PDA

View Full Version : PENN 320 GT2

offshore_4.9
08-10-2004, 06:52 AM
G'DAY GUYS, just after a some info on this reel. Can anyone give me some pointers. I am looking at bottom bashing,trolling,etc off & around Moreton Bay. Are they good for off shore fishing?
All help is appreciated.

whiteman
08-10-2004, 09:24 AM
I bought one 2 years ago plus a 330. Both are now retired as spares as they didn't stand up to fishing for Tuna. Both have been back to Penn for warranty repairs and now I don't trust them. Replaced with TLDs and am far happier.

I got them when I was a complete novice to offshore fishing (now I'm just a novice). Never again will I buy on price. ThAt-MART shouldn't have sold them to me!

offshore_4.9
08-10-2004, 02:59 PM
Thanx whiteman, geez this really isn't that flash for penn!, wonder if any others have the same hassles :o
ps TLD 's just might be the go hey.

Cheech
08-10-2004, 03:57 PM
I think that is the go. Especially now that they are so much cheaper. I just bought a Silstar overhead on price, and this is after me saying that I would never do this. I am considering it a disposeable reel till I get a few more dollars and replace it with a TLD. My next offshore overhead will be a tld 20 or 25 with a live fibre rod.

Payneful
08-10-2004, 06:42 PM
Offshore

Have a look at some of the good quality spinning reels. I bought a Daiwa Emblem Pro 5500 to spin for pelagics but now use it for bottom bashing and I have done some trolling with it as well. The beauty of this reel is that it comes with two spools, one spool i have loaded with 14lb fireline and the other 20lb fireline. Very versatile!