View Full Version : snapper rods

rowdycowdy
06-11-2006, 08:43 AM
Gidday

I am usually a freshwater fisher but I just got my hands on a second hand shimano baitrunner 4500 for a bargain and would like to have a go at some of those big bay snapper.

I just need a decent rod to match this reel.

Also the reel has a little corrosion, so what is the best way to get rid of this and clean it up.

Rowdy

Pitsta
06-11-2006, 08:57 AM
Hey rowdy You might need a bigger table for the bay ;D
Mate i use food grade silicone spray on my reels, helps with the salt
factor & I use light action rod for bay snapps , no worries !!!

06-11-2006, 10:10 AM
the BTR4500 is a good snapper reel for the bay. Rod to match it depends on the line class you will be using. I would suggest 6-8 kg.

If there is some corrosion appearing, I would suggest a full service as the inside may be worse than the outside. Regular lubrication of external moving parts with oil and a light spray with inox should keep it corrosion free.

rowdycowdy
06-11-2006, 09:12 PM
I was thinking a steve starling barra rod, I think it is 4-6kg but what weight line and leader should I use and should I use braid or mono? with a flurocarbon leader?

rowdy

land-lubber
06-11-2006, 11:16 PM
Have a look at the angler rods, they make some nice 6-8 and 6-10kg floatlining rods for snapper in varying lengths. Composite blanks, so will take the knocks, but still lightweight ur looking around 70-90 dollars

kirin
07-11-2006, 04:03 AM
If you want to go something different look at a redington in a 4-8kg. Beautiful rods and come with a lifetime warranty. Probably looking at between $150-$170 but well worth the money spent.

07-11-2006, 06:33 AM
The BTR4500 is not a small reel and I think you will find that most of the 4-6 kg rods will be too light for it. ie not a balanced outfit. I reckon 6-8 or 6-10 kg rods will be a better match. You will have to take the reel with you and try it on the rods for balance in the shops.