Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Bcf V Local Guy

Re: Bcf V Local Guy

Being from Maryborough our local BCF is Hervey Bay. To be honest I wouldn't buy anything from the tackle stores in M'boro unless I was desperate as most of their stuff is way overpriced and there is no range. I have a mate that works at BCF up the Bay so I do most of my shopping there. He tells me when stuff in on special etc. The fulltime fishing salesman is very helpful and knowledeable.....

I went to the so called "bcf opening sale at Logan City" as it was my b'day my miss'is wanted to buy me a new reel and the price i got on the reel was ok, but when i went to buy some line there "special" was $10 more then the same line i seen at Big W a week before, the line was 10lb pink fireline.
    I know this post was meant to be Bcf Vs local guy (and big w isnt a local guy) all im saying is i wont be going back to bcf!!

As ive just moved to this area im unsure of a good "local guy" to buy my tackle from..

Cheers Homer

I personally like to shop at my local, Tackle Warehouse. I just don't like shopping at these giant super stores knowing that every dollar that's spent there is driving another nail into the coffin of the 'local' stores. Once these smaller operators are gone you will be forced to shop at these 'mega marts' and pay their prices (which will rise believe me). They call it a monopoly. I do barter with my local a little though if I'm spending big and they always accomodate me, and if I pay a little extra for the smaller stuff then so be it, it's a small price to pay to keep them open.

Just look at how many small hardware stores are around nowadays, bupkiss. Or how many bottle'os are owned by coles or woolies (over 80%), the business giants are taking away our choice.

Don't let it happen, if you all love your fishing so much keep your local in business, we need them.

c'mon, take the bait....

one of the local tackle shop is with Tackle world and I buy camping gear and bait there.
    other little tackle shop at the beach is run by a local charter dude.I'd rather pay a few extra bucks for an outfit or bits and pieces as he will go out of his way to tell me about locations,techniques,knots and any other queries I have.

I guess the question is what local tackle shops are still around?!

I live on the northside of Brisbane.. I can only think of two that sell a half decent range and that is Jones and possibly the small shop near Caltex @ Carseldine.

BCF is just more convenient and to be honest I don't feel comfortable, as a recreational angler, going to Jones unless I'm going to spend big $$$ or go fishing outside the continental shelf on my Bertram (which I don't own).

Quote Originally Posted by b j p View Post
    I guess the question is what local tackle shops are still around?!

I live on the northside of Brisbane.. I can only think of two that sell a half decent range and that is Jones and possibly the small shop near Caltex @ Carseldine.

BCF is just more convenient and to be honest I don't feel comfortable, as a recreational angler, going to Jones unless I'm going to spend big $$$ or go fishing outside the continental shelf on my Bertram (which I don't own).
    I'm with you on this one b j p. I live out behind Ferny Grove and there are simply no tackle stores out that way . I buy certain items from Jones and Carseldine Caltex that BCF don't stock, but it is a bit of a drive.
    If I make the decision to fish early the next morning and I find I've run out of a certain soft plastic, I'll head off to BCF which is a stones throw away from my house...very handy.
    But if I walk into Jones or Carseldine Caltex, I'll ask them for some advice and they point you in the right direction with confidence. If a store has fishing gear I'll walk in, be it a big place or small.

I reckon that we can be too precious at times about loyalties to either large chain tackle stores or to the local guy.

Why do people who will do all their grocery shopping at Coles or Woolies suddenly get all ecumenical about the merits of supporting small tackle retailers. Give me a break!

I have received good advice, good prices and good service from Watertower Bait & Tackle at Manly and BCF at Capalaba. I have also received poor service and felt intimidated by plenty of specialist tackle shops where the staff seem more interested in having conversations in their in-store clique than helping me as a mug learner.

Like suggesting what an idiot I was for buying an 8 ft Snyderglas rod for my wife instead of the 9 ft one. Well you Mossop boofhead, my wife is diminuitive and I know what she will feel most comfortable with.

...and you Jones shop person, if you think that I am gonna pay that price you gotta be dreamin'...

....and on the other hand, Mr A (Mart that cannot be mentioned here), why are your 20% off sale prices on things like baitrunners still dearer than what I can buy at my local tackle shop anyway?.....

....and Mr Tackle Warehouse AND Mr BCF, if you think that I am gonna pay $500 for a downrigger that I can buy online, delivered to my doorstep from the USA for $192, you are seriously dreamin'.

Ha! Long live private enterprise and free markets and the global community!

When the retail fishing tackle industry can boast the sort of caring, thoughtful service that is given in almost every bicycle dealership by very keen young sports cyclists behind the counter, then I think that the smaller retail tackle industry has a future. Service standards in tackle shops are very variable, in my experience.

Last edited by charleville; 10-12-2007 at 06:36 PM.

I regularly travel to the US with work and without doubt the best 'blokes' shop on the planet is Basspro. I generally buy my gear from over there. Although a chain, the sales staff are trained professionals who actually fish, hunt and camp themselves. Anything from a 300 Winchester Magnum to a packet of sinkers to an Offshore fishing rig. I'm like an eight year old at Xmas when I walk in the place. The exchange rate is good at the moment so I stocked up on the last trip and am headed across a few times early in the new year so hopefully the exchange rate will remain high. An example is some titanium and gold spinnerbaits I picked up for $4.95 the equivalent of which cost $14 here. Can't beat those sorts of prices.

I live at Everton Park..I buy nearly everything from Jones or Carseldine..have also bought some gear at Sundown marine...I ventured inot BCF at Keperra once and once only..never again. Oh..there is Anaconda at Everton park..only been in there once for a stroll around.

Bruce..there is a big difference between buying groceries (vital stuff) and fishing gear (luxury stuff)..I will support the small tackle shop at all times.
    One day I might even support a local boat builder...if they can actually deliver a boat in something shorter than an aeon.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Bruce..there is a big difference between buying groceries (vital stuff) and fishing gear (luxury stuff)..
    I don't know about that matey.
    TimTam double coats and Pauls full cream ice cream are pretty highly regarded special luxury items items in our shopping basket.

I agree with Charlie on this one...go where you reckon you get the service, deal and feel comfortable.
    Shops are like undies...they can vary so much according to the person owning them or working in them after a while....They can all start out the same Bonds 7 Days in Rio coming out of the same factory but after awhile the 'personality' of the owner comes into play.
    Sometimes you might be able to wear them in a pinch...other times you'd chuck them in the bin just because they just aren't right.......If you get my drift
    Last edited by finga; 10-12-2007 at 08:27 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

You wear undies?

Hot topic in many forums this.

Where I live in Mount Barker - 50 clicks north of the WA south coast, a new BCF store opened in Albany (nearest regional centre).

My wife and I went there for a nose on the first day.

As many of you say, a LOT of there fishing gear is both entry level AND expensive.

I guess (if I can use the term) BCF's bread and butter money will come from the customer demographic that previously bought their fishing gear from K-Mart and Target etc. Just cheap entry gear and don't want the personal touch, or feel embarrassed by their lack of knowledge - which no one ever should.

Personally, I think serious fishing people, and those that want good unbiased advice, will tend or eventually go to local tackle shops. I know I saved about 20% on a pair of new Diawa Sealine LD30 II overheads by going to my local store. The BCF deputy store manager freely admitted that there prices are often higher than the smaller guys.

On the surface, that may initially seem a bad thing, but I actually think it's good, because it does two things:

1) Doesn't 'QANTAS' the other tackle stores.
    2) Encourages people to go to the smaller stores.

As others also said, I'll shop at BCF for boating chandlery.
    Last edited by Dreamweaver; 11-12-2007 at 03:26 PM.
    Colin Molloy
    Mt Barker WA

Quote Originally Posted by charleville View Post
    I reckon that we can be too precious at times about loyalties to either large chain tackle stores or to the local guy.

Why do people who will do all their grocery shopping at Coles or Woolies suddenly get all ecumenical about the merits of supporting small tackle retailers. Give me a break!

I have received good advice, good prices and good service from Watertower Bait & Tackle at Manly and BCF at Capalaba. I have also received poor service and felt intimidated by plenty of specialist tackle shops where the staff seem more interested in having conversations in their in-store clique than helping me as a mug learner.

Like suggesting what an idiot I was for buying an 8 ft Snyderglas rod for my wife instead of the 9 ft one. Well you Mossop boofhead, my wife is diminuitive and I know what she will feel most comfortable with.

...and you Jones shop person, if you think that I am gonna pay that price you gotta be dreamin'...

....and on the other hand, Mr A (Mart that cannot be mentioned here), why are your 20% off sale prices on things like baitrunners still dearer than what I can buy at my local tackle shop anyway?.....

....and Mr Tackle Warehouse AND Mr BCF, if you think that I am gonna pay $500 for a downrigger that I can buy online, delivered to my doorstep from the USA for $192, you are seriously dreamin'.

Ha! Long live private enterprise and free markets and the global community!

When the retail fishing tackle industry can boast the sort of caring, thoughtful service that is given in almost every bicycle dealership by very keen young sports cyclists behind the counter, then I think that the smaller retail tackle industry has a future. Service standards in tackle shops are very variable, in my experience.

Charleville your a champ mate, so true and so correct. I am just a kid and i know that when i used to go to charltons tackle and bait near redbank at ipswich.... i got treated like a dumb shit, and got given no helpful advice watsoever. However having said that this was when i was in year 6. I am now in year 11 and there seems to be some new faces that have helped me and been very positive... You then go to bcf and the majority of workers are a bunch of kids that have no interest in fishing whatsoever (trust me i would know.... i work there ha!) However there are also a few that really genuinely know there shit and want to help out (generally the managers) and a few of us kids

So basicaly each for there own.. but i have been to a lot of tackle shops and i find theres only really one that stands out from the rest and its located in coffs harbour... ((the real big one lol)) bcf is far from perfect but i dont think the majority of the locals are perfect either.... especially with the massive mark ups.

You have to go local!

Better service, price and advice. BCF try to suck you in with the advertised price etc, but check it with your local guy. You will be surprised.
    I go to Caloundra Fishing World, speak to Darren he is a plastics expert, there use to be an older guy in there that dribbled on a bit but they have a great range, good price and Darren's been around for ages, very helpful.

not much i can say but if your after a cheap price then expect to do a bit of shooping around bcf and other large chain stores do have good deals at certain times