud Island - 2007

Mud Island - 2007

Time to close account due wild weather left me sitting on computer and decided to throw some pic's what I have achieved at Mud Island and I admit fished there pretty hard...
    For vote polls: grading 'A' - Excellent 'D' - Poor...Fish harder for next year 2008

Overall I did 23 trips - averaged 1.5 fish bought home each trip on average under 3 fishing hours at Island...funny thing that I haven't bagged out on snappers yet and hoping next year so it be!

Enjoy pic's

Note biggest snapper went 75cm

Re: Mud Island - 2007

More pic's

some nice fish there mate. Never fished Mud myself but will give it a nudge this winter. I came across some marks for Mud, do you know anything about " Grazier " ?

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Stabin View Post
    do you know anything about " Grazier " ?
    Thanks and " Grazier " is known an area at east of Mud Island...
    You try search on ausfish and will find many reports & some information...

Got to agree mud has been good , me and the wife have caught some nice fish there in the last 12 months looking forward to getting out again when this bloody wind stops . Cheers for sharing some of your photos of some of what you have caught this year have a great new year see you out there ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

I found it much tougher from the start of april, prior to that many days i could bag out by 6 am, maybe i was just lucky for many trips?.

caught heaps of grinners, toadies, and shovelies!
    it has to be one of those places you need to fish reguraly.
    a mud island tip. use the grinners for bait!

A little guidance for those who have never been there.

I have probably been there about 8 times, still yet to take a fish home, caught plenty of undersize fish and had some good time, so its all good.

Quote Originally Posted by lippa View Post
    caught heaps of grinners, toadies, and shovelies!
    it has to be one of those places you need to fish reguraly.
    a mud island tip. use the grinners for bait!

Cheers Lippa
    For grinners if they swollen hook and difficluit to remove then I would take it home for next crabbing they consider a good bait for sandies...
    Other wise I prefer release grinner in good condition

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    A little guidance for those who have never been there.
    Thanks Brain....where's X

After 3 week poll and I reckon my year fishing @ mud would be "just OK"
    haven't start first trip to Mud for 2008....hopefully it won't be long & stay tune on my next report on section of 'estuary & bay report'
    thanks guys for made votes...

I am going to give mud a try tomorrow morning.
    Any pointers? I have had most luck (plenty of undersize fish) in the nth side. The eastern side seems to be much more popular, but I am yet to catch much over there.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish73 View Post
    I am going to give mud a try tomorrow morning.
    Any pointers? I have had most luck (plenty of undersize fish) in the nth side. The eastern side seems to be much more popular, but I am yet to catch much over there.
    Your mention of spots (north & east) should be working if you play it right...
    Key is look for bait on your fish finder andf they are there

Quote Originally Posted by Silent View Post
    Your mention of spots (north & east) should be working if you play it right...
    Key is look for bait on your fish finder andf they are there
    Thanks for that. I did see a lot of cloudy sections on the sounder just below the surface where we caught the fish, I guess that was the b ait school.

2 squire at 36/37 and a grass sweetlip at 31, and plenty of throwbacks too.
    They have worked out to be bloody expensive fish , as its our first table fish since owning the boat.
    Funny thing is they were all caught on low end jarvis walker rods and a average shaksphere reel. The soft platic outfit failed to produce
    Rebecca (10yo sorta daughter in law) even caught 2 squid using squid for bait