Thread: Holographic paint??

Holographic paint??

G'day all

Any spray painters among us?
    I've been looking at soem fancy reel seats that have that metallic paint that changes colours from different angles.

Just wondering how hard the stuff is?
    Was considering air brushing it onto a reel seat and maybe giving it a coat of epoxy if the standard clear wouldn't stand up to handling.

Wonder how a whole rod would go in this stuff?
    Would it fall off as soon as you bent the rod?

Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Re: Holographic paint??

Hey mate have a look at these.
    http://search.ebay.com.au/_W0QQsassZpoutyscustompaints2
    I'm going to have a yarn with this dude when I go out to Warwick next.
    I reckon you can mix them into the resin
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I picked up a bottle of holographic paint flakes on ebay.

I have been mixing a small amount of the flakes in with the two-pack final clear coat on my lures & the result is fantastic, especially when the sun hits the lure.

The fish just about jump into the boat after them too.

Cheers - Lou
    Timber lures - just bung 'em in the water mate & hang on !!!

chrome ellusion, camellion, ect are all cob systems. ie the colour is only colour provides no protection at all. a quality 2k clear is needed to give it the gloss and protection.
    and its friggin expensive!!!!!!!!!
    a litre of automotive quality paint is around a grand a litre, depending on colour.
    i seen a cheaper option at super-crap auto the other day, called chrome fx from memory came i two aersol cans. maybe an option. i'd just check with maufactuors if an epoxy is a suitable top coat!

Here's some other smicko paints and stuff
    http://alsacorp.com/index.htm
    There's an agent out Rocklea way.
    Do you know that mob Lippa??

nah mate, i hadn't. looks to be some pretty trick stuff though.

you could also try http://www.houseofkolor.com.au/

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Hey mate have a look at these.
    http://search.ebay.com.au/_W0QQsassZpoutyscustompaints2
    I'm going to have a yarn with this dude when I go out to Warwick next.
    I reckon you can mix them into the resin
    So you'd just mix these flakes in the epoxy??
    Or would a two pack acrylic clear like lou uses be better?

That's the go.
    I'm sure the proper paint like Lippa says would be better, but the price precludes it

Let me know what you reckon of it Scott!
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

I reckon it would be six of one 1/2 dozen of the other matey.
    When I know you'll know eh

you can get it in aerosol.
    can also buy it by the litre. there are 3 options. each option has different colours.
    i can get it for around $500 per litre. looks a treat if applied on the right thing. flat surfaces not real flash. more curves the better.
    as lippa said, no protection in colour as only a base. need a 2pac clear over.
    No need to spend the $1000 litre for standox or ppg or $1500 litre for glasurit.
    just pm me if you want any further info.

greg

Scott you bought some flakes from the guy on ebay right? How did they go?
    I remember Owen mentioning that you had and that one of them did not work to well.
    sandyd

Mate I tried one of them yesterday.
    Sorry for the delay...haven't been the best of late.
    I got the Caribbean Gold (used it yesterday), the purple to green shifter, some gold holo flakes and some glow in the dark powder of that dude in the link.
    I tried them in the resins but they looked like crap except the holo flakes and they look really good (if you like sparkles that is).
    The glow in the dark works okky dokky as well.
    The Caribbean Gold hasn't got a real distinct colour change but it's there. It really made a difference to the finished colour on what colour is underneath.
    I used white etch primer and where the colour was sprayed on the white it went blue and where it was still black (up where the foregrips go) it went a goldie colour.

I have to put a coat of clear over the rod I did yesterday and will post a picture.
    One thing for sure...if any bugger pinches your rod it's going to stick out like me in a fairy convention.

Interesting enough the rod I tried it on came from the markets (again) and when I pulled it apart it was a hastings blank....UR601MHXF. Well worth the $3.
    It's going to be another assembly of experiments. I'm trying another inlay butt and foregrip on it.

PS I have that parcel of timber for Owen...just have to get it to freight. Yeah I know I'm a slacker

starting to get ideas for the tinny,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, glow in the dark,,,,

this ain't holographic,,,, its an illusion,,,,, but still has the effect

this has bugger all to do with the question at hand,,,, but a sparkly tinny
    Last edited by choppa; 19-09-2007 at 09:32 AM.
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Hi Guys
    this might be only partly related to the thread.
    My eyes are getting crook and I have trouble in low light seeing the rod tip.( Cant see it at all in the dark)
    I want to put some reflective / glow in dark coating on the top 6-8 inchs of some of my rods.
    Would paint stay on such a flexible part of the rod.?
    if so whats the best type to use?
    That fluorecing powder in the link looks like it might be good !!! Would adding a coat of epoxy to the tip stuff up the action of the rod??
    thanks in advance for your advice,,, sorry if Ive hijacked the thread, pm me if Im too off topic.
    rando

I tried some glow in the dark on a rod tip just mixed up in some flex coat and worked well. I don't think it would affect the action that much and it will affect it to a degree I suppose.
    This stuff does loose it's glowing ability after a while.
    I suppose that's another experiment to see how long it glows for

Choppa mate...you should see the sparkles....Just ask Great White or Herm
    The pictures are some I just took....
    I put some sparkles in some resin I had mixed up and I tried some on the Stanley knife. The pictures don't purvey the true sparkleness of them.
    Dr has some leftovers of that that I put on some jigheads just to add some sparkle
    Cheers Scott
    Last edited by finga; 19-09-2007 at 12:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    I tried some glow in the dark on a rod tip just mixed up in some flex coat and worked well. I don't think it would affect the action that much and it will affect it to a degree I suppose.
    This stuff does loose it's glowing ability after a while.
    I suppose that's another experiment to see how long it glows for

Choppa mate...you should see the sparkles....Just ask Great White or Herm
    The pictures are some I just took....
    I put some sparkles in some resin I had mixed up and I tried some on the Stanley knife. The pictures don't purvey the true sparkleness of them.
    Dr has some leftovers of that that I put on some jigheads just to add some sparkle
    Cheers Scott
    the sparkles on the jigheads looks really great, will catch fisherman as well as fish
    Tried to take some pics for you Scott, but they don't show the effect..