Thread: Fish ID please!!

Exclamation Fish ID please!!

This fish was caught in the fitzroy river, and we have no i dear what it is and we're hoping that someone can identify if for us.

JEKS
    Last edited by JEKS; 21-10-2007 at 11:59 AM.

Re: Fish ID please!!

It would be some kind of scat.

Jeks, it's a Spotted Scat.......Scatophagus argus.

Commonly called a Butterfish.

Cheers, Jeff

yer spotted scat, there almost identical to the ones at work, but they have half lines half spots

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Butterfish. DON"T get stung by them!!!! Nasty sting..................... (painful learning curve)

its either a butterfish or sickle fish. not really sure which one though

Butterfish I reckon. Caught heaps at night in the castie, but they look the same. As has been said, they have a nasty sting-and size doesn't matter!

Cuzza

yeah spotted Scat mate, quite an uncommon catch

The reason it doesn't have the half lines Cam is because its an adult and 99% of the ones in aquariums are juvenile. They would have a lot more red in them too the little ons.
    I have caught 2 of these in a cast net over the years, both of them were around 3lb. I have also caught many of the striped scat in all sizes, I even got a couple converted to freshwater

Brandon...

I was suprised to see a stack of banded scat for sale in my local fish shop last week. Branded 'qld dory', and I suppose they are close to a john dory.

Any body eaten one? I throw em back.