View Full Version : New Jigging Reel

PlasticFantastic
20-10-2006, 08:13 PM
Am buying a new reel for jigging shortly and was considering a Saltiga Z40, Saltist 40 a Shimano Torsa or something similar. I want to run 60-80 lb line and was wondering what reels other people jig with and what they could recommend.

Also would prefer spinning gear to overheads but for a premium Daiwa or Shimano spinng reel strong enough for jigging it's costs more that the overhead equivalent.

PlasticFantastic

ON-THE-CHEW
20-10-2006, 10:24 PM
Go the spinning gear, pay the extra because you know want one. Once I get one you will have to go out and buy one.

The spinning reels you would be looking at are more versatile as well, could be used as outside softplastics, jigging, bottom bashing, float lining pretty much what ever you want.

banshee
20-10-2006, 11:21 PM
I run a Saltiga Z 40 Ishidai,very tough reel that generates 15kg of drag.Spinning gear is dearer to buy and a lot dearer to maintain in the event of repairs,another thing to consider if you go with spinning gear is the height of your gunnels,a lot of boats we use here have sides that make it impossible to brace yourself against while jigging meaning that the angler has to stand back a bit,I have seen quite a few spinning reels "kiss" the gunnel both when the angler is jigging or a worse case,when he gets slamed and the gear gets pulled down.Which ever way you go,if your going to get fair dinkum about it buy something that is up to the task,cut corners or scrimp and you will buy twice in this game.

20-10-2006, 11:29 PM
I jig with a Saltiga 6500 Expedition and it pulls shite loads of drag, Smooth and silky as. Cost a pretty penny, but is it worth it, you betcha ;)

The other option if you wanna get pulled out of the bosat is a Saltiga Dogfighter.....pulls genuine 30kg of drag :o Strap yourself in :o

snelly1971
21-10-2006, 01:36 AM
I recentley brought a shimano tyros 30...very happy...and great for jigging...they have not released a two speed version...but i find the old 5/1 ration great...

Flying_duck
21-10-2006, 03:41 AM
I have been using the Blue Heaven and it is wonderful. Have not had any problems with it. May be the most expensive jigging reel in the market today. ;)

Kendall249
21-10-2006, 04:14 AM
Hey plasticfantatic, how about a TSS4 ;D, sorry just stirring after one of your other posts. ;D.

Brent_P
21-10-2006, 10:08 AM
Plasticfantastic,

With all this encouragement, how can you possibly resist buying another super-expensive-but-worth-every-cent, top-of-the-line reel? I can help you out, though - I'll buy your Certate and Catalina Nabura outfit for half what you paid for it :).
If you buy a Daiwa Ishidai with the digital line counter, at least you can save money on not having to buy colour-coded line!
Better start working those RDO's and bulk-buying those noodles, eh?
Just remember, nobody ever regrets paying for quality...until they have to file for bankruptcy :).

Seriously though, you're probably better to buy something you'll be 100% happy with (like you are with the Certate), than save a few bucks and be dissatisfied.

Brent.

PlasticFantastic
21-10-2006, 12:38 PM
The step up in price on the Ishadai from the Z40 is more than the coloured line and you get a smaller reel. Can't see the value there. No Brent I wont sell you my Certate and rod for half what I paid, tempting though could get a proper Saltiga spinning reel and maybe rod (Dream Outfit). Looking around it's hard to get a rod thats good for jigging heavier weights has some length and is reasonably priced, will keep looking though.

PlasticFantastic
21-10-2006, 02:04 PM
Just been out looking around and came up with a good spin combo in a Shimano Jigwrex 6'0 spin rated to pe5 and 300 gm jigs for $375 and a Shimano Twinpower 8000pg off the net delivered for about $370. Just need to make up my mind what will best suit my needs :-/

banshee
21-10-2006, 03:35 PM
I'm prety sure the Z40 and the Z40 Ishidai are the same size reel,in addition to the line counter the Ishidai has a reworked drag and internals giving it 50% more drag, I've been jigging for a bit over two years and in that time I've rendered five 300 metre lengths of braid useless,two spools in one day,with the line counter I can buy a bulk spool of 80 pound Whiplash and spool up of it, this will pay for the extra in no time.

Brent_P
21-10-2006, 11:45 PM
Mark,

The Twinpower 8000PG has a gear ratio of 5.0 to 1 and a grey spool. The gold spool 8000HG has 5.9 to 1 and might be better/easier to use for jigging. The faster retrieve might be better for other stuff too, like throwing poppers if you take a trip up north.
I'm not going out tomorrow. The trip was cancelled due to the 30 knot sou-easters forecast. Just as well probably - I still don't feel 100% [smiley=sick2.gif]. The kingfish will still be there next week hopefully.

spinner
22-10-2006, 07:43 AM
Have a look at the new Penn Torque.Comes in 3 sizes and sounds the goods to me.
Reggy

swano
22-10-2006, 07:59 AM
Have a look at the new Penn Torque.Comes in 3 sizes and sounds the goods to me.
Reggy

have got 1 comming very soon ;D ;D hope to get out and use it asap and see if it is as good as jack erskine says they are ;D 6.3-1 ratio and 20kgs of drag out of the box sounds like the reel for me ;)

PlasticFantastic
22-10-2006, 10:42 AM
Brent, I ordered the 6 foot Shimano Jigwrex its rated to 24kg and will jig 300gm and still has a little bit of softness in the tip for bait fishing. As for the twinpower 8000 I would be getting the lower ratio for a bit more power, can always wind quicker if I have too and from what I can tell the twinpower has a similar geartrain to that of the Stella and has 15 kg drag and should swallow 300m of 60lb Saltiga braid. Sounds the goods to me.

On The Chew is right I can't resist spinning reels just can't bring myself to buy an overhead.

PlasticFantastic

Brent_P
22-10-2006, 03:01 PM
Mark,
great to hear you've decided to buy the Twinpower 8000 - I can have a look at how it performs before I buy mine. I'm still trying to talk myself out of buying one, but I haven't made much headway yet. With those specs and that price, it's very hard to resist (even if I don't really need one).

Brent.

matthill80
22-10-2006, 08:27 PM
if u do a bit of research and watch some taiwanwese jigging dvd's u will notice thatvthose guys dont jig fast at all so i dont think speed is the key here.
i also own a blue heaven and stella 10000 and find the the overhead a little more comfortable but thats personal choice.
most overheads specialist jig reels arnet over 5:1 ratio either.

cheers matt

Brent_P
22-10-2006, 10:27 PM
Matt, # #
# #I don't jig particularly fast either. I opted to buy the 4.9 to 1 ratio Daiwa Saltist overhead myself rather than the 6.4:1 Saltist for the extra power. I use a sped-up pump and wind action which has worked very well for me - a sharp lift of the rod and wind on the down-stroke - instead of the whipping and continuous high-speed winding most people seem to use. Using the technique I use, I've found it easier to jig if I only have to turn the handle once on the down-stroke. I lost a bit of braid on a recent trip, and due to the reduced circumference of the spool I had to turn the handle more than once while jigging, which made it harder to get the rhythm right. I was glad to get more backing under the braid again.
# #I suggested that Mark might want to get the 5.9 to 1 Shimano Twinpower 8000HG, thinking that this reel probably had a smaller diameter spool than the 4.9:1 Saltist and Saltiga overheads (the Saltist-sized Saltigas don't have any faster retrieve models). I just had a look, though, on the Daiwa and Shimano websites and saw that the Stella 8000FA (presumably the Stella has the same sized spool as the Japanese model Twinpower 8000HG/PG) retrieves 100cm of line each turn of the handle with a full spool, while the Saltist 4.9:1 overhead only retrieves 90.5cm.
# #I originally suggested the higher ratio because I thought it might make jigging easier for Mark, not because he could achieve a higher speed retrieve, but it turns out that his 5.0:1 medium-sized spinning reel will retrieve more line per turn of the handle than my Saltist, which works fine for me. Most jigging actions I've seen, including the fast whippy one, seem to work OK, and I tried a few different actions before I settled on the one I've been using the past year and a half, but I won't be changing how I jig until I see an action that works noticeably better. I've never used a spinning reel for jigging (I use a Shimano Thunnus 6000 for offshore floatlining), so I can't claim any experience with that.
I'll have to talk myself into buying one of those Blue Heaven reels one day, I reckon. But, so far, the Saltist has been doing OK - if I tighten the star drag all the way, I can get 26lb of drag (that's after a service by Daiwa though).
# #
Brent.

SimonT
23-10-2006, 02:48 PM
I just bought a Twinpower 8000HG with the intention of throwing poppers with it. Its first use was on a recent jigging trip where it performed beautifully, and got the biggest fish of the day. I thought it might have been a bit fast, but it didn't seem to be. I only had it on an old Silstar Crystal tip rod I use for bottom bashing, and decided after that trip i would get a jigging rod for it. The one you are getting is the one I had singled out as well.

Simon

23-10-2006, 05:41 PM
I will be holding out for the Penn torque the large one I read somewhere can handle 50lbs of drag! If the price is realistic these reels will be hot property at least to me anyway.

spinner
23-10-2006, 05:59 PM
PennTorque......now that`s a jigging reel!!
I hate to seem narrow minded, but to me an overhead reel offers much more line control for methods employed when jigging. But, if a spin reel suits you better, then go for it.
I was once criticised for using my Penn spinfisher as a trolling reel, but caught some nice fish.As they say,"variety is the spice of life"
but gee I`d like one of those new Penn Torques.wonder how much they are?

Reggy

Brent_P
23-10-2006, 06:24 PM
Simon,

Do you know if the rotor of your Twinpower 8000HG is metal or graphite? According to the American Shimano website, the similar Sustain has an aluminium frame but a graphite sideplate and rotor.

Reggy,

MO Tackle have the Penn International Torque 300 in their latest catalogue for $599 #(available end of Oct). The stated max drag is 15kg for the 300 & 200. The 100 has a max drag of 12kg.

Brent.

banshee
23-10-2006, 08:10 PM
If you want an overhead with reel balls track down a Tiburon,my mates got one he bought in from the U.S. but like all lever drags that I've seen it binds up to a certain degree when you up the anti.

spinner
24-10-2006, 09:02 AM
Brent
Gee, that`s a lot of dollars, I thought they would pull more drag than that. I think the Penn would have the build for improvement on that drag figure, ....we`ll see.
Thanks for the info`
Reggy

PlasticFantastic
24-10-2006, 09:04 PM
Everyone forgets it's all very nice having a reel with 15,20 even 30 kg drag but i'm about 75kg dripping wet and would be hard pressed to hold much more than 10 - 12 kg drag for any sustained period let alone 20 or higher. :o What's more important is how smooth it is at its limit. Having said that i'll be buying a reel with as strong a drag as possible anyway :)

craftycarp
25-10-2006, 07:48 AM
The guys in Perth are jigging modified spheros and swear by them (catching the big WA Samsons). Personally I think the retrieve rate may be a little slow.

PlasticFantastic
25-10-2006, 06:54 PM
After all the posts I've ended up with a Shimano Jigwrex Spin 6' and 24 kg and the reel will be a Daiwa Saltiga 6500 Expedition with 90lb Saltiga Braid. Now i'm flat broke and will be eating 2 minutes noodles for months. :-[

But i'm booked in to go out off the Gold Coast on the 12 and 26 of November to see if i can stretch my arms ;D

PlasticFantastic

banshee
25-10-2006, 07:09 PM
That's one sweet setup Plastic,the fish will earn your jigs if they are going to take them.Quality is enjoyed long after price is forgoten......just go and play with the rod n' reel before you sit down to your plate of noodles, should sweeten them right up.

spinner
25-10-2006, 07:41 PM
good on you Plastic, I hope you catch heaps, might need a legrope though
Reggy

matthill80
25-10-2006, 10:25 PM
sounds like a top rig mate well done i have also got a jigwrex that i have for the stella but it is also yet to be blooded for the money tho they feel like an awesome rod
top choice once again mate

cheers matt

grave41
26-10-2006, 10:26 PM
Some of the new SMITH jigging rods feature a Roberts Wrap for overheads. I have a bass rod with this system and love it.I bought it out of curiosity besides it was built with gold cermets.I will build all future rods with this system as it doesent twist in your hands under serious load and now i have to fight my son this rod.
IMO Graham