PDA

View Full Version : Open Runner for Alvey

ergo
04-11-2006, 07:32 AM
G'day fellow Alvey users,
This is my first post to Ausfish.com so be gentle!! #;D
I have been using an Alvey 650C5 for about 5 years now and it's a great reel on surf beaches - just about bomb proof. I have caught plenty of Salmon a few Tailor and Flatties but now I am trying to target Mulloway and a larger "by- catch" like Rays.
I am looking for advice on how to use the Open Runner. I can successfully use my fingers to lay the line on the spool with smaller stuff - No probs. For big salmon I use a bit of Elastoplast on my left index finger to lay the line under a bit of load - and still not cut my skin. But for much bigger fish I can see the need to use the Open Runner to protect my hands.
I have got a copy of the Alvey video and even when the presenter catches a mulloway he is NOT using the Open Runner. Check it out. There are a few frames where you can clearly see that the line is NOT in the Open Runner.
Any tips from experienced Alvey users would be much appreciated. #[smiley=helpa.gif] I think that pic or two might be needed to illustrate the best way to guide the line FROM the Open Runner to the Spool. How close to the Open Runner do you place your left hand? Do you use your little finger to guide the line or your index finger?
Thanks in advance.
Cheers
Ergo # ;D

nigelr
04-11-2006, 07:56 AM
Hi Ergo, welcome to Ausfish!
Personally speaking I used an Alvey similar to yours for close on 30 years, never used an open runner at all.
However I'm sure there are members who do use the device to great effect, who will reply with info on how to use it effectively.
Landed mulloway to 26kg, rays etc to 30 kg, didn't find non-use of open runner a problem at all.
From memory I used my index finger to guide line onto reel.