Thread: GPS Chartplotter info

GPS Chartplotter info

Hi,
    I have posted this topic in electronics as well as here because there seems to be more traffic in this forum, I hope no one minds.
    I am considering a GPS chartplotter and would like some feedback form people who own, or had experience with any of the following units.
    Did you buy locally or import from OS.
    Thanks in advance.

Lowrance Globalmap 5300iGPS
    Navaman 5380 GPS/Chartplotter
    Standard CP 180 GPS/Chartplotter
    Garmin GPSMAP 420/420s
    Garmin GPSMAP 292 GPS Chartplotter
    Eagle Intellimap 500C GPS
    Hummingbird 755c 5" GPS/Chartplotter

Re: GPS Chartplotter info

If you like Garmins - have you looked at the 172 C?

I personally would recommend Raymarine or Furuno.

Thanks True Blue,
    My Budget and very recreational use can't justify the higher cost of those units unfortunately.

Think maybe the garmin 172c is just the sounder,178c is the combo unit.
    This is the cheapest of the Garmin combos.
    Mine cost $740 delivered from the states.
    As for how it compares to the others on your list,I dont know.
    But I'm very happy with it.

cheers Scott

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Think maybe the garmin 172c is just the sounder,178c is the combo unit.
    This is the cheapest of the Garmin combos.
    Mine cost $740 delivered from the states.
    As for how it compares to the others on your list,I dont know.
    But I'm very happy with it.

cheers Scott
    172 C is the Chartplotter by itself - not a depth sounder (Upgradeable to a combo if desired...)
    http://www.garmin.com/products/gpsmap172c/

Try various importing options to see how much you can get a good unit for from overseas before dismissing them and buying a cheaper unit / model in Australia.

Some people like combos, but I reckon that no matter how good the unit is they are frustrating to use. Much better IMO to have a separate unit for the sounder and chartplotter.

Sorry,I misread the initial post.thought he was looking for a combo unit.

cheers Scott

Thanks Disorderly and Trueblue.
    I agree with you Trueblue about the use of separate units. I currently have a B+W Hummingbird sounder and am happy with what I use it for. Not much of a fisherman but like knowing where the bottom is.
    I had considered the 172C but I think by the time it lands here plus the cost of a local card it busts my limit.

No worries mate - every bit of boating is a compromise, because no matter what our budget, there is always something better that we would all like - its always greener on the other side of the fence...

Hi I looked around everywhere and found a navman 5380 in SA off the internet but the screens are small for an extra couple of $$ I got a Navman 5505i from ###### imports for $650 delivered from the US.

No Hassles.

Took about a week and I love it its the best I have seen, Just need to buy a Cmap max card.

email me for the details if you want.

i have a navman 5505 w cmap card, and it really is an exelent gps, colour 5" screen easy to use would definatly recommend it.