PDA

View Full Version : i did try to do the right thing

nofrills
10-10-2006, 08:14 PM
#A couple of weeks back i bought myself a shiney new set of rodholders for nofrills.I do heaps of slow trolling and have always used those tube type holders out each side with the rod tips skimming the water and an ocky strap to stop them falling out.So when i saw these stainless quick release holders for $50 each i thought i would give them a go.they appear to be well built and the spinning reels i use lay in them very well.

#So i put them on then head off for a days fishing.I'm chugg'n along then wack the first hit i get the new holder bends like a piece of play dough and the rod very nearly flies out the back of the boat.Worst still i didn't get the fish.

#Now I don't pretend to be a mechanical engineer but I am a mechanic by trade and I've been fishing for ever and didn't think I would be anywhere near overloading these rod holders.
I was using a penn 950 spinnfisher with a silky drag of 5kg max and a #15-24kg live fibre rod and 15kg mono line.

# When I arrived home I phoned the campany I had purchased the holders from .I also had a docket that said refund or exchange within 30 days so i wasnt worried about getting my money back #;).

#I explained what had happened to the person on the phone as maybe it might prevent somebody elses #$500 set up going over board and also maybe the company that makes them,which is Australian, might like to be made aware of what
had happened.I still think they are good rod holders but the plate used needs to be thicker.