Thread: Lenthalls Dam

Lenthalls Dam

Has anyone fished Lenthalls lately, Interested to know, Go on Holidays Monday, will check the wheel bearings and head off, may very well be waisting my time with this cold snap, any info would be appreciated, Cheers Whitto

Re: Lenthalls Dam

hey whitto,
    this time of year the bass are schooling up in deeper water can be great fishing. you will get the odd barra thrown in if your lucky. if its barra your chasing head to the shallow bays and find the warmer water.

Thanks for that Mate, Had a look at Paul Dolan web page and he said the same thing with the Bass, The shallows or small bays would be the go with the Barra, Havn't been to Lenthalls for sometime, may head during next week, Which road is the best at the moment, The Northern or the Southern, last time I took the Northern road and it was reasonable, Cheers Whitto

Was up there a fortnight ago, 140 Bass on live shrimp in 3 days.
    No barra seen, although had a run that we reckon was a barra.

ide be taking the northern road mate. its always better and alot shorter.

Thumbs up Re: Lenthalls Dam

Thanks L/B, Usually use the Northern Rd, just trying to find the best rd to date, not real sure what rain has been falling in that area, slow as you go is the order of the day, Thanks Mate , Cheers Whitto

Fished lenthalls today in electric comp. Quite a few Bass caught but possibly a bit slow in the cold weather. Saw a few dead Barra and a few struggling on the surface. The western arm held most fish and the northern road is rough , just take it easy. Remember outboard regulations still in force. Gaz

Northern road is in worse condition than Southern road which is relatively smooth and is undergoing some maintenance.

Bass are schooling. Barra are shutdown with the extremely cold windy conditions we are experiencing. The odd Yellabelly is still appearing.

4 knot speed limit on the water.

20 km/hr speed limit in the rec grounds.

6hp outboard is the maximum allowed on the lake.

No camping anywhere at the lake, however QPWS camp grounds are available at nearby Wongi Waterholes.

Say Gday when you get here, there are plenty of places around here to catch a fish.

James

Thumbs up Re: Lenthalls Dam

Thanks James, Will be up there Sunday or early next week, Saw some recent photo's and things are looking great around the Impoundment, (fairly flash Rangers House as well), anyhow hope to catch up with you if possible, Cheers Whitto

Hi James,

Any more news on the outboard restrictions?

Heading up to Rocky later this month and was thinking of spending a couple of hours there.

Trouble is I run a25/4 on the back end of the tinny.

Hi James,
    Was wondering if by any chance you know when camping will be available at the lake?

Cheers B8.
    The underlying spirit of angling,Is that the skill of the angler,Is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish,And that the latter is entitled to an even chance for his life. Regards, Hardb8.Kickin tails and razin scales since 1979.

At this stage all restrictions are still current. When I am told by the bosses Ill be sure to post any changes ( if any ) for all to see.

James

Hi James,

Thanks for the update.

Hopefully the relaxation of the restrictions are not too far off.

Any more dead barras due to the cold?

Quote Originally Posted by Luc View Post
    Hi James,

Any more dead barras due to the cold?

No, seems to be all over.

James

Hi James how many barra died due to the cold? Have herd a few diffrent stories ranging from a few to a few thousand.

Cheers Tod