Thread: Nissan patrol 3.0l TD vs 4.2

Nissan patrol 3.0l TD vs 4.2

hi all,
    would be intersted in others opinions.
    i am currently in the hunt for a second hand partol wagon. i have narrowed it down to probably the 4.2 deisel
    there aren't many 4.2's on the second hand market, but heaps of 3.0td.
    what is the engine life like on the 3.0td
    i will be keeping it for a fair while, which is why i am looking to the 4.2
    any thoughts appreciated
    dazza

Re: Nissan patrol 3.0l TD vs 4.2

4.2 any day. There is a good reason why 3.0 are forsale. Look at the 4wd forums. Leigh
    http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Defaul...an+3.0+&sd=&ed=

http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10
    Last edited by lee8sec; 10-03-2007 at 08:33 AM.

dazza,
    i have a 3.0td. They both have similar power levels but drive very differently. If your doing a lot of towing get the 4.2, its got a great reputation for reliability and will do it easier. 4.2s are hard to find

As for the 3.0td, theres issues on their engine reliability early on ( 2001/2002 with a lot of motors blowing), 2003 onwards Nissan did a fix. On some general 4wd forums, scaremongers reckon its still a timebomb waiting to go off etc but on the specific nissan patrol forum you will get a lot of info/surveys etc....which shows the true picture, ie problem fixed ( considering how many 3.0tds running around now in Navaras/Patrols).

Also mind you there a plenty of 2001/2002 models still running around with high klms now, but like i said your best not to look at those.

Ive driven both, if you do mostly blacktop, some beach and off road then the 3.0td is fine, if your doing a lot of towing id go the 4.2. Both are great trucks. The 3.0td has a bad rep from its early problems and i suppose the jurys out for a few years until some trucks get into the 300/400 klms but can you wait that long?

mike

Hi Dazza

I have a 4.2 that I turboed with a turbo Dynamics kit inc oil coller and timer and its very solid and with cruise control will cruise or tow all day.

The un turboed 4.2 was prone to drop speed when travelling up long slow inclines so one needed to change down but with turbo and on cruise control will sit on 110 or 100 up and down slopes.

Very strong motor (built with turbo in mind) and the gearbox is also very solid.

Dont have much experience with the 3.0 but it would seem that 4.2 s are harder to find for good reason.

If you can find an older un turboed one the odds are that for another 3 to 4 k for a turbo you could get a useful tractor that is comfortable to tow and cruise with.

I forgot the seats and the coil suspension and air con. I used to do 2,000km runs in 19 to 20 hrs and get out of mine feeling I 'd just been down the street for some milk. Cannot praise the comfort enough.

Good luck in your hunt if you decide to go 4.2 ST Patrol with add on turbo kit with mandrel bend 2.5" exhaust too, mine was a kit sent from (see link) http://www.dencodiesel.com/aboutus.asp and fitted by me and a diesel injector pump specialist who adjusted the pump to 7 lb boost only so the Patrol will out live me.

What could go wrong.......................

thanks heaps guy's
    chimo
    you must have been reading my mind.
    was thinking of fitting a turbo and 2.5" exhaust.
    did you do your own?
    was it difficult? i don't have much mechanical expertise
    just need to find a 4.2. seems like people never sell them. not in any rush and have the $$$ ready to go, so when the right one comes up for the right money i am ready to go
    dazza

Hi Dazza

When I researched this stuff I found the diesel injector pump guy who put me onto the setup http://www.wholesalenet.com.au/viewp...roductID=57601.

He basically got me to fit it and oversaw what I did and at the end set up the pump with a lot of road testing as well instrument based adjustment.

When I asked him why I was paying him and I was installing it he said it was so if it ever broke down I'd know what the problem was and how to fix it. I've never had to find out if he was right as it still going strong on a GQ buuilt in '89 and tubo fitted in about '92 with about 60 k on it

The schwitzer turbo at the heart of the Delco / Turbo Dynamics system is bigger than the some of the other units and the oil cooling seems to work fine. It never turns off without at least 1 min run down cooling on the timer with 3 or 5 mins after any high temp / high speed towing etc. Its als worthwhile fitting an engine oil cooler when you fit the turbo. ( even with a manual transmission)
    4.2 Patrols are around and if you can get one from country VIC or NSW you will avoid rust issues . The rear sliding glass area is the spot to watch. These need to be kept washes to keep salt etc out.

PM if you want to have a look or want more info or some Patrols

Hi Dazza,

A mate of mine has a 2003 3.0l. It tows my 2.7t boat without problems, though it can be hard to get off the mark, particularly on an incline. Need to ride the clutch a bit to get it moving, which obviously isn't good.

When the time came for me to buy a 4wd, the advice I got was for heavy towing, go the 4.2, so I did. I've now got a 2005 4.2TD GU. When I first got it I was disappointed at the way it drove around town, and on the highway with the boat I'd need to stay in fourth with the foot flat to the floor to maintain 100kmh.

So, I took it to Motsons who fitted the stage 2 power up kit and have never looked back. I got a 43% power increase and a 33% torque increase. Around town and towing is no longer a problem. Not exactly sure how they do this though I do know they replace the turbo, fitted a 3" exhaust and adjust the fuel pump. I also had a timer fitted.

thanks for the info guy's, it is very helpfull, i have found a couple, and still have to contact another guy that has one for sale.
    plobably leaning towards a straight 4.2, as it will probably have around 200k on the clock, will drive it for awhile then hopefully get a turbo fitted with a bit of a rebuild, then should last me a long time.

dave,
    i have done a bit of towing with the 3.0td, father in law has one, he has upgraded the chip and it pulls 2.8tonne pretty well

i won't be doing huge amounts of heavy towing (even though i would love to) probably a couple of long trips a year, the boat ramp is only a couple of minutes drive from home, so the motor will hardly be warm.
    i will be in the next few years going away for at least 6 months towing a camper trailer, christ knows how much gear i will have, probably alot, 3 kids, tinney etc etc, thats when the turbo will go on
    dazza

Interesting comment from Dave /Alchemy about initial disapointment with factory turbo.

I test drove the factory nissan turbo and I too didn't find it too exciting.

I guess that where the bigger turbo is a lot more responsive, even with only 7 lb boost which ensure the motor lasts without any problems to its reliability.

I guess thats why when I stared the schwitzer (bigger ) turbo was recommended to me as my advisor knew I was into power.

What turbo do "Motsons" fit with their kit and where are they located?

Thanks in advance

Hi Chimo,

I'm not sure which turbo Motson uses, but I think its a Garret. Almost certain it is the same as the factory turbo, but "respeccified" - whatever that means. I recall asking about boost when I had mine fitted and I think they leave it pretty much as standard too.

Sorry that I can't be more specific. Give them a call direct. They are at Coopers Plains and Springwood in Brisbane.

Hi Dave

Thanks Dave for the info.

How do you respecify a turbo ( tell it to spin faster or slower or what?)

I think when I was looking to fit the turbo to the standard 4.2 Patrol the garret was one I looked at and they are smaller than the schwitzer which is what turbo dynamics or should I say Denco Diesel have in their kit. The injector pump guy who fitted mine was adament about 7lb or there about to make the set up trouble free and it seems so far he was right.

Mines done more than 100,000km and touch wood it seems fine and I've done nothing other than use the timer and give the truck regular oil changes as the turbos oil cooled.

Chimo, in answer to the term respecify, they use the standard turbo housing, pull the guts out, boar it out, add larger ceremic blades, bearings etc.
    Im not fully up with everything they do but that's roughly it ...foxy
    Last edited by dfox; 15-03-2007 at 08:18 PM.

The factory 4.2 in the GU is a gutless pig. It is very slow off the mark and has nothing under 2000rpm.
    To get them to go good they require the exhaust turbine changing, rework the outlet elbow, larger exhaust, advance of the fuel injection timing etc. Costs a lot of dollars.
    The clutch in the GU is alos a bitch.
    The GQ was a much better truck and the straight diesel in the GQ would eat the turbo 4.2 GU.
    Can't comment on the 3.0l, never driven one. But done over 500 000k's driving Nissan utes over the last 10 years.
    Last edited by Reel Hard; 16-03-2007 at 06:53 AM.

Hi Reel Hard

As a GQ 4.2 diesel (with added complete tubo kit ) owner who has had little to do with the GU your insight gives me one more reason to stick with what I've got and not even consider any move to "upgrade" .

I did however find the straight 4.2; before I put the turbo on, a little challanged, even without the boat on, when climbing long slow inclines. Fitting the tubo fixed this and now even with it in top gear with the cruise control on it now eats these without missing a beat.

Thanks for your comments, you have made me and the "Boss / accountant" even happier!

hi all,
    thanks for the info,
    i think i have found a pretty decent 4.2
    have already started to work on the "minister of war and finance" that it will need a "Bit" of an overhaul in a couple of years
    will let you know how i get on
    dazza