PDA

View Full Version : Mackeral Rigs

cbs
26-12-2006, 11:31 AM
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to targeting these guys and would like some advice on line weights. Been mostly targeting with baits and livies. Not really into throwing chunks of metal at them at this point.

I've been using a 15 lb mono, (smoked colour brand is Mozoo?- could check but its raining at the moment) which seems ok to me, but now it is a little on the damaged side, with a few dubious areas. I currently plan to simply replace with the remainder of the same I have already, or I could get something else.

What are you guys using?

cbs

backhoe
26-12-2006, 12:40 PM
What sort of Mackeral are you fishing for as this will change the answers you get.

cbs
26-12-2006, 01:11 PM
Sorry, my bad.

Basically what I've been seeing on moreton bay, ie spotties.

cbs

BilgeBoy
26-12-2006, 03:00 PM
6 KG Mono....And I just got a good handful of slugs at Budds Bait & Tackle....Made by a guy who writes for Bush & Beach I think!!!

BilgeBoy

Foolish_Chicken
26-12-2006, 04:30 PM
I'm using 12lb mono with a 60lb trace. Trace is about 1m long.

Cheers
Wags

roz
26-12-2006, 04:44 PM
when there are spotties around you will do very well casting slugs, now that's up north.

But down here around Coffs, it's common practice to anchor up burley, then feed out a pilchard in the current, no wieght at all, keep the bait moving, wind in feed, it out again etc etc....

When I go north and target blues (spanish) it's 100% towing dead baits.

If and when I get a live bait tank & down riggers in my boat, livies will be the go, no question.

I used to tow lures, when I changed to bait #my capture rate increased 10 fold, not joking.

The pro mackeral fishermen if at all possible will use livies, when they do, I've noticed they will out fish me by heaps. Having said that, some days lures will win hands down, but rarely!