View Full Version : best sounder for kayak

yellahunter
27-10-2006, 02:58 PM
hey guys,

im looking for a sounder to fit my fishing kayak.
can anyone make any recommendations as to brands models etc.

any info on features which i should be looking for is also appreciated
:) :) :)

shayned
27-10-2006, 03:39 PM
For specialised info on kayak sounders look here, www.akff.net , it covers types and fitment issues including locating batteries, tranducers and head units. Look in beginners questions and do it your self section as a start. Hope this helps.

hardb8
27-10-2006, 05:56 PM
Yella,
# Currently fishin a Lowrance X67c.The transducer has been mounted inside the hull,And shoots through.This saves the it from the knocks assocciated with transporting kayaks.It still displays everthing perfectly,Bottom,Fish,Structure and thermoclines etc.It's been awsome.And I can't fault it after around two years of regular use.Big on features and compact on size,With a good vertical pixel count.

#Regards hardb8 # #;)

cdenyer
28-10-2006, 01:16 AM
It depends on what money you have to spend. Do you need a colour sounder? What features do you need? Fittings needed for kayak?

These are all questions I asked myself six months ago when I purchased mine. I ended up spending about $320 (on ebay) on a new Humminbird Matrix 17 which is a greyscale model with very good resolution for the money. I too mounted the transducer inside the hull of my Hobie Sports and thus far have had no problems at all with mine. I mounted my sounder on a Ram mount like this: http://www.ram-mount.com.au/a/335.html

And as suggested, check out that akff.net site and this page in particular as it will give you heaps of ideas:
http://www.akff.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=14&sid=2b8d2c3f6ff24c8b50c38ff0848f05cd

nuggstar
28-10-2006, 09:48 PM
hay hard bait were is the destroyer that dose not look like it in the pic what is that and is that a tilsan lure
yella hunter im look 4 a sounder 2 4 my canoe please let me know what you get and how well it works i wanna spend $200 and no more (i hope)
any more help please 4 yellahunter and me :)

TinarooTriumph
28-10-2006, 10:34 PM
Hardb8 - Mate that looks like a beaut set-up in your yak'... to hell with a boat eh?

Try and go hunting for a Eagle Cuda 168, or 128. They pick up depths, fish and temps well, aswell as being very compact and easy to install. I have one for my boat, which is mounted on my rear casting platform, and Im getting another one in a matter of months to mount on the bow. They'll set ya back around $150/200 if your looking in the right places.

hardb8
29-10-2006, 01:35 PM
Nugg,
# # # # The rod in pic is a Loomis crankbait rod.It is the lightest one they make,And a fine Bass rod.Model # CBR 781.

This was my weapon of choice before my Destroyer was purchased.It has caught me some awsome fish,The best a 114cm Barra,Which put the poor thing through hell LOL.I still have it today,And will keep it as it holds lots of memories and has great sentimental value.

The lure in the pic is a timber Mini Blitz Baga.This is a go to lure for me when times are tough.And on 95% of occassions she comes through.
It should be retired as these badboys are quite rare now.

I tried to convice Murray (Bllitzbaga) to make some more.But had no luck #:(.These are awsome lures.Made by an Australian,For Australian fish.They are now mass produced.But the timber ones are very special,And very rare.

TT,
# #Have put in alot of time modifying my rig.It is now as close to perfect as I can get it.Minn Kota with foot pedal steering,Front and rear anchors (Never used LOL) Duel batteries,Sounder with water temp etc,And I made a custom game chair LOL with rod holders,And stainless tiller plate.I've fished it for species from Bass to Barra,And had great success.It holds nearly all my P.B. captures.

No rego,No running costs......It's best quality.......Absolute stealth #8-).

hardb8
29-10-2006, 01:40 PM
Here is an example of the ability of this unit shooting through the hull.The fish are Bass.The place is Baroon Pocket Dam. JACKPOT!

In the pic above the sonar is on simulation mode.

hardb8
29-10-2006, 01:49 PM
This is the motor setup.Ropes travel from the foot peddals through the hull and are clipped onto a plate that clamps to the motor shaft.This enables steering.Power is transfered via wires going from the motor to a trailer plug in the rear of the hull.This makes removing it easy.The wires then continue from the stern mounted trailer plug to the tiller that is mounted in the cockpit.This is the (Old) standard setup used by Viking,Apart from the stainless tiller plate that was made and fitted by myself,That can be seen above.

TinarooTriumph
29-10-2006, 03:08 PM
Bloody hell mate, thats a top set-up - Have never seen anything like it before. I am buying a yak' of a mate in a few mates for River and Weir usage... got some great idea's now! Cheers for sharing.

bearclaw
29-10-2006, 03:34 PM
Hardbait,
Might have missed it somewhere but what make is your kayak.

Myles

nuggstar
29-10-2006, 04:16 PM
hardb8s kayak is a viking tempo one of the first series and its a beaut i'm so peed off i dont own one but im saving up me pennys now.
thay sell 4 $2200 with all the parts

hardb8
29-10-2006, 06:45 PM
It's made by the Viking company at Kundna Park in Maroochydore.

The model is the Fisherman Tempo.Mine has now been superseeded. (Is that even a word?) LOL.And there is a new model out.

To say I'm happy is a major understatment.I don't use my boat anymore.

Check em out at www.vikingkayaks.com

Regards hardb8 ;)