Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Who Is Telling The Most Lies - And Who Is Going To Get Caught Out First

Re: Who Is Telling The Most Lies - And Who Is Going To Get Caught Out First

Derek, I like Big_Puff_Daddy am able to respect a point of view or an honest oppinion. What I can't hack is making bold, false, uneducated, misleading statements that may make others who don't have the time to investigate comments deeper, influence their oppinion on a matter that may effect them. The link you gave has nothing to do with The Shooters Party and to sugest that these sorts of people are pulling the strings behind the party is down right misleading.

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by Synful View Post
    Need proof of killing in excess of 30 people with a single car, look at the news every second day on what is happening in Iraq and the like. Admittedly this is with vehicles packed with explosives but sadly proof that it can be done.

It wasn't that long ago that a drunk in NSW ploughed into a group of 10+ teenagers and killed most of them. The numbers here are irrelevant in the end scheme of things; everything can be used to kill if used in the relevant way.

Sorry Pinhead, should have clarified that a bit better.
    I agree and believe that there is no need for anyone to have either a semi or fully automatic weapon with the lone exception of the military.

I just don't believe that removing a sporting past time from a group of people on the pre-tense that there is the potential to cause harm to others is a just reaction. There is a whole can of worms opened when we go down this road.

On the other hand I don't want to see it get to the point such as in the US where you can get a firearm by simply opening a bank account either. I believe that owning a firearm comes with great responsibility and that which should not be trusted to just anyone.

In any case, this is heading off into another debate which is totally off topic so I will leave it there.
    why does everyone keep saying that sporting shooting has been banned..that is crap..go and get a license and you can compete at sporting shooting events. You can go and hire a weapon for shooting at a range. I have nothing against anyone that wants to take up shooting as a sport..i am against what used to be available..all kinds of weapons at places like K Mart ..all you had to do was show a drivers license...and I am against semi and auto weapons.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Derek, I like Big_Puff_Daddy am able to respect a point of view or an honest oppinion. What I can't hack is making bold, false, uneducated, misleading statements that may make others who don't have the time to investigate comments deeper, influence their oppinion on a matter that may effect them. The link you gave has nothing to do with The Shooters Party and to sugest that these sorts of people are pulling the strings behind the party is down right misleading.

Cheers Chris
    Maybe it's you who needs to look a bit deeper. I said that link was about the gun lobby. Look at the characters, look at their backgrounds, look at other websites, read all of the documents out there. Not all of it's on the internet either. Do some real research like I have.

The Gun Lobby, The Sporting Shooters Association, The Shooters Party ~ all of the same ilk.

Quote Originally Posted by Derek Bullock View Post
    Maybe it's you who needs to look a bit deeper. I said that link was about the gun lobby. Look at the characters, look at their backgrounds, look at other websites, read all of the documents out there. Not all of it's on the internet either. Do some real research like I have.

The Gun Lobby, The Sporting Shooters Association, The Shooters Party ~ all of the same ilk.
    If thats not a biased bigoted statement I dont know what is! Its like saying all fishos are redneck fish killers or non Caucasians saying that all white people look alike. Or like Americans thinking that we have Kangaroos hopping down the main street or that we ride them to school.

The world is full of bigoted one sided, one eyed people, spreading their own particular brand of hate and vilification to all who will listen, making such statements puts the maker in the same category as those he makes the statements about!! Those who would enjoy a particular lifestyle whether it be fishing, camping, 4WDing and yes even shooting are having a hard enough time as it is without having those who choose not to participate in their particular pastime vilifying them.

Bigotry in any form is not research! It’s simply hate and only leads to more hate! At least thats my impression of your latest rants, little reason for a lot of irrational bias. You don’t do your argument any justice by making such unsubstantiated claims!

Hunta

Derek,

As a fisherman and a shooter I find your statements personally insulting.

T o suggest all shooters are rednecks is like saying Mick Doohan is in the same league as the hells angels , after all they both ride motor bikes.

I think you would be surprised at the number of shooters who are also fisherman, and most of my fishing mates also are shooters. To try and divide these two groups is politically dumb.

Well I don't beleive any amount of contry evidence would change Dereks opinion, it would be like talking to a brick wall. Derek if you have a great fear of guns then by all means don't leave the house and sit in your little bubble.

Thanks for the helpfull imput every one else.

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

The world is full of bigoted one sided, one eyed people, spreading their own particular brand of hate and vilification to all who will listen, making such statements puts the maker in the same category as those he makes the statements about!!
    Exactly my thoughts on the gun lobby.

Well I don't beleive any amount of contry evidence would change Dereks opinion, it would be like talking to a brick wall. Derek if you have a great fear of guns then by all means don't leave the house and sit in your little bubble.
    You obviously don't know me then.

As a fisherman and a shooter I find your statements personally insulting.
    If you are a law abiding citizen then you should be happy with your lot and not feel insulted.

As I said, I am totally against the gun lobby and everything they stand for and see no further need to comment on the point.

Hi Derek,

Sorry that his has caused a mini argument amongst ausfish members. I do respect your point of view just as much as respect the point of view from a sporting shooter. I guess this situation is like the rights to usage vs conservation arguement (not any other parallel other than opposing views) where we it divides the populous straight down the middle. Work Choices is a current political issue which does the same.

That said, there are an aweful lot of fisherman who also shoot and have shown support for the AFLP as for those people we have to speak on their behalf as it is our duty to do so as a political party. Rightly or wrongly pending each individuals ideology we did this, but as I said it would be wrong if we picked and choose our "outdoor lifestyle" partners - its all in or nothing and our overarching charter is to cover all forms of outdoor pursuits.

I hope once this is done and dusted and these threads are gone, we can still natter away about other things not as dividing.....like fishing!

I have had guns all my life, had service training, and a few things I am absolutely sure of. No guy without specialised training can shoot a AR15 assault rifle from the hip and hit 12 people in the head in 15 seconds. You reckon Martyn Bryant could do it, you try.
    I can't, but I can still hit 6 targets 6" diameter in 4.1 seconds with a Colt 45 pistol.
    Martyn Bryant didn't produce firearm residue, his prints were not found in the cafe and to cap this shooting thing off he is left handed. Which makes it harder when you shoot from the right hip. Just imagine the hand eye co-ordination necessary to do that horrible thing. Martyn was/is intellectually retarded, about 14 years old, and he did that. The only gun he ever owned was a air rifle.
    Then he demonstrated great skill with a FN308. Pretty smart guy Martyn.
    You only need to know very little about guns to know who ever it was, was very skilled and well trained, as was his partner.
    Please explain, how he was pleading not guilty to 78 charges, and would have got off until his folks visited and next day he was pleading guilty.
    He never did get a trial, and the evidence was never produced.
    The gun came from Victoria, was actually handed in to the Vic Police but ended up being sold by a gun dealer, How come.
    Anyway if it wasn't him, they never did look for who did it.
    But they were happy to rip guns off us honest blokes.
    Guns are not dangerous, no gun ever got off its bum and shot anybody, people kill people with guns. Thatsafact.
    Anyway after 20 years as a Union Rep, if anyone votes for Rudd and his mob they are nuts. The unions have about 15% of their past membership and are spending millions in an ad campaign and will, if Labor is elected, have a new Prime Minister in 6 months, ex Union and we will get shafted. Belierve it, you will get shafted. The unions are not in this thing for fun, they want their unions back on top and they will be back. Definitely. And if they have to shaft Rudd they will shaft him dead quick.
    He's there just to get Labor into Government, after than, the Unions will do their thing.
    Just wait and see.
    Cheers MaxG.

Interesting read max. Sorry but the last bit got boring. Liberal supporter by chance

I grew up around guns, did a lot of pest eradication on properties out west, and used to see no harm in shooting until one day my mate took aim at a pig, fired his rifle and watched his cousins brains fly out as he stood up in front of the scoped rifle. He was shooting from the rear ute tray, his friend in the drivers seat and stood up when he shouldn't. Accidents happen, but after that incident I want nothing to do with firearms.... each to their own, but I won't be supporting any pro gun lobby. RIP reidy

MaxG, your comments about Unions and Rudd are delusional.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Maxg,

So were the other 10 or so gun massacres before Port Arthur also the result of a conspiracy to restrict gun ownership? Presumably all the eye witnesses to Bryants rampage were conspiracy members too.

As to your other theory about Labor and the unions, how come was it that the last Labor government reduced the power of the unions? They did pretty well on increasing productivity and killing off inflation too with their introduction of enterprise bargaining.
    Last edited by billfisher; 07-11-2007 at 10:10 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    .i am against what used to be available..all kinds of weapons at places like K Mart ..all you had to do was show a drivers license...and I am against semi and auto weapons.
    I agree with you here pinhead.
    I remember as a 19 year old uni student buying a semi auto SKS 7.62mm and a hundred rounds of ammo in Sydney then catching the train back to Richmond (Western sydney) with it wrapped in brown paper sitting across my lap.
    I'm glad the laws have been tightened up now though.

Quote Originally Posted by Derek Bullock View Post
    I haven't been online or talking to anyone for a week due to a serious family illness that has turned out well

Derek
    I'm staying out of the debate, I just wanted to say I'm glad to hear things turned out well for your family member Derek.

Two quick points to make also.....

1. You can't get a gun here (US) with just a bank account. There are FOID cards, criminal and mental health background checks and waiting periods. Not sure who told you the bank account thing but it's false.

2. Hunta, we Americans don't think you guys ride Kangaroos to work. We know how fast they are on those bicycles. Plus, it would be way too difficult to balance yourself on their backs if their front wheel hit even a small obstruction in the road.

..........just trying to add a little levity. I know how emotional this topic can get.
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"

maxg = Max Gillies??? thanx for a good early morning laugh max...now go back under your rock