Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Egrell Rods

Egrell Rods

Hey fellas,
    I've noticed in some recent threads that a few of you 'impoundment specialists' are using these rods.
    They're not familiar to me and I'm curious. Who makes them, where can I find them and what sort of coin are they worth? They're obviously a quality rod.
    I'm looking for something to put my Zillion on. Any advice would be welcome.

Cheers, Andrew

Re: Egrell Rods

Andrew,

Check out their website www.egrell.com.au I have two S-10H's and cannot speak highly enough of them. I had a huge unstoppable on the weekend that nearly dragged me under the boat and out the other side and the rod never once looked like doing anything it shouldn't, like breaking. They have great feel and are really well built.

I am not affiliated with the brand and have never met Eric (he is a member on this site - The Bear - and seems to know what he is on about). Just a happy customer.

Good Luck,
    Jason

yep eric grell (aka The BeaR) builds them, maybe he could tell you more, dont own one myself but have never heard a bad word about them, ive picked up a few and they feel great, good design also, i think i saw some of the spinning models for about $300-$350

Have noticed them at The Tackle Warehouse on my last two trips but not had a real lot of time to check them out as much as I would like. Look the goods though. Think there are 2 series The Bear and just the S series - maybe be wrong. Think the entry level is around $300 odd and can go up to high $400's.

Will investigate further on my next trip.

Quote Originally Posted by Finnatical View Post
    Andrew,

Check out their website www.egrell.com.au I have two S-10H's and cannot speak highly enough of them. I had a huge unstoppable on the weekend that nearly dragged me under the boat and out the other side and the rod never once looked like doing anything it shouldn't, like breaking. They have great feel and are really well built.

I am not affiliated with the brand and have never met Eric (he is a member on this site - The Bear - and seems to know what he is on about). Just a happy customer.

Good Luck,
    Jason
    Hey Jason,
    what reel and line were you using on your S-10H?

I Just Bought one today Egrell S2. I got the chance use one a couple of weeks ago chassing squire and was very impressed with the power these rod have. Dare I say my Loomis won't be getting as much use in the near future..

Thanks for all the response so far guys.
    I'm definately interested in checking these rods out. Do you reckon anywhere in Townsville or Cairns would have'm?

Sorry Jason, I should've checked out the website you gave me before asking where I could get my hands on one.
    Damb it!, I used to live 2minutes drive just down the road from The Tackle Wharehouse on Old Cleveland Rd.

G'day John,

I am using Shimano Sustain 4000's loaded with 20lb PE braid and fluro leaders from 20lb to 40lb depending on whats around, how finnicky they are etc. Great balanced outfit in my opinion.

Jason

Andrew and guys

I have Erics entire range of Barra EGrell baitcasting rods. I find them far superior to any other rod i have used, including Loomis IMHO. I have sold all my other impoundment rods to get Egrells. I am by no means an 'impoundment specialist' but I am privilaged to live so close to some magnificent impoundment barra dams, therefor get to fish them more often gaining more experience and knowledge each time.

I beleive if you have QUALITY equipment from the trebbles thru to the rod in your hand, you tip the balance in your favour when it comes to hooking and landing a potential fish of a lifetime. That applies to all forms of fishing I spose. Most of the info is on the Egrell website. As an addition I will write a little bit about the way I fish my rods for anyone interested.

B8-5 - 5foot 8' (8-10kg) blue color. I use this in heavy timber with any casting lure to really muscle fish out of and away from timber. being a bit shorter, it is good when you are casting around trees etc and has heaps of power. still light
    enough to cast all day.

B6-6 BeaR (6-10kg 6 foot) Bit longer and bit lighter. I use it for casting more open water or lightly timbered areas ie edges at awoonga or monduran perfect for lighter barra lures like B52s or plastics. Still has tonnes of power. (for the record it has landed my biggest monduran barra 114cm in scattered timber) Again, able to cast all day.

B8-6 BeaR (8-10kg 6 ft) Similar rod to above, better for casting heavier lures and using in heavier structure. Probably my more prefered rod for specifically targeting impondment barra. in particular the Awoonga big girls.!!

B6-L (6-10kg 6 foot 10") Longer rod!! Eric has designed this for chucking big plastics or lures to points and weedbeds etc. I have been using it for that same purpose and also to slow roll slick rigs over creek beds. Casts big gear miles!! Some blokes prefer using longer 7 foot rods too. this would be perfect for them as it still cast B52s and classic barras etc OK too.

hope this is a bit of help to someone.

regards steve

I very much agree with Steve and would rate the Egrell rods over my Loomis rods any day.

Jason

if only i could afford an egrell rod oooh i would catch more fish lol
    eric has done a great job as i have never heard anyone say a bad word about an egrell rod
    "True Blue"

I ordered my s10-h this after noon after doing plenty of research on a big plastics rod. Eric was very professional and very knowlegable aout his rods and fishing in general. Just good to see a local rod builder getting some recognition

Great rod the S10. Pulled my big cod the other week using 170mm Squidgie Slick rig. Big plastic and the rod handled fine. Primarily in use for Tuna and larger species and the odd deeper water snap sessions.
    Will be getting a run on the barra early December in Darwin.

Richie

[QUOTE]I ordered my s10-h this after noon after doing plenty of research on a big plastics rod. Eric was very professional and very knowlegable aout his rods and fishing in general. Just good to see a local rod builder getting some recognition
    Ben[QUOTE]

DAMNN lucky you if only i had the $$$$dollars$$$$ i would be able to buy me a nice rod
    "True Blue"