Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: Shimano Stella & Diawa Saltiga - WHY?

Re: Shimano Stella & Diawa Saltiga - WHY?

I drive a 1981 volvo 240gl for almost 10 years. great car !! do you think K200$ bentely worth the money??? LOL

All these sites you see guys catching 30+kg GT's, and what do they say you catch these GTs with? $1000 reels, because these are the only reals that will catch these fish right? It seems like one big advertisment saying, buy this reel and you can catch fish like this.

whats confusing me is, i can totally respect and understand paying $1000-$2000 for something like a penn international or a Shimano Tiagra, where you can see its well worth it when your pulling out a 500kg+ marlin, where you have a good drag system, dual speed and you have that security of knowing the reel will do its job, but with a spinning real? is it really the same?

I guess its something i will never understand why someone would pay that much money, i guess i dont catch 30kg GTs on my week ends to really know?

But if i did i think my penn would do just fine

I"ved used both the penn 950 with custom alloy handle and shimano 10000 & 20000 but the penn had no balance compared to the stellas.Ive seen a 6500 baitrunner twist under load.
    ex; I loaned my boss a shimano torsa to use for the day deep sea fishing who has never deepsea fished before. He then purchased a new $54000 outfit.With this TLD's 25 with live fibre 15-24kg outfits.
    He hooked something large which got away after 45 minutes. He told me the next day what happened and stated "your gold reel was so smooth compared to the TLD"s now i know the difference between good and average gear"
    I havent used a zeebass or van staal yet but that may change soon.
    Food for thought.
    Graham

Quote Originally Posted by Astro View Post
    .....It seems like one big advertisment saying, buy this reel and you can catch fish like this.

whats confusing me is, i can totally respect and understand paying $1000-$2000 for something like a penn international or a Shimano Tiagra, where you can see its well worth it when your pulling out a 500kg+ marlin, where you have a good drag system, dual speed and you have that security of knowing the reel will do its job, but with a spinning real? is it really the same?
    Mate, if you have felt just how good they feel yuo would understand.
    Try locking yourself up on a 20kg+king or even a 10kg+ GT on both outfits, and you will understand the difference when the penn reels leg breaks or the spool crushes or the balance is hurting your arms instead of a fish.

Its simply like comparing a ferrari to an old commodore. The commodore will live for years just like the ferrari but given the opportunity, i wouldnt be sitting in the commodore...or a goddamed holden as long as there is something more comfortable to use.

Its funny, the people who know wont ask questions, but theres nearly no point in answering a question like this as if you dont see the difference now, you never will
    its like preaching to the deaf

Astro

I own a couple of Spinfishers and I love them for what they are, rough but strong and reliable. But there are probably guys out there who use reels half the price of the penns who think I paid too much for a reel.
    Top end reels have a lot of good quality bearings in every nook and cranny. Ball bearings make a reel last longer and run smoother, AS LONG AS THEY ARE MAINTAINED PROPERLY.
    Some of the top end Shimanos and Daiwas probably have around $450.00 worth of bearings alone.
    There are a lot of people who will always pay for the best, because they can.

Very True

So the guys that are using the saltigas and Stellas, do tell what kind of fishing do you guys do? and what kinda of fish are you pulling out, and i mean the day to day stuff, not the end of the year xmas getaway trip.

I hope im not offending anyone with these reals? I just wanted to know why they are using these types of reals compared with others.

G'Day Astro,

I am a big fan of spinfishers and I do believe that a 9500SS can cope with nearly any fish... provided that the fish isn't heading for the bottom!!!

The main difference (imo) between a reel like the Penn and the Stella or Saltiga is that the latter can take 10-15Kg of drag time and time again. Combine that with high-speed retrieve and presto, you have a reel that not only helps catch the fish but can also stop it (most of the times!!!) and remains incredibly smooth throughout the fight.

Does that justify the BIG bucks? Obviously it depends on 1. your budget, 2. how seriously you take your fishing. I guess that for most people the answer would be no, but others will swear that it's money well spent. No need to throw stones at each other.

quality, its as simple as that, doesnt everyone here buy something for its quality, and the quality of those reels is the best, but with quality also comes cost for the high standard of build. people will also buy the best quality they can afford, and if its good enough to last the test of time wont its life justify its cost, i.e shimano reels come with a 10 year warranty, now say you got a large stella, and use it about 10 times a year for an array of big game spinning, it should last its 10 years no prob and so for every trip you make or use it, it really would only cost you $10 per trip for ten years. now im sure they can last alot longer than that considering their build, but take a reel of lesser quality, with a warranty not that long, its cheaper and its components arent as good, so it could break under the same strain as a stella can handle, now you may have only paid half or a third of the price but you may have to buy more than one in 10 years of fork out money for services or spare parts that have become faulty. this is just another way of justifying the cost fo one of these. i can also tell you i would get a stella in any of the smaller reels like the 1000 because of this also, it will last 10 years and if it doesnt i get it fixed under warranty.
    if you want a jaw drop have a look at abel fly reels, now they cost more than these spin reels!

IMO the extended warranty put on any thing is not worth the paper its written on, warrenty only covers failure of compents and will soon be discarded if at all possible, maybe the ingress of water, maybe over lubing etc. I am by no means knocking these reels because they are in the top of the field so they should be good but sugesting people not buy something purely because of a long warranty.

Quote Originally Posted by reggy View Post
    Astro

Some of the top end Shimanos and Daiwas probably have around $450.00 worth of bearings alone.

Reggy

Like you i agree that the stellas and saltigas are the ducks nuts and yes i would pay the dollars they are asking!

I point out the above quote though, while the bearings are good they are not made of platinum, and i would be very supprised market value would be little over $10 , i know shimano would charge alot more but if you got the bearings specs, you could sorce these through any bearing dealer for a MUCH better price,.You would probable find you would get the same bearings just not badged shimano. I few years ago i met one of the head guys from shimano japan and after a fair bit of talking , he mentioned to me that i cost shimano about $9 US to make a Tld 25 and package it for sale. At the time tld's were selling for around the$295 aus Most of shimano's money was going on marketing, this is true with most big company's eg nike. I would be very supprised if shimano isn't makeing a stella in the box ready for sale for under$50 us and i think i'm being generous with that figure.

The value is not what it cost to be made though, it's what the reel can do and other reels of similar quality are a similar price.

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I recently purchased a Saltiga Expedition.
    It is the nicest reel I have ever used and owned and I am a firm believer that if you want to mess around with the likes of a 30kg amberjack these are the only reels to do the Job along with the Stellas.
    I went for the expedition based on the fact I was told internally they are the better reel and looks wise they beat the Stella...IMO.
    I am told the Stellas have the marginally better drag but I am happy with my purchase.......Its a dream to Jig with.

Yes I think they are worth the $$$$$

no one has yet told me when they last jigged a 20KG Kingie with their Stella, it has so far only been what someone saw on an add or fishing show! if you don't give a fairies fart about the gear ,becuase it was given to you, and you are in some exotic location with big fish every where, you could catch some on a Kmart combo, you might stuff up a few reels, but you edit that bit out! by the way, I am not saying it is not done or the Stella is not a good reel, it is just a case of advertising making you think if you spend the dollars the fish will just be leaping on your 37KG of drag reel, which I reckon would yank you clean out of your $400 Rockport boat shoes, or at the very least, your eyeballs would bulge out so far your $500 bole' sunglasses would fly overboard.
    Last edited by Noelm; 14-08-2007 at 02:35 PM.

Noelm, have a look around the net, most of the jigging fanatics all have their own specialised sites.
    Personally i dont have a boat at the moment so canot justify just for a reel of that calibre. And yes, 37kg of drag HAS pulled guys out of boats.
    Alot of the charter industry uses primarily saltiga and stella reels for their quality.
    send flickflack a pm and ask what he's jigged up lately off tweed.
    check out this website http://www.shorefire.com.au I know they're on christmas island but they're not using penn spinfishers or the cheaper alternative.
    Ill source a few pics for you from my neighbour who has 3 stella 20,000's. He uses them about once or twice a fortnight and REGULARLY gets kings between 15-25kg. He's here on the northcoast of nsw and i can tell you, if you lived here you wouldnt think that calbre of fish was possible.
    Ill say it again though, i can hardly see the point in writing what i am as i can clearly see that you have already made your mind up for yourself that they are not worth it around you're area. (goldcoast/brisbane im assuming?)

never said that those fish are NOT around, I have caught them myself, I was just stating that some of the posters here have just dished up what they have seen on TV and adds, and except for my Stella, I guess they are great reels, but I STILL reckon they are not woth the money, lets use the old Spinfisher as a benchmark, because that seems to be what all the other posters are saying they have, has ANYONE had one fail for any reason on a fish(except neglect or run over by a car or something)then we will see if they are worth the huge price they ask for them, someone way back said let me see you catch a 20KG Kingie on a Spinfisher, so I asked him for his last 20KG kingy on HIS Stella, never got an answer, thats all I am saying, not that you cannot catch those fish, you can!

and probably the best ever spinning reel would be the old 499 pro Mitchell, they will outlast even a spinfisher, and you just could not get anything more simple than them!