View Poll Results: Where have you landed your biggest bass?

Voters
168. You may not vote on this poll
  • River or Creek (wild)

18 10.71%
  • Bjelke-Petersen

5 2.98%
  • Boondooma

2 1.19%
  • Borumba

3 1.79%
  • Cania

12 7.14%
  • Cressbrook

3 1.79%
  • Glenbourne (nsw)

5 2.98%
  • Lenthalls

5 2.98%
  • Monduran

14 8.33%
  • Moogera

2 1.19%
  • Somerset

33 19.64%
  • St Clair (nsw)

1 0.60%
  • Wivenhoe

29 17.26%
  • Other

36 21.43%
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Thread: Where do the biggest bass come from

Cool Re: Where do the biggest bass come from

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    My longest is 55cm, but biggest is 52cm at 3.03kg. I have photo in my gallery on the deck, its a fat pig of a fish.!! got him on a wild looking spinnerbait with 4 or 5 blades on it....it caught me many bass.

Where?

Jeremy, I know a bloke by the name of Peter May in toowoomba who got a 58cm fork length at somerset..I have seen the photos, on a mat too. Its the genuine thing.

On a different occasion,I took him to somerset the very first time he ever fished for bass (to wash the salt of the boat on the way home after a crap morning at the pin) and his very first 2 bass ever caught were both 52cm to the fork. It was an overcast tues arvo with not another boat on the water, we got 10 fish in 2hrs, with 6 over 50cm. Just one of those sessions you remember.

cheers Steve
    When?

Steve you haven't been sampling the medical have you?

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Re: Where do the biggest bass come from

Oh you blokes, its Nth Pine Dam which consistently produces the biggest bass of any impoundment in australia. A friendly scientist chappy did some comparisons with average bass sizes in NPD verses the best tournament results from other dams in Oz. The results were conclusive to say the least.

Even before this another bunch of fresh water scientists had christened the lake "Jurasic Park for Bass"

Daryl,

Somerset, 58cm was about 3 yrs back!!!!.

that 52cm fish of mine was about the same time.

Jeremy, I know a bloke by the name of Peter May in toowoomba who got a 58cm fork length at somerset..I have seen the photos, on a mat too. Its the genuine thing.

On a different occasion,I took him to somerset the very first time he ever fished for bass (to wash the salt of the boat on the way home after a crap morning at the pin) and his very first 2 bass ever caught were both 52cm to the fork. It was an overcast tues arvo with not another boat on the water, we got 10 fish in 2hrs, with 6 over 50cm. Just one of those sessions you remember.

cheers Steve
    Those are quality fish. Did you score them verticle jigging?

Well i'll going to Big W tomorrow. As good a time as any to nab a big one.

Jeremy,

the session with Peter was slow rolling squidgies over the flats at pelican point.

The 52cm I got was suspended in 15ft of water (with thousands of others) in May 2006... I was just casting spinnerbaits out counting down and slowrolling thru the pack!! Got about 60-80 fish per day for 2 days!!!! I posted some sounder shots in the sounder reading thread last year....It was 2 of the best days bass fishing that I have ever experienced!! (day one by myself, day 2 with a mate)

cheers Steve

good luck at Big W....never been there, but heard plenty good stories about the place!!

Wivenhoe was a big swing and a miss. I think the schools have moved on, which could be a good thing because they might pop up in an area where i can get the canoe out to, and as a consequence be able to catch them in better numbers (can't hurt in my quest for a 60). I think Big W will have to go on the back burner now until the deer rut is over then i'll start up again in winter.

Quote Originally Posted by shayned View Post
    Oh you blokes, its Nth Pine Dam which consistently produces the biggest bass of any impoundment in australia. A friendly scientist chappy did some comparisons with average bass sizes in NPD verses the best tournament results from other dams in Oz. The results were conclusive to say the least.

Even before this another bunch of fresh water scientists had christened the lake "Jurasic Park for Bass"
    I think you've got that right mate..... I reckon the reason these fish are growing to this size is that this lake is virtually untouched, sure a lot of fish are taken in the allowed zones but just imagine whats swimming around way out the back of the place. They have miles and miles of boney and gar filled water to swim around in and beef up. As you know a few people do venture around to the forbidden zones to reap huge amounts of BIG BAD bass. They return days later with massive arm muscles from fighting these behemoths , a wicked sparkle in their eye and all the paint stipped from their expensive Japanese lures.
    The last bit was probably a little over the top but it made me smile as I typed it

I have never fished any dams for bass as i grew up on the richmond river in nsw and prefer to fish there. My biggest bass caught so far is 1.5kg @ 45cm. My family has been on the ricmond for 2 generations and fished it for over 80yrs and thats the biggest anyone has caught. The amount of fish in the river is amazing, i catch around 3-5 bass all on hardbodies each session. Needless to say, i cant get enough.

P.S all fish are released.

Hey Shayned
    There's no doubt Nth Pine has some huge bass (prob the the biggest along with Wivenhoe imo) but I wouldn't use that data you have as any proof of the fact.
    The largest single recording of fish sizes I know of at Nth P was at the bubble pipe (about 600 in one day), it was at a time when the big females were schooled and rowed up. Most of the big tournies have a full on practice where the whole dam gets a real flogging and that often has a huge impact on the results. Added to this tournies are run at all times of the year including times when the big girls are not schooling and hard to find, and therefore competors are just after 2 legal bass reguardless of size to start with and then start searching for upgrades.

I also wonder if an angler should even count any bass as a PB that he caught in an area that required him to climb over a barbed wire fence, walk past 3 or 4 restricted area - keep out signs, hide from rangers and risk prossicution. Different story if they have permission to be there.

Quote Originally Posted by moorie86 View Post
    I have never fished any dams for bass as i grew up on the richmond river in nsw and prefer to fish there. My biggest bass caught so far is 1.5kg @ 45cm. My family has been on the ricmond for 2 generations and fished it for over 80yrs and thats the biggest anyone has caught. The amount of fish in the river is amazing, i catch around 3-5 bass all on hardbodies each session. Needless to say, i cant get enough.

P.S all fish are released.
    Hi, I was born in Casino and as a kid it was Perch on worms and then we moved on to Floppy lures, if we lost a lure in a snag we dived in with the mask on and was always amazed by the number of fish on each snag, sure all smallish fish but the numbers were awesome.