PDA

View Full Version : Making Shackle rigs for Lures

SeaSaw
07-01-2006, 11:49 PM
I am after some advice on making up shackle rigs for running lures like Pakula's and Meridians. #I have decided to make up my own rather than buy them premade. #I have had a shot at making a few up but I now have some questions.

Firstly, here is a picture of one I have made up that I think is OK. #I would like any advice, criticism, ways of doing it better etc before I go into mass production. #So what do you think? Is this done right or are there things that need to be improved.

SeaSaw
08-01-2006, 12:01 AM
My other question is about the correct positioning of the hooks in the lure skirt.

The picture below shows three lures. The bottom two rigs look good to me, but I am open to any suggestions, as I am new to this.

...... but ... something about the top rig looks really wrong. Should I be running the bottom hook up higher in the skirt by shortening the wire and making it much closer to the top hook .... or should I run the top hook off a small length of wire so that it is positioned about half way back in the skirt and leave the bottom hook where it is. At the moment the hooks just look way too far apart.

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

mackmauler
08-01-2006, 02:05 AM
Hey Mark, firstly you dont need the shackle on light tackle lures a split ring will suffice but its your choice. trailing hook stiff rigged, ive always rigged them free swinging.

shackles done up the wrong way round.

The wire looks on the thin side, whats the weight. id leave the gap between the hooks as it is, youll probably land the inevitable wahoo that way and I like a hook close to the lure head for dolphinfish.

id rig that big mamma with some of the stainless hooks available as youll probaly run it on heavier tackle the sl12s arent suited to over 10kg. and its the kind of lure that will get eaten by big things.

team_mongo
08-01-2006, 06:20 AM
Pretty much what rob said.