Thread: braided fishing line question?

braided fishing line question?

how long does braided fishing line last? does it ever degrade and become weak?

thanks

Re: braided fishing line question?

I've had some of the original Spiderwire from 1998 on my Penn 330gti.

It's bashed it's way through a hell of a hiding and I reckon is as good as the day it came out of the box.

I reckon I've lost 20 yards of the 300 yards on the original spool, I cry every time a huge fish takes me down to backing.

It's happened three times - all that money out there beyond your control.

Best thing I ever bought.

Bugman

Jack_Lives_Here

I've been running braid on my spin gear for the last 5 months and have noticed some feathering - still strong as hell.
    On the baitcaster I've been using two major brands now for in excess of 3 years and have only lost 5-10 yards from each.
    I don't think salwater deteriorates the stuff - pulled in snags that have had it wrapped around and it had obviously been there a long time.

Can relate to what Brett said about going to backing - expensive when it goes ping!

Brett, 3 times ???, remember that runaway snapper lead that day at wide pt lookout

Yes, braid does deteriorate.

You'll find that it goes a white-ish colour. #That's when you know it's losing its strength and about to pop below it's line class. #More noticable at the knot, ie:- your knots will break easier.

Mine last lot lasted four years before I replaced it. #Could have gone on more years with a bit of TLC and less drag. I have 3 years on my current spool and am starting to see #the colour change now.

Depends how often you wet it and how much it stays in the sun.

And Jack is also on the money with the " feathering " post.

To know when it's going, rig up from new and test the knots. #Keep testing ( not on big fish ) every few months.

# # # # # # # # # # # #8) # # # # # #
    Kingfisher Painting Solutions:- Domestic and Commercial.