Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Bcf V Local Guy

Re: Bcf V Local Guy

Quote Originally Posted by BenatCoffs View Post
    Funny story - couple of weeks back I went for a fish with a mate that works at BCF here in Coffs - our meet up point was FTA to get some lures that BCF don't sell, and the guy that served us previously worked at the a mart next door before moving over to FTA!

I find that with BCF you really need to find the specialist guys (or gals) and build the rapport with that person. BCF has plenty of dedicated fishos working for them, as does FTA. FTA for me is a bit hit an miss - despites the massive store they frequently don't have stocked items that I am after. But they do have a thousand combos that sell for under $20... Don't try and get 7" nuclear chicken jerkshads from them either
    Ben,

Not so funny a story mate,

A few cheap shots at another tackle shop, already you state your mate works at BCF,

Think that any tackle shop at some stage will sell out of a very popular item.

Not affiliated, however it is a local store owned and operated in the area, with a heap of fishing folk behind the counter.

Cheap shot at a person trying to improve themselves moving from a multinational to a dedicated tackle shop as well.

Keep it factual.

The tackle shop you mention FTA would have hundreds of items not available at BCF, and if your not sure all you have to do is ask, all fisherman behind the counter and are up to date with the latest.

No not connected, but they do support the local community and believe that their service is second to none in our area.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Quote Originally Posted by mylestom View Post
    Ben,

A few cheap shots at another tackle shop, already you state your mate works at BCF,

Not affiliated, however it is a local store owned and operated in the area, with a heap of fishing folk behind the counter.

Cheap shot at a person trying to improve themselves moving from a multinational to a dedicated tackle shop as well.

Keep it factual.

The tackle shop you mention FTA would have hundreds of items not available at BCF, and if your not sure all you have to do is ask, all fisherman behind the counter and are up to date with the latest.

No not connected, but they do support the local community and believe that their service is second to none in our area.

Trev
    WOT
    A bloke make a few simple observations and you jump down his throat like he has some sort of agenda.
    Krikey, Take a breath of fresh air.

Quote Originally Posted by oldboot View Post
    WOT
    A bloke make a few simple observations and you jump down his throat like he has some sort of agenda.
    Krikey, Take a breath of fresh air.

More than a few simple observations, read his quote properly, as for jumping down on some one what about your interpretation with the large wot comment. Classified as shouting out loud.

Take a lot of fresh air and maybe you should take a deep breath as well.

Have a nice day and enjoy life.

Trev

Yeh mate i didnt come down in the last shower I know what posting in capitols and large text means and that is exactly how it was intened.

yes I did read your quote and I checked his original post too.... and I read the text several times just to make sure.

Firstly just because he has a mate that works at BCF it doesnt mean that he is expressing a vested interest.

The first paragraph shows that an emplyee of one store would shop at another, secondly he knew the gut at FTA well enough to know he used to work at a competitor.
    No I see no inkling of a disrespectifull remark toward the guy at FTA.
    I simply cant find any thing other than an account of a bloke going to shop at a competitors store and there being someone ther that had previously worked for another competitor.........it is a bit humourous and does indicate how mobile staff are....... do you think the staff from these stores don't know each other and have social contact outside of their work....... p ha.

The second comment is a simple observation that I would have to say many would agree with.

At any of these chain stores you need to know who the right people to ask are.
    I know from first experience this is the case at my local BCF, my local@mart and many other places.
    To a point he even infers that both BCF and FTA are tared with the same brush in that respect.

Now the statement that one retailer doesnt stock many of the items he wants to buy, is in all likelyhood a statement of fact....... this also is not an isolated occurance..........the thousand $20 combo comment is problay an exageration.......but can you honestly tell me that you havnt seen that syndrome before.............
    As for 7" neuc chook jerk shads I know a couple of locak independents that dont stock a big variety of soft plastics... or they may not stock the two major brands in quantity.

for the life of me I can not see anything that could be consider an unfair or unreasonable comment nor one that represents excessive bias.

You however make direct acusations of nepitism, and use far more disrespectfull language specificlay directed toward the original poster that he ever used in his some what general comments.

I may not have got good marks at school for spelling but always got top marks for comprehension.

Pull your head in.

Last edited by oldboot; 07-01-2008 at 06:21 PM.

ladies please, buy your gear where u want and stop making such a fuss about all this.

Townsville BCF still gets my support along with the long standing Pro Tackle. The Townsville BCF have some well experienced fisho's who have been in the industry for well over 10 years each. And the fishing specialist bloke actally does all the rod repairs for the 3 local prominent local shops too....

Quote Originally Posted by oldboot View Post
    Yeh mate i didnt come down in the last shower I know what posting in capitols and large text means and that is exactly how it was intened.

yes I did read your quote and I checked his original post too.... and I read the text several times just to make sure.

Firstly just because he has a mate that works at BCF it doesnt mean that he is expressing a vested interest.

The first paragraph shows that an emplyee of one store would shop at another, secondly he knew the gut at FTA well enough to know he used to work at a competitor.
    No I see no inkling of a disrespectifull remark toward the guy at FTA.
    I simply cant find any thing other than an account of a bloke going to shop at a competitors store and there being someone ther that had previously worked for another competitor.........it is a bit humourous and does indicate how mobile staff are....... do you think the staff from these stores don't know each other and have social contact outside of their work....... p ha.

The second comment is a simple observation that I would have to say many would agree with.

At any of these chain stores you need to know who the right people to ask are.
    I know from first experience this is the case at my local BCF, my local@mart and many other places.
    To a point he even infers that both BCF and FTA are tared with the same brush in that respect.

Now the statement that one retailer doesnt stock many of the items he wants to buy, is in all likelyhood a statement of fact....... this also is not an isolated occurance..........the thousand $20 combo comment is problay an exageration.......but can you honestly tell me that you havnt seen that syndrome before.............
    As for 7" neuc chook jerk shads I know a couple of locak independents that dont stock a big variety of soft plastics... or they may not stock the two major brands in quantity.

for the life of me I can not see anything that could be consider an unfair or unreasonable comment nor one that represents excessive bias.

You however make direct acusations of nepitism, and use far more disrespectfull language specificlay directed toward the original poster that he ever used in his some what general comments.

I may not have got good marks at school for spelling but always got top marks for comprehension.

Pull your head in.

Love it !!!!
    Good stuff old boot and mylestom.

It's great to hear a good old fashioned rational debate.
    All too often these days disagreements quickly can degenerate into petty name calling and abuse.
    Keep it up guys .Healthy debate never hurt anyone.

Hmm. first saw this thread i'm thinking "why is my name mentioned". lol.

anyway back on topic.

I've had very good service and "knowhow" from bcf stores and compared to my local bait and tackle store who does hold all the gear i like, the local guy is a lot more expensive.

I'm sure it has a lot to do with peoples locations in regards to who is better. but lately the people i've talked to at bcf (3 different stores) has been top notch.

I'll be doing my shopping there from now on

The townsvile store is immense, the fishing section is bigger than my whole local store.
    thjere is soooo much stuff there
    these big stores have their place....... the bloke across the road is still doing fine too.

Quote Originally Posted by Rod_Bender View Post
    Townsville BCF still gets my support along with the long standing Pro Tackle. The Townsville BCF have some well experienced fisho's who have been in the industry for well over 10 years each. And the fishing specialist bloke actally does all the rod repairs for the 3 local prominent local shops too....
    Mate you have done well to simply carry on with the topic at hand. LOL

I don't have a local... (that i would go to anyway) so that kind of leaves me having to drive for a bit to get to someone, or go to BCF.

Now when it comes to rods, i'll by the expensive stuff from Captain Blighs at Underwood if its just the one item i am buying. I'll also look at the good reels there... BUT when it comes to buying, i can buy from MO cheaper than buying from them, so cost wins out.

I'll also only buy Rods from mo if i'm ordering a few lures as well to try and soak up the cost a little.

For line and lures I buy from BCF. My local BCF is Browns Plains, and I always get good service there, half the staff know me well and always have a chat when I'm in there so I like to support them.

Ben,

No worries, I found humour in the situation as we all stood at the counter discussing our trip for the day. I guess I can see how others wouldn't see that...
    Yes, my mate works at BCF, I do not and thus have no vested interest in anyone shopping there. I shop equally at FTA, BCF and whilst the store was open, Sawtell B&T as in all of these stores I find/found the service to be exemplary. (Sawtell B&T was the only place I could locally source flexcoat rod finish also)

Cheap shots maybe on the Nuke Chook, but even staff at FTA joke that they can't get enough of them in...

As for the 'thousands of $20 combos' - perhaps an exaggeration, but there are a vast number of combos in that store (and indeed most tackle stores) that I wouldn't keep within cooee of any of my fishing trips.

Not at all, I have no comprehension at all from my post how you came to this conclusion. Paul is extremely helpful and when he was at a mart I would shop with him and since he has moved to FTA I have stopped going to a mart. I will actively seek him out as I know that he has great fishing knowledge especially for techniques in our local area.

I am actually incredulous that you believe I was having a shot at him in my post...

Keep it factual.
    Can you please highlight where I typed something that was not factual? (except the clearly obvious to all reading that is the 'thousands of $20 combos')

Trev
    Yes, they are a great tackle store, the greatest in fact - I've seen the ad.

ps. Cheers! oldboot!

Have a nice day, shop where you want and do what you want. But local tackle shops help support the local community.

Trev
    Last edited by mylestom; 08-01-2008 at 07:23 AM.