Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: DIY Downrigger?

DIY Downrigger?

Hi team

I am wondering if any one has gone about setting up their own downrigger. I have gone out and picked up a bomb and clip after using a mates very basic rig, I mean measure out depth of venetian blind cord and tie her off basic, worked though!! A bit on the tricky side when it came to doing it all on you own. Pretty handy myself I am a fitter by trade so I don't mind elaborate ideas if any body has had a go themselves.

Then again, is a basic off the shelf set up good enough, is it worth the trouble?

I was wondering how deep you can use these things, I am looking at 1.2mm SS wire to set up with and was wondering what length I need to buy.

Thanks Glenn

Re: DIY Downrigger?

You could just sew some coloured thread around the cord every metre or so... (Maybe thick red band for every metre, and thin black band for half metre).

Thats actually an interesting idea though... Had never thought about that. Would be a really neat way to do one up for a kayak!

When I looked at making a downrigger, I looked at doing a proper job and then costed it out and decided to look at importing one instead - which I did.

The problem with spending any serious money on making one is that it probably won't have the features that you can get on a manufactured product, especially the safety features and when you are done with it, no one will buy it from you anyway so whatever you spend is dead cash.

By contrast, import one from Cabelas in the USA and it will cost you about 40% of what the things are to buy in Australia, the quality of product is terrific and much better than what you will make yourself, it is resaleable so you have not done all your dough on the exercise, and when I did my sums, the cost was not much more than what I was going to spend making a really good one.