Thread: Targeting Spotted & School Mackerals

Targeting Spotted & School Mackerals

Hi All

I got all the gear and am hoping to do something I've never done before, target spotties or schoolies this summer, in the southern Moreton Bay. Wish I had't given away my old B&B magazines away.

But I was hoping some of you more experienced could give me advise.

1) Do you wait for the school up/down wind or up/down current?
    2) If you see someone already throwing slugs at them do you stay away or what's the best way to join them without spooking the school?
    3) Anything else I should be aware of?

Cheers, Castlemaine

Re: Targeting Spotted & School Mackerals

1) The general rule seems to be that the fish chase the bait into the wind - but this rule does not always hold true. The current and water depths is also likely to dictate the way the fish move. Generally when i'm out i try and position myself upwind of the feeding fish.
    2) Approach slowly and stay clear from the other boats - try and watch the school and anticipate what its doing before making chase. It really gets you mad when some boat comes up and drives straight over the school.
    3) If you annoy another boat off watch out for flying slugs. There is always an ongoing joke on my boat about throwing slugs at people that fish too close - the joke must have its roots in some truth.
    3b) Use light slugs in the bay , try and match the hatch. Anything over 40grams is likely to be too big. If casting at schools 20gram-30grams is a good place to start.
    3c) Make sure the gear you are using can wind the slug in fast - the macks tend to like fast moving slugs.

good luck,
    oddbudman