Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beach Rod

Beach Rod

I'm just new to the Qld beach scene. Any suggestions on a beach rod to buy. Mainly for tailor.

Cheers, MON. ???

imported_admin

Re: Beach Rod

Hi

I would suggest you look at the Snyder Magagraphite Surf Whitetip 136 (13foot 6 inch) nice light rod with plenty of power. Match it with a 6500BCV Alvey and you have a great beach setup.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/alvey

Hey Mon,
    Mate I'm just getting into surf fishing myself. I have bought a 13foot Gary Howard swallowtail surf rod with a 6000BC-V alvey. The rod works like a dream for casting, nice sensitive tip but has a lot of power in the lower part of the rod. Good luck in your final decision!
    cheers jack

Good basic rig for Taylor is a 6 1/2" Alvey reel on a rod built from a 7162 blank (13 foot 6). Budget comes into what type of alvey you put on it but I run 15lb Platnum line on my reel. Never had any drama with it. Watch out for some of the cheaper rods you get in some of the department stores, can get caught out at times, usually pays to get them from reputable tackle shops. Cheers, Clutter.

Finnie

This post might get me shot by all the Alvey-lovers out there (I'm ducking for cover already!), but I am thinking about investing in my first beach rod as well.

Now, money being a bit limited, I was leaning towards the old "Rex Hunt" Beach Combo that consists of a Shimano 12ft beach rod and a Shimano eggbeater reel that you can get from K-mart. Any opinions on this rig as a starting kit, keeping in mind that the budget is limited and this is more an exploratory "see what this beach-fishing stuff is like" rod than anything else. The kit sells for around the $130 mark.

I think I might have to develop an "Alvey-lovers" sidestep after this effort!

Cheers,
    Finnie