View Full Version : TSS4 - not good quality, not in production anymore

timddo
13-11-2006, 03:25 PM
hey guys. i went to my local tackle shop to look for a hi speed reel to chase mackeral on slugs.
Was told TSS4 is of bad quality and no longer in production. Also the design is 30 years old.

was shown a daiwa for around $300 mark,

IF so does anyone fault the TSS4. I mite pick one up at BCF

CHRIS_aka_GWH
13-11-2006, 04:48 PM
of course you were 40% of $300 is a lot more than 40% of $129.

a tss4 will catch you just as many fish as the diawa. It may have a bit more wobble in the spool but these things have stood the test of time. I have never lost a big fish on a TSS4, it has never jammed etc

$171 will buy you a lot of bait, fuel or lures.

You may not of course be able to match the Wally at the boat ramp who can't fish but is good at glitz ...

if you are seriously into the fish - i mean you have the knowledge to get into them on most trips and you find your equipment is frustrating you through failure - thats when you spend more money on higher quality stuff - otherwise buy the lesser stuff and use the money to practice, practice, practice.

land-lubber
13-11-2006, 05:33 PM
hey guys. i went to my local tackle shop to look for a hi speed reel to chase mackeral on slugs.
Was told TSS4 is of bad quality and no longer in production. Also the design is 30 years old.

was shown a daiwa for around $300 mark,

IF so does anyone fault the TSS4. I mite pick one up at BCF

The TSS4 is in shimanos 2007 catalouge and im still getting them thro work, so id say there still producing them. Yes they are a rough reel, but as chris gwh said, they work and unless ur seriously flogging the guts outa them for 8hrs a day, 4days a week, then ull get a reasonable life outa them. They do tend to wear out quicker, but they also cost u a lot less than some of the others on the market. Internally they are a tough reel, simple to strip down and have a decent drag system. At 129 there certainly value for money

iank
13-11-2006, 06:19 PM
Would they have been around for 30 years if they were not good quality.
Cheers Ian

sidewinder06
13-11-2006, 07:14 PM
I reckon i've sold 100 tss4's through work in the last twelve months and I have never had one come back. They are a no frills workhouse with a great waterproof drag. They are going out of production, but word is there is a new model taking its place that would be better suited to braid as the tss4 is not. We will have to wait and see about that one. The only thing I found with my tss4 is when I removed the handle and side cap I found it to be a bit light on lubrication in the bearings, so I removed the bearings and repacked them with a quality light marine grease. the reel felt smoother after doing this. Ive used this reel for spinning for tailor and other pelagics and have never had any problem. hope this was of some help.

13-11-2006, 07:55 PM
hope this was of some help.

Sure is, mate. We welcome expertise. Many thanks! :)

timddo
13-11-2006, 09:12 PM
thats guys, i thought that local tackle shop must get all their stuff from daiwa. On the door it did say Team DAiwa.

i live on the westside, does anyone have one for sale for around $129 .

if so. shout. Coz the cheapest i got was $150 . well i only called them today .( the only shop i called).

The bcf fella told me its got a different name now.

oddbudman
13-11-2006, 09:27 PM
A to the Mizart has them on sale for $129 during Nov 06'

Great reel, and great value at this price.

oddbudman

timddo
14-11-2006, 06:57 PM
thanxs oddbudman, i picked one up this afternoon after work
Had to call around 4 stores b4 i can locate one.

looks good. put platium .35 diameter 20 pound line.

Will be chasing mackeral on sunday.

14-11-2006, 09:55 PM
Word has it, the replacement for the TSS4 will be a 8000 Stradic on roids.

yellahunter
15-11-2006, 10:05 AM
wonder about the price then, coz the stradic probably wont be cheap

Phoenix
16-11-2006, 12:01 PM
My TSS4 is great. Never failed me.

yellahunter
16-11-2006, 12:31 PM
im gunna go grab one this afternoon

agnes_jack
16-11-2006, 12:53 PM
I still sell heaps of the tss4's.
It has to be one of the most popular reels for the high speed spin boys off the rocks. The rocks is one of the most testing environments for a reel, and these things still come up trumps, rough as they are they do the job well. As someone else said, it pays to put a bit more grease on the bearings when you first get them, will save probs later.

Regards, Tony

craigie
16-11-2006, 04:29 PM
Guys,

I have a brand new, never out of the box tss4 in the 4 sale section. I purchased a few of them when they were last on special. Have just realised I can't use 3 at any one time !!

Think about it before you rush out and pay full price.

Craigie

craftycarp
18-11-2006, 06:09 PM
I will give you 50 cents for it ;)

suzy81
18-11-2006, 07:57 PM
how much would you sell that one for???my fiance needs one.....jez...

-Henno-
19-11-2006, 09:23 PM
My TSS is my American Express outfit. I never leave home without it. It is not just a bit rough. It is a chiropractors delight!

When you have to rip a slug through the water fast though there is just nothing else for the money though.

craigie
20-11-2006, 04:43 PM
Jez and Suze, Sent you a pm.

Craftycarp, I didn't send you one ;)

philip_thomson
20-11-2006, 05:03 PM
YES the TSS4 is no longer going to be produced, these are the final stragglers, (parts should be available) shimano has something on the cards i heard,

these days im using an okuma force or an okuma epix 6.3:1 ratio, life time warranty, 5 bearings in the force 10 in the epix.

forces are $119 i think

craigie
20-11-2006, 05:16 PM
I also run a Tica Camry 4500 (6.3 - 1 ratio) worth around $135, nice and smooth but has cost me $80 in repairs so far to keep it going, not as bullet proof as the TSS4's.

Paddyinoz2006
21-11-2006, 03:39 PM
Tss4's set the standard for spinning reels. Shimano might update it but it is going to be hard to beat an already undestructable reel. Out does any reel in its class and way ahead of its time.

marco
21-11-2006, 05:50 PM
does anyone know how much drag the tss4 is rated too ?
and is there any sort of upgrade for them for more drag

thanks

sams_fish
21-11-2006, 06:28 PM
hi guys,
i have the predecessor of the tss4 as well as a 2004 model. the previous version was called an f4, i think, looks similar but smaller spool & drag assembly, same retrieval rate.
couldn't get spares for it anymore so bought a "new" tss4, neither of them have ever failed me in use,
sams_fish

CHRIS_aka_GWH
21-11-2006, 09:04 PM
does anyone know how much drag the tss4 is rated too ?
and is there any sort of upgrade for them for more drag

thanks

you can effectively lock a TSS4 drag down - it is almost an issue that you can't make it run freely enough IMO.

marco
22-11-2006, 08:13 AM
thanks chris