Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Are Holden Jackaroo's crap???

Are Holden Jackaroo's crap???

OK, so I know I want a turbo diesel and know that I'm looking at a Patrol, a Pajero, an older Landcruiser or a Jackaroo. But whilst investigating my father has had the mechanic he has used and trusted for 10 years tell him to stay away from Jackaroos. Admittedly, this mechanic isn't a diesel specialist and more your run of the mill family car guy, but good and trustworthy. He reckons all three (yes, I know, that's not many) have been bad and have been back and forth to the shop. Also he said parts were quite expensive.

So, my question is.......... has this guy been unlucky enough to deal with three lemons? or are Jackaroos decent and reliable enough.

I don't tow a huge boat so the fact that it is a little smaller than the rest doesn't faze me. I just don't want to drop 10-13k on a money pit of a 4x4

Thanks, Josh

Re: Are Holden Jackaroo's crap???

I used to work at a holden dealer, the sort of jackaroo you get for that kind of money would be as good as any pajero.
    the motors running gear are all isuzu so its good quality gear (if looked after) IMO.
    Some people say that the suspension is a little soft/ lopping around, i would tend to agree a little but a good set of shocks should fix most of it up.

the older square type Jackaroos tended to be rust buckets and no were near as good as the rounded/newer type ones.

IMO you can get a lemon in any car so you need to be careful and take your time when buying a car especially a 4X4.

hope this helps

neil

Just be aware of the injection system on the 3.0 Turbo Jackaroo is a HEUI system (designed by Caterpillar) These have been known to be problematic 1) the injector seals failed (this was subject to a recall) and 2) They require a specific engine oil to operate correctly due to the HEUI system. (Hydraulic Electronic Unit Injector) basically there is a hydraulic pump which uses engine oil to actuate the unit injectors and if the incorrect oil grade is used it can cause BIG headaches. Also if the HEUI pump (the actuator pump) fails it will cost you big $$$ to fix. The electronic part is the ECM which controls the injection operation. Like all things mechanical things can go wrong, but its better to be aware of potential problems BEFORE you go investing $$$ into someone elses problems. Having said that, a well maintained and correctly serviced T/D Jack is a very capable vehicle. Good luck with your choices.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Thanks guys, those are the kind of answers I'm looking for and what I thought may be the case.

And to ask another question along similar lines........... Is there any reason that Landrover Discovery TDi's seem to be fairly cheap? I have seen 1999 models for around 12k that looked (from photos) and sounded good. Do they just not hold their value or are they more of a "softroader" because I certainly don't want a soccer mum 4x4 as I do intend to use it semi seriously (sand boat launches, Fraser island and that sort of stuff.

Thanks again, Josh
    Last edited by flairj; 03-10-2007 at 01:57 PM.

The land rover is one of the most capable 4x4's you can get, probably only a "soft roader" when compared o a defender with its rugged good looks.

They just don't seem to hold their value, mainly due to quality control and publics perception of reliability.

mate the Disco is much more capable off road and in towing overall than a Jackeroo. The Tdi is going to cost a lot less I reckon to repair because, if nothing else, the injectors are of the low pressure variety. These high pressure injectors of the more modern diesels are going to cost people big time. Overall I prefer V8 discos on LPG, but the Tdis are competent also. The V8s put up big ks however and costs a lot less to overhaul when its time for a reco. The tdi reco starts at about $20-25k (and the more modern ones will be much more again).

...actually there is not THAT much difference off road between a defender and a disco - especially when the Disco is shod with larger and proper tyres such as 265/7016S...in fact there are times when the disco is better. The main reason for this is that the rear springs on the defender are usually a lot stiffer than the disco and it restricts articulation...But overall the defender has it because its got virtually no overhang at the rear and is naturally high off the deck. But you would be surprised at the 'percentage' difference between them off road and on road the Disco is a limo by comparison!

No - jackaroos are basically solid vehicles. I am on my third, a 3.5 V6. Pretty heavy on fuel but I am getting gas fitted very soon. The vehicle is a capable 4WD, tows well and is reliable. It is comfortable and can be a soft ride, but the right shocks sort that. I drive an Isuzu truck for a living and find that mob build strong, reliable vehicles. I am very happy.
    Last edited by Amberjack; 03-10-2007 at 05:45 PM.

Id steer clear of the jackaroo,there wouldnt be many factory produced cars that would out perform a disco.I also agree they are great value for money,you must by newer than 1994 though.

If your looking to do Fraser Island, in my opinion. Jackaroo's and pajero's wont cut it and you will get anoyyed when you cant make it through some tracks. eg... I have seen about 6 (almost brand new) hilux's with bent up side steps due to bad clearances and many pretent 4x4's ( rav4's, honda's etc..) bogged and have burnt out clutches (that i have had to tow all the way back to the barge). So in my personal opinion for sand and towing. Patrols are good but very very slow. Cruiser turbo deisels will be my bet for comfort and capability and they hold their value great. I dont know much about landy's. Ive never seen any up at the lighthouse. If they have enough power and the right tires they will make it.
    Can i ask why you have decided on a turbo deisel?
    BD

Well, I was looking at turbo diesel mostly because I was under the impression that they were the workhorse type engine that if looked after would last a long time but could handle towing fairly well.

I'm also wondering if a well maintained hilux surf is a good idea???

Ive grown up with diesel 4x4's and (i hate them now) laugh. I had 1 of my own but not for very long. Diesel is more expensive than petrol (it never used to be) and there is also only 1 pump at each servo (most of the time) and a line up of cars waiting to use it. And boy are they slow. Jump into a petrol model and your eyes will light up. Having said that they do last many many years. 400 000k's. If looked after. But if anything does go wrong they are 3 times more expensive to rebuild than the petrol. They do produce more torque at lower revs. Unless you where planning hardcore 4x4ing and crossing deep rivers. I would take the time to drive both petrol and diesel before committing to it.
    Mates of mine who used to race their cruiser diesels (standard diesels they turbo'd themselves) did as much as they could to them (bigger garret turbo's and intercoolers) lpg injection, custom exhausts. And it only even came upto my standard 4.5 petrol. They did get better feul economy than me but not by much. We compaired both of them on all the runs and even deep river crossings. Everything was eqaul. And they get annoyed servicing them every 5000 k's. They have all dumped the diesels now and run V8's.
    Diesels are good, but if youve never had 1 before... Then make sure its what you want before getting stuck with 1.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    If your looking to do Fraser Island, in my opinion. Jackaroo's and pajero's wont cut it and you will get anoyyed when you cant make it through some tracks. eg... I have seen about 6 (almost brand new) hilux's with bent up side steps due to bad clearances and many pretent 4x4's ( rav4's, honda's etc..) bogged and have burnt out clutches (that i have had to tow all the way back to the barge). So in my personal opinion for sand and towing. Patrols are good but very very slow. Cruiser turbo deisels will be my bet for comfort and capability and they hold their value great. I dont know much about landy's. Ive never seen any up at the lighthouse. If they have enough power and the right tires they will make it.
    Can i ask why you have decided on a turbo deisel?
    BD
    That's rot Ben sorry. I have deliberately tried to bog in by going into 2wd in loose sand to bog in and then gone back into 4wd and climbed out. I do Fraser once a year in my Pajero and have never been bogged or recovered. Last year I towed a very HEAVY trailer to Cathedral where we stayed and the track leading up to Cathedral campsite is nothing but loose sand. Someone in a 4wd up ahead got bogged in and left me with no choice to have to stop in the loose sand with the fully loaded trailer on the back. As soon as I stopped I felt the whole car and trailer sink in. So I was faced with a hill start in loose boggy sand with the fully loaded trailer on the back and guess what? No problems. She climbed out and no recovery was needed. I figure if I didn't get bogged then then there is very little that will bog me on Fraser. Most Ausfishers who have seen me in action with the Pajero probably would be inclined to agree.
    Now back to the Jackaroo, I know people who own them and take them on Fraser and they go hard and reliably. I know the early models had little or no appeal with their square shapes and probably had their fair share of problems but to me most 4wd's are capable. You just need to know how to drive them whilst in 4wd mode. EG: Correct tyre pressures in sand and mud etc.
    I have recovered a Prado, and a big mean Ford Maverick that both came unstuck because of the loose nut behind the wheel. As already suggested choose wisely and take your time. Personally because I drive a Pajero I can't say anything bad about them. A good choice for me would be the Pajero, Patrol, Navara, Landcruiser, Later model Jackaroo. Good luck with your choice.

Last edited by Poodroo; 05-10-2007 at 06:58 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by flairj View Post
    Well, I was looking at turbo diesel mostly because I was under the impression that they were the workhorse type engine that if looked after would last a long time but could handle towing fairly well.

I'm also wondering if a well maintained hilux surf is a good idea???
    G'day Flairj

I recently did a thread called "4 runners advice please" and got heaps of info off this site on them. Dunno how to create a shortcut to it but if you do a search you will find it.

I ended up buying a 95 4 runner for about half the price you are looking at, i am very happy with it. It tows the boat heaps better than the old falcon did and i am sure it will serve me well in the sand (fourth 4x4 i have owned). Like Poodroo said, most the time the problem is the loose unit behind the wheel not the vehicle itself.

I would steer clear of the imported surfs and look for the V6 aussie 4 runner if that is the path you want to take. Not as much power as the land cruisers but the way i look at it is i dont tow my boat to work every day so i would rather sacrifice a bit of power to save on the daily fuel economy.

Got to agree with Poodroo there. My In-Laws Pajero tows a 2tonne trailer on soft sand at North Straddy and Fraser with ease. And Poodroo has taken his completely stock Paj through some pretty tricky locations. Not happy that you didn't include Hiluxs' there though.

No problem with bent side steps Ben, that just means the missus won't complain when I finish the sliders I am making. And you are right about the Petrol/diesel Ben. A mate of mine with a TD Disco just did a fuel cost comparrison between his and a V8 Disco, over a year based on 25 000km the V8 only uses $1500.00 more in fuel. BUT... the diesel costs more than that in extra sefvicing/repair costs. And the V8 is a LOT cheaper to buy used.

I personally wouldn't buy a Disco, I love the Toyota's. And a 4Runner is definately worth considering.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line