Thread: Is there a spare seat for sand crabbing sunshine/gold coast

Is there a spare seat for sand crabbing sunshine/gold coast

G'day all,

I'm interested in catching a feed of sandies before Christmas and and the new year (if possible). I have some pots, but no boat, I'll chip in towards fuel and have a fish on the side if anyone has an extra seat. I look forward to hearing from anyone.

Re: Is there a spare seat for sand crabbing sunshine/gold coast

Hi Mate,
    I live at Victoria Point and crab the Banana banks Near Peel and around Coochiemudlo Island in an Allycraft 4.10 m Rhino, if this interests you.

Although I suffer from mild cerebral Palsy, this doesn't deter me, although I do need a hand a rigging a fishing line.

I can/also prefer mid week trips if this helps.

Scott.

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Ashe View Post
    Hi Mate,
    I live at Victoria Point and crab the Banana banks Near Peel and around Coochiemudlo Island in an Allycraft 4.10 m Rhino, if this interests you.

Although I suffer from mild cerebral Palsy, this doesn't deter me, although I do need a hand a rigging a fishing line.

I can/also prefer mid week trips if this helps.

Scott.

G'day Scott

Thanks, I know how to get to Victoria Point, do you leave from the south or north ramp? I don't mind as long as the conditions are good. That would be good, I can give you hand with rigging up the fishing line. The way things are with me at present, it will be Monday 19th November at the earliest for me, any day after that would be good. Do you get mostly sandies or muddies in these areas, I don't mind either of them, just that sandies seem to be more sweeter.

I have enought line for 4 post at 8 metres deep. I might need more rope deneding how deep the area is. Peter

Hi Peter,

Thanks for your reply,

I prefer to leave from the southern ramp,but I guess either would do. I target both sand and mud crab, but have a slightly different approach for the muddies, for those I crab a small creek, dropping the pots in on the high tide and returning the following morning to collect them.- For the muddie the best results are if left ovenight.

Next week sounds I deal for me, any day would do except monday, as I have an appointment. I find the best tides are highs early morning eg.6-8am. I have found whole mullet cut in half is the most effective bait.

I forgot to mention yesterday that although I have my boat I don't drive a motor car, so you would require a vehicle with a towbar to tow the boat to the ramp.

I am 28 and have been doing this for quite a few years now.

I can be contacted on 0412 747 998.

Hello Scott,

Sounds ok to me, I have a vehicle with towbar but not sure if the wiring harness plug will match the trailer as the plug I use is the old round type, not sure if its a 5 or 6 pin connector. I'll give you a call later on to work out a day etc. Peter

G'day Scott,

I have a few repairs to do on my car so it will be off the road for a few days until I can do the required maintenance, I'll send you a pm on Friday if problem occurs, of give you a call on your mobile on Monday next week. Peter

hi peter,

Sorry about not being very co operative on the phone. I was taken in for unexpected surgery on monday 12th, and I'm just not sure how long I will be off the water for now. I'm only feeling about 50% compared to normal.

Hoping to be feeling up to it by early December, will speak to you then if you are still keen.
    My home number is 3207 0309

Hi Scott

That's okay, Sorry to hear about the sugery, I wish you a speedy recovery. Mobile phones have always been a pain to talk with anyone, I tend to use mobiles as an emergency as opposed to everyday conversation. Cheaper on landline too. Thanks for your landline number, I'll give you a call in the 1st or 2nd week December and see how it goes.

It would be good to get a feed of sandies or muddies if they're in the vicinity.

Cheers. Peter

G'day Scott,

How's it going? I'll give you a call after the 3rd December, would like to get out and get a few sandies on Thursday if possible, depending on weather. Peter

Hi Peter,

I am sorry for giving you the run around, because I became sick the day, after I originally replied to your post, but the earliest I can have my follow up specialist appointment is not until Friday 7th Dec., so I shouldn't really be going out before that.

Maybe if your still interested we could work a trip for early January.

Yes I am frustrated having my new boat and not being able to use it, but my health comes first

Bondy - do you have some spots where you go to crab? what area are you based in?

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Ashe View Post
    Hi Peter,

I am sorry for giving you the run around, because I became sick the day, after I originally replied to your post, but the earliest I can have my follow up specialist appointment is not until Friday 7th Dec., so I shouldn't really be going out before that.

Maybe if your still interested we could work a trip for early January.

Yes I am frustrated having my new boat and not being able to use it, but my health comes first

No worries Scott, we can do that, I would be doing the same, one's health always comes first. See how it goes for January. Peter

G'day Miko1,

Sorry, but I don't have any spots as such, I know of a few places to try, i.e. up around Bribie passage shallow water sort of near the wreck. As for other areas would be somewhere near the pin or slipping sands or tiger mullet channel as a guess. I'm sure someone knows the spots but not saying publicly for good reason. I'm in Marsden, having said that I tend to travel large distances. Victoria Point, Bribie Island, etc. It;s all trial and error, if there's too much weed in the water then chances are it would be difficult to locate pots in case they go under due to weight of weed on rope etc.

If you're planning to go out next week after Tuesday, let me know. Peter

or do a search at www.coastwatch.com.au and check the latest fishing reports, there might be some mentioning of where sandies might be caught at. Peter

Hi Peter

Saw the doctor on Friday, got the all clear, so being keen like I am, hit the water at early saturday, headed to the banana banks and picked up around half a dozen sandies.

Maybe we could talk now, might be looking for a trip next week sometime.