PDA

View Full Version : Silstar TF-20 Any good? Need Rod to suit.

Cheech
25-09-2004, 03:18 PM
Had no intention of getting an overhead and planned to make do with my TSS4 off shore. Though I know it is underdone.

Anyway, was at one of the marts today and they had the Silstar TF-20 on sale for half price and already spooled with what appears to be around 40lb mono. Though will probably load up braid soon. This reel is pretty similar in size as the ltd20. Is also lever wind (or is that level wind? I am new to overheads). So, with the price of $99.99 I got one.

Hopefully it is ok. I have a small eurostar spinning reel that is really good. Pretty sure they are the same manufacturer. I figured even if it didn't cut it, at least I didn't spend much. So if it is lousy, don't hold back. Tell me.

So now I need a rod. Do I get a 10 - 15kg rod, or go for something in the 15 - 24kg class? From what I have noticed so far, it appears that the 10-15 class rods are similar to a normal spinning rod in that the guides are not overly heavy duty. Also a bit longer than the heavier rods. But if you go to the 15-24kg class the guides look heavy duty and the tip guide has a roller. Are the rollers worth getting or are they not much different to a standard tip.

Any comments good or bad will be greatly appreciated.

Cheech

SeaHunt
25-09-2004, 05:07 PM
HI Cheech,
I just recently got myself a TLD 20 and am also looking at rods. A guy in a tackle shop , (not the mart, and sounded like he knew what he was talking about) told me the roller tips are more used for trolling, also with the roller tips , sometimes the line can get stuck down beside the actual roller, especially with a big fish flapping around on braid as it tends to flatten out.