Thread: Where can I go freshwater fishing in Brisbane?

Where can I go freshwater fishing in Brisbane?

Wasnt sure where to post this one and didnt think it related to freshwater reports..

But where can I go freshwater fishing around Brissie?

How far from Mount Gravatt would that be?

I have a 4 stroke motor can i use that wherever it might be also?

Thanks,

Simmo

The_Walrus

Re: Where can I go freshwater fishing in Brisbane?

Sommerset Dam allows outboards.

All other dams, assuming that 1 you can fish and 2 you can launch a boat, electrics only.

Wivenhoe - electric only

Hinze Dam (Gold Coast) - electric only

Lake Samsonvale (Pine Rivers Shire) - shore only unless you have a permitt from the stocking group (currently on hold due to low water).

Brisbane river (above Mt Crosby Weir) - you'll need to check access.

So u need an electric... How long does an electric motor last on a battery?
    I take u you bring a spare battery.
    I watched a ET Barra Bass fishing DVD.. Do you get hook ups pretty easily? Does somerset allow camping and fires to cook my feed?

alot of questions I know but something about fresh water interests me.

Simmo

BassCowboy

Simmo,

Don't forget your SIP, Stocked Impoundment Permit. You can catch good Bass off of the bank in any of the local inpoundments, try Maroon Dam, 20 km out of Boonah, its a good one for beginners, the fish arn't huge but there is heaps of them and they are cranky, your outboard is ok there, Bass have a legal limit of 30cm and you can only have 2 at any time, a 40cm bass in Marroon will win you comps, talk to your local tackle shop for techniques as I'm not going to tell you mine. Good Luck,

Thanks Chris.

Where do I get a SIP from? do you know what the cost is?

Simmo

i think ys can get the permit from the post office cant ya?.....u can pay 4 the weekend or yearly....

BassCowboy

Simmo,

Yes and No, You can get SIP online DPI, or I usually get mine through the guys at Charltons Tackle on Ipswich M-way Redbank, Yearly about $40 weekend about $7 - $15. Ph, around your local tackle shops if they don't have them then they should not be selling tackle. Definately give it a go, on my last outing to Maroon at the Bass Electric comp myself and fishing mate caught over 30 fish, and actually my very first Bass came from Maroon, many years ago, Once you go sweet you wont go back.

Hope This Helps,
    THE COWBOY

Hey also I hope thats not a photo of you cause its ugly!!!!!