PDA

View Full Version : favourite braid

scatter1
02-11-2004, 07:23 AM
i was wondering what everyone's pick for their favourite brand of braid is. i am leaning towards fins prt for some barra excursions this summer.

Strewth
02-11-2004, 08:24 AM
I've been using 20lb Tuf Line XP for the past 6 months and can't speak highly enough of it. Round profile, small diameter, good for knots, doesn't fray, and casts a mile. Also one of the cheaper braids around. Made by Western Filament, who actually make a lot of other braids (eg Penn Power Pro).

Strewth

spinner
02-11-2004, 09:45 AM
I`ve used a few different braids but keep coming back to Fireline. Most braids seem to hold more water once they are wet and then I don`t seem to get the same casting distance as I did on the first few casts. I`ve found Fireline seems to
work off baitcasters better too.

McCod
02-11-2004, 02:58 PM
Hard to beat Fireline even tho it is not a braid.A lot of expensive braid example "pink stuff "is just a super soker mop.
McCod.

Rossco
02-11-2004, 03:27 PM
Love that Tuffline XP.....It's all I use on my baitcasting gear and I back all my flylines with it.....Handles nice, no Fuzz, great knot strength

Rossco

Dr_Dan
02-11-2004, 04:11 PM
I use bionic braid on my barra gear. Can't fault it (mind you, haven't put it too test on any really big buggers! Tinarroo, here i come!). The one thing i don't like about the fused lines (spider wire fusion, fireline), is i find them a bit stiff. The bionic is nice and subtle. DOn't know if it makes any difference.

clutter
02-11-2004, 06:47 PM
Fireline up to 14lb. Bionic in 20, 30 and 50lb and Superbraid in 30 and 50lb also.

clutter

Leo_N.
03-11-2004, 05:04 AM
I like the Platypus Superbraid - awesome knot strength, nice and limp, doesn't seem to fray. I also use Fireline, but also find it a bit stiff at the higher breaking strength range.

toro1
05-11-2004, 12:33 PM