Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Awoonga overload

Re: Awoonga overload

Hi Theo,
    It would seem that Tinaroo fame is over and now it's time for other acts to preform.
    Unlike Tinaroo and most other barra impoundments, Lake Awoonga has it's own fish hatchery.
    The other major draw card of Lake Awoonga is that "NO Freshwater Stocking Permit" is required.
    That's right, it's totally free to fish.
    All the public facilities are free, except for the Lake Awoonga Caravan Park that many ausfish members have recently given the thumbs down due to double bookings and such like but the Boyne Bush Camp is cost free for campers so that means that families can experience the total barra holiday at Lake Awoonga at no commercial or taxable government cost.
    Lake Awoonga is 6,791ha and can hold 777,000 ML when full, so Ian, I think your info is a bit out of date.
    As for the current 2.5 million barra been stocked and continued stocking numbers of barra, that's a deal between a number of local agencies when Gladstone lost its foreshore access to commercial shipping wharfs, etc. We should not complain when industry gives something back as compansation to lost recreational angling. They could have given nothing and taken all.
    John.

Thanks for all the help and info boys. I'll let you know what the trip brings. By the way are there any redclaw?

hardb8

My take,
    # # # # # # Awoonga is a big dam and if ya can't find yaself a quiet spot you gotta be blind,No matter how many are on the water.As for the ramp what about good old fasioned manners?Wait ya turn,If ya can't I sudjest the sunken picnic table nearby for a cast.Look at the shore then use ya sounder.There's also a sunken rock wall not far from the ramp. But be carefull its' wrapped with wire to keep it together and lures are regularly lost.Packin ya rods,reels,lures and stuff away and gettin organised before you get there also helps.The caravan park is starting to get a bad rep from double booking sites,And rightly so,This is inexcussable!On a whole I reckon the the more people that visit the dams the less are hitting our wild stocks,Which I think are the most valuble Barra to us all.Our fish and our country both need to be looked after a bit more.Not to mention each other.What ever happened to,Ya need a hand mate,Or can I help with that cobber?It's the Aussie way!The way I was brought up anyhow.We as fishos gotta stick together a bit more,As we all share a passion and have common goals.

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #My two bob,For what it's worth. #

G'day John,

No way in hell is Tinaroo fame over - you and every other barra fanatic here should know what beasts come out of that dam, and sure things have been quiet for the past few years. But Tinaroo is going through a 'up-bringing' phase, getting those glory days back by continually stocking healthy young in numbers back into the dam. In a few more years time, you will see Tinaroo bringing back those big big fish that Awoonga have been producing day in, and day out. Awoonga will go the same path...

As for that 'free fishing' at Awoonga, thats where its gonna tail away. I think it definetely needs a permit per fishermen, every other large dam has it, and it keeps those specific dams well stocked and productive without having to truckload fish into them per year. Maybe not a large fee permit, but a fee to keep money rolling in...

Sorry about the figures when it comes to SA and VOL, i was trying to find those important figures but couldnt find any - so had to refer to the old 'Freshwater Fishing in QD - A Guide to stocked Waters' Book, published in 2001 i beleive. I thought to myself 'those figures cant be right for Awoonga' but went with them anyhow.

Thats some deal going on down there for those 2.5million Barra! Bloody heark its a great deed they are doing providing all those fish! Perhaps they could share them around equally to nearby dams such as Callide, or even a little South (or North) to places like Monduran, or Kinchant, Teemburra, Eungella, or even the popular Peter Faust Dam.

Think of it this way, Barra dams down south. Awoonga, Kinchant, Teemburra, Eungella, PF, Monduran, Lenthalls, and so on... . Of those dams listed, Awoonga is an asbolute standout yeah? Ofcourse it is. 2 of the others are great Barra dams (no prizes for guessing those), and the rest are fair. How about sharing those fish around so we get 7 or so great barra dams instead of 1 fantastic dam and 2 other good ones.

Hopefully i am making myself clear... and that my facts and info are right...

T'Roo
    TT

Any redclaw???

Hi Tinaroo and Dannyboy,
    Firstly, The GAWB fish hatchery does supply barra and mullet to other lakes in Central Queensland, it also helps out with wild stocking efforts in the Fitzroy River delta.
    It also commercially sells barra fingerlings to help keep the hatchery afloat and wages paid, it's a great arrangement that benefits everybody, including fish farms and privately owned barra parks.
    Putting a permit scheme onto anglers would only see that money go into the government black hole with no benefit for anglers.
    Secondly, the arrangement with Lake Awoonga's stocking is largely about tourism for the Gladstone region. Hardly get support from Gladstone agencies if the hatchery was to bring other dams up to speed liken to Awoonga.
    Thirdly, Awoonga has the benefit of learning from Tinaroo's mistakes, Lake Awoonga has a very healthy small barra population always coming on, with plenty of checks and balances in place.

Dannyboy, there are red claw in Awoonga, their numbers are not huge and population is scattered, still worth taking the pots along for a modest feed.
    John.

Hi John

I had no idea that the hatchery did so much work! I'm also very happy to know about the work with the Fitzroy river delta.

I worked as a NSW Inspector of Fisheries for many years and spent alot of my time trying to get them to spend as much money stocking of native fish as they did with trout. Looks like you guys have it right up in QLD ( Go the Blues!!) . I see trout as just another ferral which should be killed off just like the ferral pig. Sorry to up set the trout fishos!

NSW has been way behind QLD in the stocking work they do but in the last few years have been trying hard to come up to speed. There work on bass is 100% in my area but most of if has been done by fishing club.

The other big worry with NSW Fisheries is all the new Marine Parks which will stop recreational fisho from even having a fish! Most of this is being done to win the Green vote for the Laboura Party at the next election. These parks will cost jobs in small town and stop fishos from fishing and as yet no one at NSW Fisheries will come clean with all the studys done to prove there point of stoping fishing. They made a marine park in Botany Bay when I was an Inspector and after booking 100s of fishos and 10 years the fishing did not get any better in the bay. We need to speed more time and money of studying better ways to make our wild fishery better not just come up with well lets just stop everyone from fishing and see if that will help!

Again thanks for all the help.

I was a bit flabergasted at the title of this string. When I first had a read it was obviously not completely negative and raised some very valid points. It did however make me feel like a great big bandwagon jumper for going up there based on what I have read in the media. And of course it had to be right next to my string about choosing lures for that exact place!

Then I remember that I started to go to Bali in the 90's for business and fell in love with the surf. Whenever I mentioned this to guys that had been in Bali in the early days of the 70s and 80s they would bag it and say 'Na, I don't go there anymore, it's too crowded and commercialised.' etc etc. I kept going though and it was crowded and it was commercialised and you could understand how it would have been a lot cooler with dirt roads and nobody trying to sell you stuff you don't want but you know what? I got barrelled off my t!ts and had a ball. I intend going back (when I get some paddle fitness back) and I swear not to say 'wow, this was way better back in the day'

It may be a pretty loose connection to this and I hope nobody takes it as too aggressive but I love my fishing and I'm going to Awoonga. I hope it doesn't get to boiling point there but it is probably inevitable that as the crowds go up so will the percentage of d!ckheads, if what I see at my local boat ramps is any indication. Whenever I'm fishing here or away I try and collect a bit of litter to do my bit. I get strange looks from the wakeboarders and jet skiers when I am pulling in floating plastic bags on the end of my gaff!

Now where's that bandwagon, I need a lift up north.

I think your pretty much on the money Mooks.
    Lake Awoonga is commercialised, that amounts to tourism, a boon for the Gladstone region that so desperatly needed an icon other than the southern great barrier reef for which isn't accessable to every one for one reason or another.
    I don't think it has reached an overload as suggested, quite the opposit.
    Awoonga still has plenty of room to grow.
    The GAWB recreation plan developed last year had proposed further improvement and expansion of the existing Lake Awoonga caravan park as well as a number of key recreational facilities such as increased houseboat hire.
    I believe it is now up to potential and current stakeholders to invest in the projects.
    It is also surmised that the Boynedale Bush Camp will be expanded due to demand at peak seasonal school holidays.
    I think some people are looking at Lake Tinaroo and are trying to compare with its falures in the past.
    Lake Awoonga will remain a fantastic barra lake for many years to come and the tourist dollar is very welcome.

Glad to see you haven't taken this thread out of context mooks. I'm in the same boat as you in the fact that I'm just another bandwagon jumper. Seen the stories, heard from mates etc, and wanted part of it. A very apt analogy with the Bali example. And just like in surfing nobody owns the water, be they a local/longtime visitor or not. Good to see that there is potentially action afoot to create a sustainable situation. Solid stocking numbers will go a long way. I can imagine they're gonna have to use both the ramps either side of the camping area, this would help. Campground management needs to be sorted, it was pretty much every man for himself during easter. Was lots of confusion regarding bookings/site location. I guess partially because they wanted to turn over as many bucks as they could, but I think they genuinely didn't want to dissapoint anyone and turn them away. They just seemed a little underprepared. My point is I think all these areas need to be addressed prior to the start of next "season", as if they leave things to see how they go it could go a bit pearshaped.

Hi all.
    # I dont normally post on this site anymore for various reasons, but after reading this string I feel compelled to have a say.

Firstly, I myself read about Awoonga about 6 or 7 years ago. It intrigued me. I had mates who made the journey to Tinaroo, and reckoned its famed Barra were as rare as unicorns, and twice as hard to catch. Then a crew went to Awoonga and whacked 'em.
    Like everywhere, its different for locals. They are there when its on, have unique insights and great sessions while travellers are usually on their way home.
    I know a few guys up Tinaroo, who whack 'em on a pretty reg basis.

There is little or no parallels between Tinaroo and Awoonga, apart from the fact that they both stock Barra. Tinaroo would no doubtly lay claim to holding the largest specimens, with Faust not far behind, but as far as quality and quantity of meter plus specimens is concerned
    Awoonga has no peer. And it will take some time for her to loose that mantle too, if it ever does. Its future burns brightest. It has fish over 35kgs in its depths as we speak, a fact I know. Who knows what Tinaroo holds? Bloody huge!
    Awoonga's stocking program, where the license dictates 250,000 Barra fingerlings a year, every year is second to none(as already stated). Its bait diversity is also second to none, with huge amounts of Bonys,Grunter,Gar and mullet. Out of all the Barra dams I have fished, none are as thick with bait as Awoonga.

GAWB does not, and will not charge for use of this waterway (unless a trust is set up where as the profits will help better facilities) beacuse it was responsible for the daming of a great waterway (the Boyne River) in the first place. This is why GAWB stocks the dam with the current species ie Barra, Jacks,Mullet,Gar and the like. The dam took those species away from locals, and by restocking them, is a small way of giving something back.

In regard to guides posting their efforts and catches, whats wrong with that?
    There is always subtle hints in those posts, where smart anglers may pick up something that may help them do better next time around. Being a guide is not the gravy train people think it is, and believe me, guides work hard for every cent they earn. I know a few, and like all self employment, its bloody tuff.
    I am not a guide, just a person who loves fishing. I have worked really hard to promote Awoonga (and other impoundments) for various reasons. Small buisness and the local economy in general can only benefit from the increased exposure. I hate seeing self employed people struggle in an already tough economic environment. Nothing worse than seeing a tackle shop or service station close because lack of buisness. Apart from that, dams like Awoonga are way to good to keep a secret. For everyone who has caught their first meter plus impoundment barra, I bet can recount it like yesterday. Its one hell of a buzz! I know Awoonga articles are seemingly everywhere, but if people can take a little from each, then thats a good thing. Not everyone trolls, not everyone casts. I think you will see the Awoonga articles fall off the radar a little, unless it covers new ground.

The articles I have written or the FDVD stuff is purely to help outsiders catch a fish of a lifetime. I am happy to pass any of my knowledge to anyone who asks, and often lures as well. Its not paid work, but a passion. Its something I love doing in my spare time.

Yes, the hordes can make it hard, but even at Easter time,which was easily the most hectic I have ever seen it, my mates and I fished without seeing another soul, over the 3 days. Absolutley awesome daytime fishing too, I might add. (waiting for an hour at the ramp hurt though)
    Its a BIG dam, and most people troll, so people like me who cast have the fringes to themselves. If your smart, you will find solitude, and you will find big fish.

The management of the C/park leaves a little to be desired. OK a lot! Too many people I know have been double booked for it to be a one off. They no longer stay there, but instead go to Willowgrove or Hilltop. Great facilities and good people.

Regardless of exposure, Awoonga will continue to draw in a crowd. I totally agree that its outgrowing itself, and GAWB have certainly got plans in place.
    As other dams come on line, the crowds will shift, just like what happened at Faust. It was the king a few years ago, and still is an incredible fishery, but has lost its grip on the number one impoundment for Barra.
    At the end of the day, who cares who's no.1. Which ever is closest to you will likely be the no.1. Lenthalls has a big future, and with guys like Paul Dolan driving the stocking, its got every chance. Monduran, big body of water, stocking will only serve to better an already great fishery. I just think how bloody lucky this state is to have all these dams with monster Barra in them. NSW, or any other state for that matter, hasnt got anything close.
    What more could we all ask for?? (apart from more Jacks?)
    Look out in ten years or so when a marauding 15 to 20kg Jack smashs you to pieces.
    Cant wait!
    Cheers and good fishing
    Jas Wilhelm

Jas Wilhelm... ! Holy hell! Is their anyone else thats a member of Ausfish that has appeared on the front cover of Freshwater Fishing Australia! Doubt it.

'I think some people are looking at Lake Tinaroo and are trying to compare with its falures in the past.'

Failures... go on... im listening... >

TinarooTriumph

TT

Nicely said Jas.
    Are you going to give the barra category a stab over the Hookup?
    Oh' by the way, welcome to fishing fame, I've heard it can be a drag at times.

John,
    No I wont be fishing the hook-up. If they ever have a release section I probably would. ABT style brag mats would be a good way to go. I know Awoonga is a put and take fishery, but I cant condone killing a Barra just for the sake of winning a few bucks or a bit of fame. Seeing the Tinaroo Barra bash pics, and most notably last years Lake awoonga lions club comp with all those big Barra strung up make's me mad. What made me even mader was watching those people dumping fish into sulo bins after the comp. If they understood the economic value of those fish, Im sure they would be still swimming. I know its cliche, but those big fish are way too good to catch just once. I dont hold it against anyone who fishes for barra during the hook-up, its just not my cuppa tea.

The argument for killing big fish is dead and buried. Big fish are not interested in chasing nimble juvenile Barra. They are lazy, and would much rather wait for ten bony bream to swim past, where they get them all in one foul swoop. Not only that, Barra much prefer small morsels of food. Large kills burn lots of energy and oxygen, impoundment Barra dont like using energy unless they have to. Ever wondered why such small lure fool such big fish?

Last summer I bumped into a guy at the ramp who trolled up 4 fish over a metre ten. When I asked him what he was going to do with them, he said he was going to feed them to his pigs! He drove up from down South. When I asked why he'd want to kill 4 big fish fish, he said "Ya gotta do it mate", give the little ones a go!
    "Give the little ones a go eh", I said. I then asked him why he came to Awoonga to fish. He said "to catch my biggest Barra".
    I politley informed this clown that thats why you, and everyone else comes up here! People drive thousands of kilometres to catch a trophy Barra, not a bloody 600. He still didnt understand the point, and probably never will.

Thats definantly a lesson we can learn from Tinaroo, amongst others. Another one is a regular stocking program, to sustain year class fish. This is another mistake Tinaroo made, and consequently its paying for it now with big gaps in year class. Last years ABT Barra was a classic example, two fish over a metre, and 14 fish between 40 and 50cm for the whole comp. No 80's or 90's.
    Often in places like Awoonga, you can catch 5 year classes in a session, as you probably know.
    The generation gap was very obvious, and with hard work the guys up there are going all out to return Tinaroo to its glory days. From what I understand, they are doing a bloody good job too!

Tinaroo Triumph, its good to see your passionate about your impoundment up there. People like you will only serve to make the place a better fishery, but you must understand that because Tinaroo was the first, everyone else has had the benefit of sitting back and learning from its trials and tribulations.
    Its the only way to learn, and Tinaroo will always lay claim to holding the Biggest dam Barra (unless that comp continues to weed out all its stocks) and the stocking program falls over, or fish go over the wall.

Theres nothing wrong with taking a barra or two from these dams, after all thats why they were put there. But to kill a heap of big fish because you think your doing the place a favour is bloody rubbish.

Jas

Cheers Jas,

As you stated, Tinaroo has been a 'trial' impoundment. No other dam that i know of has more species then Tinaroo, and people have studied Tinaroo and these species closely. Apart from 1 or 2 species of fish released in large numbers into TD, the rest have have been a far and away success. As Jas said, there has has been huge mistakes when it comes to year gaps at Tinaroo, but im sure DPI know what there doing! Doesnt bother me the slightest... theres still plenty to go around... . Oh, and you mighten of heard... they are no longer stocking redclaw into Tinaroo, so ive heard... now that i have no idea why they would stop...

I am going on another damed School Excursion to Tinaroo tommorrow for my Outdoor Education class, where we (most) of us, have to complete a set navigation course around the quiter parts of the dam (e.g. Black Gully, Platypus Rock etc). Last time we were out there, me and a few mates in other canoes didnt do that, we grabbed our handlines spooled with P-ine braid, a few Halco bream lures, and trolled for this massive pack of Mangrove Jack that has been swarming around the dam wall for the past few weeks. Aswell as having the opportunity to see this sight, we also saw a huge school of gar, and later on a large clan of Silver Perch! And the trip we went on was about 4km long... imagine what we could see if we went around the whole dam with a canoe !. Just a great sight to see, all these species of fish swimming around doing well. No other dam like it...

Also compaints have been brought foward NOT TO have those 'Barra Racks' at coming Barra Bash's here at Tinaroo. It may be a great sight for some, but for other its not good at all. So lets hope it stops. What we really got my bood boiling is last years Barra Bash, when i opened the door to a freezer on a large truck behind the stage, only to reveal about 100+ sooties hanging up on racks, and these werent just normal Sooties mate, these were close to 50cm+ each. Now that got me livid...

As i said in a post a few weeks back, id be very excited if i was a traveling Angler, because if this years Barra Bash is moved back a month or 2 (Nov/Dec) so the waters warm, and the water volume drops, then your gonna see some bruiser fish (Weather Permitting).

TinarooTriumph
    TT