PDA

View Full Version : What knot & why?

Owen
28-01-2006, 01:22 PM
Firstly let me start out by saying I'm pretty much a self taught fisher bloke, so if this seems like a dumb question put it down to having intimate knowledge of all things fishing not being genetic :D

Just about everywhere I read these days people are using a bimini twist and/or albright knot (or some other combination of exotic knots).
I finally decided to give a bimini twist a go the other day and managed to do it after a couple of goes.
Just wondering if it really is demonstrably better, or are we all just following the lemming in front of us?
For years I've pretty much used one knot (a half blood knot) and I've only had a couple let go. When I tried braid I found it was hopeless and had to change to a palomar knot.
Both are pretty easy and quick to tie when bobbing around in a tinnie. Not something I'd say for a bimini twist.
So are they really worth the effort?
Have you noticed more lost fish when you didn't use one?
Or are we all just using what grandad taught us, or what the expert in the fishing mag reckons?

cheers,

Owen

DR
28-01-2006, 03:42 PM
i mainly use a uni knot for most things..
if in the mood i will start with a short double using a spider hitch, then add the leader with an albright or if in a hurry use a double uni, then usually add hooks, sinkers, jig heads etc. again with a uni.
when using braids i always add a few extra turns & a dollop of super glue.
can't remember the last time i had a problem..

simonpp82
28-01-2006, 04:15 PM
Owen,